Pulmonary gas exchange, Blood gases, Oxygen--Physiological transport, Oxygen consumption (Physiology)
Advanced Respiratory Critical Care by
Respiratory disease is the most common reason for admission to intensive care, and advanced respiratory support is one of the most frequently used interventions in critically ill patients. A clear understanding of respiratory disease is the cornerstone of high quality intensive care.Although a plethora of literature is available, both in print and online, finding the necessary relevant information can be difficult and time consuming. This handbook provides comprehensive clinical detail in an easily readable format. It is written by practising clinicians and has both in-depth theoretical discussion and practical management advice.The book is divided into sections: Section 1 deals with the approach to the patient with respiratory failure - including pathophysiology, investigation and diagnosisSections 2 covers non invasive treatment modalitiesSections 3 and 4 examine invasive ventilation in detail. Section 3 considers the principles of mechanical ventilation while section 4 deals with individual ventilator modesSection 5 discusses the management of the ventilated patient including sedation, monitoring, asynchrony, heart - lung interaction, hypercapnia and hypoxia, complications, weaning and extubation. It also has chapters on areas less frequently covered such as humidification, suction, tracheal tubes and principles of physiotherapySection 6 is a comprehensive breakdown of each respiratory condition seen in ICU.This book is designed to bridge the gap between Intensive Care starter texts and all-encompassing reference textbooks. It is aimed at consultants and senior trainees in Intensive Care Medicine, senior ICU nursing staff, consultants in other specialties and allied healthcare professionals who have an interest in advanced respiratory critical care.
Applied Biofluid Mechanics, Second Edition by
Develop better medical devices using the latest fluid mechanics tools and techniques This thoroughly revised textbook combines the physiological aspects of the cardiovascular and pulmonary systems with cutting-edge fluid mechanics concepts. The book covers all major organ systems and includes detailed illustrations and clinical examples that clearly show the applications of fluid mechanics to biomedical engineering situations. Students will learn to integrate fluid mechanics principles into the design of new medical devices, equipment, and procedures. Applied Biofluid Mechanics, Second Edition, begins with a review of some of the basics of fluid mechanics and moves on to more advanced topics. Readers will get comprehensive coverage of cardiovascular and pulmonary physiology, hematology and blood rheology pulsatile flow, modeling, and mathematical models. This fully updated edition also includes online materials for both students and instructors. * Features new problem sets and new chapters on electrocardiography and specialized flow * Provides updates on new and cutting-edge technologies * Written by a pair of experienced biomedical engineers
Arterial Blood Gas Analysis: Making it Easy by 
Blood Gases and Critical Care Testing by
Blood gas tests are a group of tests that are widely used and essential for the evaluation and management of a patient's ventilation, oxygenation, and acid-base balance, often in emergent situations, and along with blood gases are other critical care analytes measured on blood: calcium, magnesium, phosphate, and lactate. Blood Gases and Critical Care Testing: Clinical Interpretations and Laboratory Applications, Third Edition, serves as your single most important reference for understanding blood gases and critical care testing and interpretation. The third edition of this classic book is a complete revision and provides the fundamentals of blood gas (pH, pCO2, pO2) and other critical care tests (calcium, magnesium, phosphate, and lactate), including the history, the definitions, the physiology, and practical information on sample handling, quality control and reference intervals. Case examples with clear clinical interpretations of critical care tests have been included to all chapters. This book will serve as a valuable and convenient resource for clinical laboratory scientists in understanding the physiology and clinical use of these critical care tests and for providing practical guidelines for successful routine testing and quality monitoring of these tests.
Cardiac Nursing by
Now thoroughly updated with current, evidence-based material, Cardiac Nursing is recognized as ""The Red Reference Book"" for nurses caring for patients who have, or are at risk for developing, cardiac diseases. Organized within the framework of the nursing process, this comprehensive clinical reference provides complete information on the assessment, pathophysiology, management, and prevention of heart diseases and details the rationale and evidence for interventions.
Cardiovascular System, Red Blood Cells, and Oxygen Transport in Microgravity by
This book comprehensively describes the physiological changes and consequences that occur in humans during spaceflight. It specifically presents the adaptations of the cardiovascular and the respiratory system. Specific changes occurring after 10, 20 or more days in space are depicted. Furthermore, the book explains various effective countermeasures that are required upon return of the astronauts to Earth. The book is a must-have for all biomedical and clinical researchers in the field of cardiovascular biology and respiration, and a fascinating reading for all interested laymen, who wish to understand a bit more about spaceflight research and technology.
Chemistry and Biochemistry of Oxygen Therapeutics: : From Transfusion to Artificial Blood by
Human blood performs many important functions including defence against disease and transport of biomolecules, but perhaps the most important is to carry oxygen - the fundamental biochemical fuel - and other blood gases around the cardiovascular system. Traditional therapies for the impairment of this function, or the rapid replacement of lost blood, have centred around blood transfusions. However scientists are developing chemicals (oxygen therapeutics, or "blood substitutes") which have the same oxygen-carrying capability as blood and can be used as replacements for blood transfusion or to treat diseases where oxygen transport is impaired. Chemistry and Biochemistry of Oxygen Therapeutics: From Transfusion to Artificial Blood links the underlying biochemical principles of the field with chemical and biotechnological innovations and pre-clinical development. The first part of the book deals with the chemistry, biochemistry, physiology and toxicity of oxygen, including chapters on hemoglobin reactivity and regulation; the major cellular and physiological control mechanisms of blood flow and oxygen delivery; hemoglobin and myoglobin; nitric oxide and oxygen; and the role of reactive oxygen and nitrogen species in ischemia/reperfusion Injury. The book then discusses medical needs for oxygen supply, including acute traumatic hemorrhage and anemia; diagnosis and treatment of haemorrhages in "non-surgical" patients; management of perioperative bleeding; oxygenation in the preterm neonate; ischemia normobaric and hyperbaric oxygen therapy for ischemic stroke and other neurological conditions; and transfusion therapy in β thalassemia and sickle cell disease Finally "old"and new strategies for oxygen supply are described. These include the political, administrative and logistic issues surrounding transfusion; conscientious objection in patient blood management; causes and consequences of red cell incompatibility; biochemistry of red blood cell stora≥ proteomic investigations on stored red blood cells; red blood cells from stem cells; the universal red blood cell; allosteric effectors of hemoglobin; hemoglobin-based oxygen carriers; oxygen delivery by natural and artificial oxygen carriers; cross-linked and polymerized hemoglobins as potential blood substitutes; design of novel pegylated hemoglobins as oxygen carrying plasma expanders; hb octamers by introduction of surface cysteines; hemoglobin-vesicles as a cellular type hemoglobin-based oxygen carrier; animal models and oxidative biomarkers to evaluate pre-clinical safety of extracellular hemoglobins; and academia - industry collaboration in blood substitute development. Chemistry and Biochemistry of Oxygen Therapeutics: From Transfusion to Artificial Blood is an essential reference for clinicians, haematologists, medicinal chemists, biochemists, molecular biologists, biotechnologists and blood substitute researchers.
Essential Medical Physiology by
Essential Medical Physiology, Third Edition, deals with the principal subjects covered in a modern medical school physiology course. This thoroughly revised version includes chapters on general physiology as well as cardiovascular, respiratory, renal, gastrointestinal, endocrine, central nervous system, and integrative physiology. It contains clinical notes, chapter outlines with page numbers, 2-color figures throughout, and new chapters on Exercise, Diabetic Ketoacidosis, and Maternal Adaptations in Pregnancy. Among the contributors to this indispensible textbook are leading physiologists Leonard R. Johnson, Stanley G. Schultz, H. Maurice Goodman, John H. Byrne, Norman W. Weisbrodt, James M. Downey, D. Neil Granger, Frank L. Powell, Jr., James A. Schafer, and Dianna A. Johnson. This text is recommended for medical, graduate, and advanced undergraduate students studying physiology, physicians, and clinical specialists as well as anyone interested in basic human physiology. Includes clinical notes "Key Points" summarize most important information Contains chapter outlines with page numbers 2-color figures throughout New chapters on Exercise, Diabetic Ketoacidosis, and Maternal Adaptations in Pregnancy
Gas Bubble Dynamics in the Human Body by
Gas Bubble Dynamics in the Human Body provides a broad range of professionals, from physicians working in a clinic, hospital or hyperbaric facility, to physical scientists trying to understand and predict the dynamics of gas bubble behavior in the body, with an interdisciplinary perspective on gas-bubble disease. Both iatrogenic and decompression-induced gas bubbles are considered. The basic medical and physiological aspects are described first, in plain language, with numerous illustrations that facilitate an intuitive grasp of the basic underlying medicine and physiology. Current issues in the field, particularly microbubbles and microparticles, and their possible role in gas-bubble disease are included. The physical and mathematical material is given at several levels of sophistication, with the "hard-core" math separated out in sections labelled "For the Math Mavens", so that the basic concepts can be grasped at a descriptive level. The field is large and multi-disciplinary, so that some of the discussion that is at a greater depth is given separately in sections labelled "In Greater Detail". Skipping these sections for whatever reason, shouldn't materially hamper acquiring an overall appreciation of the field. Demonstrates how physical and mathematical tools help to solve underlying problems across physiology and medicine Helps researchers extend their competence and flexibility to the point that they can personally contribute to the field of hyperbaric medicine and physiology, or to other related biological problems that may interest them Provides clinicians with explicit examples of how mathematical modelling can be integrated into clinical treatment and decision-making
Oxygen, the Breath of Life by
Oxygen is historically entwined from its discovery with radical applications as a panacea by charlatans and by daring men constructing bridges using underwater caissons. Oxygen has made possible the exploration of the depths of the oceans beginning with h
Oxygen Transport to Tissue XXXVII by
This book contains the refereed contributions from the 42nd annual meeting of ISOTT. The annual meetings of ISOTT bring together scientists from various fields (medicine, physiology, mathematics, biology, chemistry, physics, engineering, etc.) in a unique international forum. ISOTT conferences are a place where an atmosphere of interaction is created, where many questions are asked after each presentation and lively discussions occur at a high scientific level. This vivid interaction is the main motivation for members to participate and gain new ideas and knowledge in the broad field of oxygen transport to tissue. The papers in this volume summarize some of the outstanding contributions from the 42nd annual meeting, which included sessions on: cellular hypoxia and mitochondria; blood substitutes and oxygen therapeutics; oxygen transport in critical care medicine and disease; muscle oxygenation; multi modal imaging techniques; brain oxygenation and imaging; optical techniques for oxygen measurement; microcirculation; mathematical modelling of oxygen transport; and cancer metabolism.
The Pulmonary Circulation and Gas Exchange by
Three-dimensional magnetic resonance imaging has several advantages over the 2-dimensional technique. It makes the visualisation of non-planar structures easier and, along with that, volume measurements; although less important for straight forward radiological diagnosis, this is very useful for treatment planning, the teaching of anatomy and notably the development of magnetic resonance angiography. Until recently though, it has generally been too complicated and time consuming to produce and present three-dimensional data for it to be of practical use. However recent advances in technology have, to some ".
The Respiratory System: Basic Science and Clinical Conditions by
Part of the popular Systems of the Body series, this fully integrated textbook on the respiratory system encompasses the related anatomy, physiology and biochemistry, all presented in a very clinically relevant context. Highly accessible and tailored for modern medical curricula, series volumes are also widely appreciated by a range of allied health students and professionals. One of the seven volumes in the Systems of the Body series. Concise text covers the core anatomy, physiology and biochemistry in an integrated manner as required by system- and problem-based medical courses. The basic science is presented in the clinical context in a way appropriate for the early part of the medical course. There is a linked website providing self-assessment material ideal for examination preparation.
The Respiratory System at a Glance by
The Respiratory System at a Glance has been thoroughly updated in line with current practice guidelines and new techniques to provide a highly illustrated and comprehensive guide to normal lung structure and function, as well as associated pathophysiology. Each topic has been fully revised and is accompanied by clear diagrams to encapsulate essential knowledge. Reflecting changes to the content, teaching and assessment methods used in medical education, this new edition now includes more information on acid base and its clinical ramifications, further detail on defence mechanisms and immunology, and also features online access to clinical cases and flashcards. The Respiratory System at a Glance: * Integrates basic and clinical science - ideal for integrated and systems-based courses * Includes both the pathophysiology and clinical aspects of the respiratory system * Is fully revised and updated to reflect current practice guidelines and new therapies * Provides online clinical cases, brand new flashcards, and MCQs * Includes a companion website at www.ataglanceseries.com/respiratory featuring interactive multiple choice questions and digital flashcards
