This is the "Basics" page of the "Using TechCat+" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Using TechCat+   Tags: articles, books, journals, searching, techcat  

Lawrence Tech's version of WorldCat Local is a window into resources on campus, on the web, and at other libraries...a great place to start research
Last Updated: Jul 19, 2013 URL: http://libguides.ltu.edu/techcat Print Guide RSS Updates

Basics Print Page
  Search: 
 

What's in TechCat+ ?

What is included in a search in WorldCat Local?

Books, journal titles, ejournals, articles, and other items at Lawrence Tech (these always display FIRST)

Books, journal titles, and other items at other libraries (these always display after LTU items)

"Libraries and Relevance" shows LTU first; "Relevance" shows any library

Starred items (*) are already included in basic "WorldCat.org" search, and all databases in the section below are searched every time:

-Academic OneFile (Gale)
-ACM Digital Library
-Article First*

-Biomed Central
-Business Insights
-Business Source Compete (limited)
-Ebrary Academic Complete ebooks*
-EEBO Early English Books Online*
-Emerald Journals
-General OneFile (Gale)
-IEEE database
-IOP Science
-ERIC*
-Medline PubMed*
-ScienceDirect
-SciTech Connect

Using "Advanced Search" you can add 40+ databases, including

-Applied Science and Technology Abstracts
-Art Abstracts (Wilson)
-Avery Index (limited)
-Biological and Ag Index
-Business Abstracts (Wilson)
-Education Abstracts
-General Science Abstracts
-Greenfile
-Health Reference Academic
-Humanities Abstracts
-LegalTrac
-Omnifile (Wilson)
-Opposing Viewpoints
-Social Science Abstracts

and more

 

What is TechCat+ ?

TechCat+ is a discovery tool...it includes everything that the older TechCat had, but adds access to books in MelCat and WorldCat, offers selected periodical articles, videos, and other resources.  You can even add additional databases to search via the "Advanced Search" screen.

But remember, although TechCat+ is a good place to start, it doesn't include everything.
Make sure you check our subject guides in your area of interest to explore even more resources.

If you do not find your item in TechCat+'s MelCat links, double check in the regular MelCat search (http://elibrary.mel.org).  It it is still not available in MelCat, perhaps the library can get it for you from another library via Interlibrary Loan.

Search Tips

To search Lawrence Tech and other libraries, choose "Libraries Worldwide". 

-->Lawrence Tech books and articles are always shown first, followed by other libraries' holdings. 

If you only want Lawrence Tech items, change the search location to "Lawrence Tech" in the pull-down box.

Choose "Advanced Search" to add other databases, to limit by date or item type, and other options.

"Available" usually means "Available in the Library" and "View Now" means it is available online.  Sometimes an item is both.  However, if an item is only online, it may also be shown as "available".

Facets:

Limit your search by type, date, author, etc. with the column on the left, similar to most shopping websites.  You can limit from the advanced search page, but it may make more sense to search first, then limit.

Highly Recommended:

You can add labels to add precision to your search if starting from a plain searchbox:

Add kw: ti: au: before your search terms for more precision  ("kw:" searches in more fields)

For an exact title, you can use "ti="  (ti=cover letters)   [similar to "starts with these words, and in this order"]

To make sure the words are adjacent, but anywhere in the title, use ti:"cover letters"

You can combine searches, such as au:wright  kw:architecture

What's NOT in TechCat+

These databases are not a distinctive searchable choice in TechCat+ yet, but a large selection of items are indexed.  The full-text IS included when found with another citation.    Search these databases on the"Databases by Subject" pages if you don't find what you are looking for:

ASCE Transactions and Proceedings

ASME Transactions

      
     

    Search these Databases Separately

    These databases stand alone, search them by themselves

    -Engineering Village

    -Faulkner (FAITS and Security)

    -SAE Papers

    -SCOPUS

    If you need help, contact the library at 248-204-3000 or email refdesk@ltu.edu
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip