| Library status: currently open during regularly scheduled hours. |
| Library status: currently open during regularly scheduled hours. |
CPT 2021 Express Reference Coding Card: Evaluation and Management by
Each double-sided, laminated CPT® 2021 Express Reference coding card is designed to facilitate quick, yet accurate CPT coding by supplying hundreds of the most commonly reported CPT codes per medical specialty. These easy-to-use reference cards allow health care providers and staff members to easily locate a desired code, which can then be referenced in the CPT codebook. A separate card lists all modifiers used with CPT and HCPCS codes. FEATURES AND BENEFITS: AMA EXCLUSIVE! CPT medium descriptors, symbols, and official CPT guidelines included on the cards for each specialty. Illustrations and tables from the CPT® 2021 ProfessionalEdition provide visual examples of anatomy, procedures and services discussed within the codes. Formatted in code order under codebook sections and subsections makes locating a code quick and easy for those familiar with the codebook. Portability cards fit easily into the codebook. Durable lamination creates a sturdy, tear-resistant resource suitable for daily use.
CPT 2021 Professional Edition by
CPT® 2021 Professional Edition is the definitive AMA-authored resource to help health care professionals correctly report and bill medical procedures and services. Providers want accurate reimbursement. Payers want efficient claims processing. Since the CPT® code set is a dynamic, everchanging standard, an outdated codebook does not suffice. Correct reporting and billing of medical procedures and services begins with CPT® 2021 Professional Edition. Only the AMA, with the help of physicians and other experts in the health care community, creates and maintains the CPT code set. No other publisher can claim that. No other codebook can provide the official guidelines to code medical services and procedures properly. Features and Benefits. The CPT® 2021 Professional Edition codebook covers hundreds of code, guideline and text changes and features: CPT® Changes, CPT® Assistant, and Clinical Examples in Radiology citations provides cross-referenced information in popular AMA resources that can enhance your understanding of the CPT code set E/M 2021 code changes gives guidelines on the updated codes for office or other outpatient and prolonged services section incorporated A comprehensive index, aids you in locating codes related to a specific procedure, service, anatomic site, condition, synonym, eponym or abbreviation to allow for a clearer, quicker search Anatomical and procedural illustrations, help improve coding accuracy and understanding of the anatomy and procedures being discussed Coding tips throughout each section, improve your understanding of the nuances of the code set Enhanced codebook table of contents, allows users to perform a quick search of the codebook's entire content without being in a specific section Section-specific table of contents, provides users with a tool to navigate more effectively through each section's codes Summary of additions, deletions and revisions, provides a quick reference to 2020 changes without having to refer to previous editions Multiple appendices, offer quick reference to additional information and resources that cover such topics as modifiers, clinical examples, add-on codes, vascular families, multianalyte assays and telemedicine services Comprehensive E/M code selection tables, aid physicians and coders in assigning the most appropriate evaluation and management codes Adhesive section tabs, allow you to flag those sections and pages most relevant to your work More full color procedural illustrations Notes pages at the end of every code set section and subsection
CPT Changes 2020: An Insider's View by
For a better understanding of the latest revisions to the CPT® code set, rely on the best-selling CPT® Changes 2020: An Insider's View. Find the meaning behind all of the changes included in the AMA's CPT® 2020 Professional Edition codebook. Invest in this annual publication and get the insider's perspective into the CPT code set directly from the source-the American Medical Association. AMA is the authority to turn to when seeking an official interpretation and explanation for a CPT code or guideline change. Know the changes inside and out. Avoid and reduce claim denials. Features and Benefits: Organizational structure similar to the CPT codebook - allows coders to easily conduct a side-by-side read of CPT® Changes with the CPT® Professional Official AMA rationales - provide a detailed explanation for the code or guideline change Clinical examples, procedural descriptions and illustrations - help explain the practical application for each change At-a-glance summary table of the 2020 changes in each section - shows the extent to which that changes affect a particular specialty
Essential Medical Physiology by
Essential Medical Physiology, Third Edition, deals with the principal subjects covered in a modern medical school physiology course. This thoroughly revised version includes chapters on general physiology as well as cardiovascular, respiratory, renal, gastrointestinal, endocrine, central nervous system, and integrative physiology. It contains clinical notes, chapter outlines with page numbers, 2-color figures throughout, and new chapters on Exercise, Diabetic Ketoacidosis, and Maternal Adaptations in Pregnancy. Among the contributors to this indispensible textbook are leading physiologists Leonard R. Johnson, Stanley G. Schultz, H. Maurice Goodman, John H. Byrne, Norman W. Weisbrodt, James M. Downey, D. Neil Granger, Frank L. Powell, Jr., James A. Schafer, and Dianna A. Johnson. This text is recommended for medical, graduate, and advanced undergraduate students studying physiology, physicians, and clinical specialists as well as anyone interested in basic human physiology. Includes clinical notes "Key Points" summarize most important information Contains chapter outlines with page numbers 2-color figures throughout New chapters on Exercise, Diabetic Ketoacidosis, and Maternal Adaptations in Pregnancy
Human Anatomy and Physiology by
For the two-semester A&P course. Equipping learners with 21st-century skills to succeed in A&P and beyond Human Anatomy & Physiology by best-selling authors Elaine Marieb and Katja Hoehn motivates and supports learners at every level, from novice to expert, equipping them with 21st century skills to succeed in A&P and beyond. Each carefully paced chapter guides students in advancing from mastering A&P terminology to applying knowledge in clinical scenarios, to practicing the critical thinking and problem-solving skills required for entry to nursing, allied health, and exercise science programs. From the very first edition, Human Anatomy & Physiology has been recognized for its engaging, conversational writing style, easy-to-follow figures, and its unique clinical insights. The 11th Edition continues the authors'' tradition of innovation, building upon what makes this the text used by more schools than any other A&P title and addressing the most effective ways students learn. Unique chapter-opening roadmaps help students keep sight of "big picture" concepts for organizing information; memorable, familiar analogies describe and explain structures and processes clearly and simply; an expanded number of summary tables and Focus Figures help learners focus on important details and processes; and a greater variety and range of self-assessment questions help them actively learn and apply critical thinking skills. To help learners prepare for future careers in health care, Career Connection Videos and Homeostatic Imbalance discussions have been updated, and end-of-chapter Clinical Case Studies have been extensively reworked to include new NCLEX-Style questions. Mastering A&P features new Interactive Physiology 2.0 tutorials, new Focus Figure Mini-Animations, and new customizable Practice Anatomy Lab (PAL 3.1) Flashcards, complementing Human Anatomy & Physiology and providing a cohesive learning experience for today''s learners. Also available with Mastering A&P Mastering(tm) is the teaching and learning platform that empowers you to reach every student. By combining trusted author content with digital tools developed to engage students and emulate the office-hour experience, Mastering personalizes learning and improves results for each student. Mastering A&P assignments support interactive features in the text, including new Interactive Physiology 2.0 tutorials, new, customizable Practice Anatomy Lab (PAL) Flashcards, new Focus Figure "Mini-Animation" Coaching Activities, new Building Vocabulary Coaching Activities, Dynamic Study Modules, Learning Catalytics(tm), 3D animations, lab study tools, Get Ready for A&P, plus a variety of Art Labeling Questions, Clinical problem-solving activities, and more. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; Mastering A&P does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with Mastering A&P, ask your instructor for the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. If you would like to purchase boththe physical text and Mastering A&P, search for: 0134756363 / 9780134756363 Human Anatomy & Physiology Plus Mastering A&P with eText -- Access Card Package Package consists of: 0134580990 / 9780134580999 Human Anatomy & Physiology 0134777549 / 9780134777542 Mastering A&P with Pearson eText -- ValuePack Access Card -- for Human Anatomy & Physiology
Human Physiology, Biochemistry and Basic Medicine by
Human Physiology, Biochemistry and Basic Medicine is a unique perspective that draws together human biology, physiology, biochemistry, nutrition, and cell biology in one comprehensive volume. In this way, it is uniquely qualified to address the needs of the emerging field of humanology, a holistic approach to understanding the biology of humans and how they are distinguished from other animals. Coverage starts with human anatomy and physiology and the details of the workings of all parts of the male and female body. Next, coverage of human biochemistry and how sugars, fats, and amino acids are made and digested is discussed, as is human basic medicine, covering the science of diseases and human evolution and pseudo-evolution. The book concludes with coverage of basic human nutrition, diseases, and treatments, and contains broad coverage that will give the reader an understanding of the entire human picture. Covers the physiology, anatomy, nutrition, biochemistry and cell biology of humans, showing how they are distinguished from other animals Includes medical literature and internet references, example test questions, and a list of pertinent words at the end of each chapter Provides unique perspective into all aspects of what makes up and controls humans
Medical Terminology: a Short Course by 
Medical Terminology Demystified by
There's no easier, faster, or more practical way to learn the really tough subjects Medical Terminology Demystified covers all the basic terms of disease and injury, abnormal anatomy and physiology, surgical techniques, drugs, and other therapies--in the context of real, practical health issues. This self-teaching guide comes complete with key points, background information, quizzes at the end of each chapter, and even a final exam.
Medical Terminology Made Incredibly Easy by
Feeling overwhelmed by medical terminology? Grab a lifeline: the newly updated Medical Terminology Made Incredibly Easy!®, 4th Edition offers clear and simple explanations of vital terms and their everyday use in nursing practice. Backed by humor and chock full of illustrations, this enjoyable text is the perfect backup to class materials and the ideal on-the-job refresher for experienced nurses and all healthcare professionals. Learn how to decipher complex terms from the roots up--and take your confidence to a whole new level. Be expertly guided through the choppy waters of medical terminology ... NEW and updated content clarifies medical terminology concepts with clear definitions and illustrations Explains the meanings, roots, and pronunciation of terms as used in everyday practice, including: Names for all major body systems: skeletal, muscular, integumentary, cardiovascular, respiratory, gastrointestinal, urinary, reproductive, neurologic, endocrine, blood and lymphatic, and sensory systems Terms and phrases used in maternal health, pharmacology, and mental health Breaks down complex medical terms into recognizable components--common prefixes, roots, and suffixes--to help you identify the meaning of any term Offers a strong anatomy and physiology overview backed by numerous images, including a large image of each organ system Chapter features provide learning aids and on-the-unit support: Just the facts --quick summary of chapter content Vocabulary builders --end-of-chapter games such as crossword puzzles, matching roots and prefixes to their correct meanings, and fill-in-the-blank sentences to help you retain learning Pump up your pronunciation --phonetic spellings make it easy to pronounce complex terms Anatomically speaking --anatomy illustrations, with pronunciations of key terms Memory jogger --stories and tools that support retention "Nurse Joy"and "Jake" --explain key concepts and offer friendly problem-solving tips Beyond the dictionary --learn the origins of words, to help you remember word roots and dissect meanings The real world --explains informal terms used in daily practice About the Clinical Editor David Woodruff, MSN, RN-BC, CNS, CNE, FNAP, is Faculty Development Specialist at the Center for Faculty Excellence, Chamberlain College of Nursing, in Cleveland, Ohio.
Our Marvelous Bodies: An Introduction to the Physiology of Human Health by
Our Marvelous Bodies offers a unique perspective on the structure, function, and care of the major systems of the human body. Unlike other texts that use a strictly scientific approach, physiologist Gary F. Merrill relays medical facts alongside personal stories that help students relate to and apply the information. Readers learn the basics of feedback control systems, homeostasis, and physiological gradients. These principles apply to an understanding of the body's functioning under optimal, healthy conditions, and they provide insight into states of acute and chronic illness. Separate chapters are devoted to each of the body's systems in detail: nervous, endocrine, cardiovascular, respiratory, renal, gastrointestinal, musculoskeletal, reproductive, and immune. Through a series of real-life examples, the book also shows the importance of maintaining careful medical records for health care professionals, scientists, and patients alike.