LibGuides: Nursing: Evidence Based Web Resources

Free Web Resources

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Focused on improving safety and quality in the health care system.
American Holistic Nurses Association The AHNA is a specialty nursing association serving over 5,000 nurses and holistic healthcare professionals in the USA and internationally. Our mission is to illuminate holism in nursing practice, community, advocacy, research, and education. Our vision is that Every Nurse Is a Holistic Nurse. In late 2006, the American Nurses Association (ANA) recognized Holistic Nursing as an official specialty in nursing and assisted AHNA in publishing the Holistic Nursing Scopes and Standards of Practice. Today, AHNA is well-known as the definitive voice for holistic nursing.
ClinicalTrials.gov ClinicalTrials.gov is a resource provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Most articles have detailed abstracts and a limited number are open access. The Cochrane Library is owned by Cochrane and published by Wiley.

Healthy People 2020 Evidence-Based Resources Direct link to Evidence-Based Resources at the Healthy People 2020 website.
Medline Info on Clinical Trials
National Academies of Science Engineering & Medicine The National Academies Press (NAP), formerly known as the Institute of Medicine, was created by the National Academy of Sciences to publish the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine operating under a charter granted by the Congress of the United States. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative information on important matters in science and health policy. The institutions served by the NAP are unique in their ability to attract leading experts in many fields to join panels and committees charged with providing policy advice on some of the nation’s most pressing scientific, technical, and health-related issues.
National Institute of Nursing Research Publications Includes books, pamphlets and fact sheets - free downloads.
Other Clinical Trials Sites The following Office for Human Research Protections (OHRP), National Institutes of Health (NIH), and Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Web sites provide information about clinical studies, drug development, and other health care issues.
TOXNET Pulls together online resources for information on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
TRIP Medical Database Online database to search clinical research evidence.

United States Medical Resources

PubMed Tutorial

NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information) This link opens in a new window All things biological, including GenBank, BLAST etc. (See the list of subsections and search across all databases.)

NCBI Handbook, 2nd Ed. "geared to advanced users of NCBI. Provides understanding of how bioinformatics resources at NCBI work."

OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man) This link opens in a new window Part of the NCBI's collection of life sciences databases. According to their website, OMIM is "a compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes".

PICO- Patient or Problem, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome

PubMed PICO Tool PICO search: Patient, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome. Find articles based on the variables of your choosing.
UNC's PICO Information PICO stands for Patient or Problem, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome
more...less...
Use PICO to research for best practices and to answer questions about patient care.

Criteria for Website Evaluation CRAAP

C - Currency - is the information current or updated? When was it published? Test any links included.
R - Relevance - is the information important for your topic? Who is the audience? Compare it to other information you have found.
A - Authority - who is the author or sponsor? What are their credentials? Are they experts? Is there contact information?
A - Accuracy - What is the source of the information? Is it evidence based? Is there a review process for publication? Is there bias?
P - Purpose - informational, persuasive, educational, sales? Is it fact, opinion, propaganda? Look for bias - political, religious, ideological?

Question the authenticity of any site with multiple spelling or grammar errors.