City by David MacaulayText and black and white illustrations show how the Romans planned and constructed their cities for the people who lived within them.
Call Number: TA80.R6 M3
Publication Date: 1974-09-04
A Companion to Roman Architecture by Roger B. Ulrich (Editor); Caroline K. Quenemoen (Editor)A Companion to Roman Architecture presents a comprehensive review of the critical issues and approaches that have transformed scholarly understanding in recent decades in one easy-to-reference volume. Offers a cross-disciplinary approach to Roman architecture, spanning technology, history, art, politics, and archaeology Brings together contributions by leading scholars in architectural history An essential guide to recent scholarship, covering new archaeological discoveries, lesser known buildings, new technologies and space and construction Includes extensive, up-to-date bibliography and glossary of key Roman architectural terms
Greek and Roman Architecture by D. S. RobertsonThis book provides a brief, clear account of the main developments in the history of the Greek, Etruscan and Roman architecture, from the earliest times to the foundation of Constantinople. It contains 135 drawings and 24 plates. Professor Robertson has produced a really great handbook; one that has become the standard general work, in English, or perhaps in any language, on its subject. It has not only accuracy, attention to detail and scholarship - these qualities we would expect - it has clarity, breadth of treatment and what can be called architectural soundness.
Call Number: NA260 .R6 1969
Publication Date: 1969-05-01
The Houses of Roman Italy, 100 B. C. -A. D. 250 by John R. ClarkeIn this richly illustrated book, art historian John R. Clarke helps us see the ancient Roman house "with Roman eyes." Clarke presents a range of houses, from tenements to villas, and shows us how enduring patterns of Roman wall decoration tellingly bear the cultural, religious, and social imprints of the people who lived with them. In case studies of seventeen excavated houses, Clarke guides us through four centuries of Roman wall painting, mosaic, and stucco decoration, from the period of the "Four Styles" (100 B.C. to A.D. 79) to the mid- third century. The First Style Samnite House shows its debt to public architecture in its clear integration of public and private spaces. The Villa of Oplontis asserts the extravagant social and cultural climate of the Second Style. Gemlike Third-Style rooms from the House of Lucretius Fronto reflect the refinement and elegance of Augustan tastes. The Vettii brothers' social climbing helps explain the overburdened Fourth-Style decoration of their famous house. And evidence of remodelling leads Clarke to conclude that the House of Jupiter and Ganymede became a gay hotel in the second century. In his emphasis on social and spiritual dimensions, Clarke offers a contribution to Roman art and architectural history that is both original and accessible to the general reader. The book's superb photographs not only support the author's findings but help to preserve an ancient legacy that is fast succumbing to modern deterioration resulting from pollution and vandalism.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 1992-01-15
Monumentality and the Roman Empire: Architecture in the Antonine Age by Edmund ThomasThe quality of 'monumentality' is attributed to the buildings of few historical epochs or cultures more frequently or consistently than to those of the Roman Empire. It is this quality that has helped to make them enduring models for builders of later periods. This extensively illustrated book, the first full-length study of the concept of monumentality in Classical Antiquity, asks what it is that the notion encompasses and how significant it was for the Romansthemselves in moulding their individual or collective aspirations and identities. Although no single word existed in antiquity for the qualities that modern authors regard as making up that term, its Latin derivation - from monumentum, 'a monument' - attests plainly to the presence of the concept inthe mentalities of ancient Romans, and the development of that notion through the Roman era laid the foundation for the classical ideal of monumentality, which reached a height in early modern Europe. This book is also the first full-length study of architecture in the Antonine Age - when it is generally agreed the Roman Empire was at its height. By exploring the public architecture of Roman Italy and both Western and Eastern provinces of the Roman Empire from the point of view of thebenefactors who funded such buildings, the architects who designed them, and the public who used and experienced them, Edmund Thomas analyses the reasons why Roman builders sought to construct monumental buildings and uncovers the close link between architectural monumentality and the identity and ideologyof the Roman Empire itself.
Principles of Roman Architecture by Mark Wilson-JonesThe architects of ancient Rome developed a vibrant and enduring tradition, inspiring those who followed in their profession even to this day. This book explores how Roman architects went about the creative process.
Roman Architecture and Society by James C. AndersonFocusing primarily on Rome and other cities of central Italy, James C. Anderson, jr., describes the training, career path, and social status of both architects and builders. He explains how the construction industry was organized -- from marble and timber suppliers to bricklayers and carpenters. He examines the political, legal, and economic factors that determined what would be built, and where. And he shows how the various types of public and private Roman buildings relate to the urban space as a whole. Drawing on ancient literary sources as well as on contemporary scholarship, Roman Architecture and Society examines the origins of the architectural achievements, construction techniques, and discoveries that have had an incalculable influence on the postclassical Western world. This detailed and concise account will appeal not only to students and scholars of Roman history, but to all with an interest in ancient architecture and urban society.
Call Number: NA2543.S6 A52 1997
Publication Date: 1997-06-11
The Roman Forum by David WatkinOne of the most visited sites in Italy, the Roman Forum is also one of the best-known wonders of the Roman world. David Watkin sheds completely new light on the Forum, examining the roles of the ancient remains while revealing what exactly the standing structures embody - including the rarely studied medieval, Renaissance, and Baroque churches, as well as the nearby monuments that have important histories of their own.
Roman Theatres : an Architectural Study by Roger BeckThis book is an up-to-date and comprehensive account of Roman theatre architecture. It contains information, plans, and photographs of every theatre in the Roman Empire for which there is archaeological evidence, together with a full analysis of how Roman theatres were designed, built, and paid for, and how theatres differ in different parts of the Roman Empire. It is lavishly illustrated with plans, text figures, photographs, and maps. -;This book is a definitive architectural study of Roman theatre architecture. In nine chapters it brings together a massive amount of archaeological, literary, and epigraphic information under one cover. It also contains a full catalogue of all known Roman theatres, including a number of odea (concert halls) and bouleuteria (council chambers) which are relevant to the architectural discussion, about 1,000 entries in all. Inscriptional or literary evidence relating to each theatre is. listed and there is an up-to-date bibliography for each building. Most importantly the book contains plans of over 500 theatres or buildings of theatrical type, as well as numerous text figures and nearly 200 figures and plates. -;...excellent...admirable book. - Eva Stehl--iacute--;kov--aacute--; Listy Filologick--eacute--;;...the most comprehensive account and comparative analysis yet to appear focusing upon the elements and varieties of Roman theatrical architecture. - Richard C. Beacham, Journal of Roman Studies;a colossal work which will remail a major reference work for many years to come. - Hazel Dodge, Antiquity
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2006-07-01
Roman Villas: A Study in Social Structure by J. T. SmithRoman Villas explores the social structures of the Roman world by analysing the plans of buildings of all sizes from slightly Romanized farms to palaces. The ways in which the rooms are grouped together; how they intercommunicate; and the ways in which individual rooms and the house are approached, reveal various social patterns, which question traditional ideas about the Roman family and household. J. T. Smith argues that virtually all houses were occupied by groups of varying composition, challenging the received wisdom that they were single family houses whose size reflected only the owner's wealth and number of servants. Roman Villas provides a meticulously documented and scholarly examination of the relationship between the living quarters of the Roman and their social and economic development which introduces a new area in Roman studies and a corpus of material for further analysis. The inclusion of almost 500 ground plans, drawn to a uniform scale, allows the reader to compare the similarities and differences between house structure as well as effectively illustrating the arguments.
A Roman Circus in CorinthAbstract: During the 1967–1968 excavations of the Gymnasium area in Corinth, a long
and narrow structure (the “Apsidal Building”) was discovered. It is argued here that the structure represents the eastern meta and a portion of the spina of a circus, where chariot races were held. The circus appears to have been planned as an integral component of the Caesarian design of the city, constructed during the Augustan period, renovated in the late 1st century a.d., and refurbished as late as the 6th century. Furthermore, the circus was often the site of the equestrian contests of the Corinthian Caesarea festival and at
times of the Panhellenic Isthmian Games.
A Roman Road Southeast of the Forum at Corinth: Technology and Urban DevelopmentAbstract: A wide, unpaved, north–south Roman road was established in the Panayia
Field at Ancient Corinth in the last years of the 1st century b.c. Over the next six centuries, numerous civic and private construction activities altered its spatial organization, function as a transportation artery, and use for water and waste management. Changes included the installation and maintenance of sidewalks, curbs, drains, terracotta pipelines, and porches at doorways. The terracotta pipelines are presented here typologically in chronological sequence. The road elucidates early-colony land division at Corinth, urbanization into the 4th century a.d., and subsequent deurbanization in the 6th century, when maintenance of the road ended.
Under Siege: The Roman Field Works at MasadaThe Roman reduction of Masada, completed over the winter of either A.D. 72/73 or
73/74, offers scholars the opportunity to study the most complete surviving siege system of the ancient world. Although the remains of the Roman works were the subject of extensive comment from the early to middle 20th century, little modern attention has been devoted to the complex suite of siege-related structures that surround the fortress palace. A controversial new hypothesis contending that the Roman assault ramp at the site was not "operational" at the time that the siege was brought to a close provides a good reason for reviewing the archaeological evidence concerning this famous episode.