Chemical Laboratory Safety and Security by
The U.S. Department of State charged the Academies with the task of producing a protocol for development of standard operating procedures (SOPs) that would serve as a complement to the Chemical Laboratory Safety and Security: A Guide to Prudent Chemical Management and be included with the other materials in the 2010 toolkit. To accomplish this task, a committee with experience and knowledge in good chemical safety and security practices in academic and industrial laboratories with awareness of international standards and regulations was formed. The hope is that this toolkit expansion product will enhance the use of the previous reference book and the accompanying toolkit, especially in developing countries where safety resources are scarce and experience of operators and end-users may be limited.
Handbook for Laboratory Safety by
Handbook for Laboratory Safety provides insights into what you should expect when you enter a laboratory, along with how to behave in these specialized work environments. It is a practical book that can be used as a general introduction to laboratory safety, but also works as a resource for employees or students who do laboratory work. Students could carry this book in their backpack, whereas university/institute/company laboratories could place the book in every laboratory as a reference. This book is also ideally suited for essential courses for students, (new) employees or laboratory technicians who are starting their work in a laboratory environment.
Prudent Practices in the Laboratory by
Prudent Practices in the Laboratory-the book that has served for decades as the standard for chemical laboratory safety practice-now features updates and new topics. This revised edition has an expanded chapter on chemical management and delves into new areas, such as nanotechnology, laboratory security, and emergency planning. Developed by experts from academia and industry, with specialties in such areas as chemical sciences, pollution prevention, and laboratory safety, Prudent Practices in the Laboratory provides guidance on planning procedures for the handling, storage, and disposal of chemicals. The book offers prudent practices designed to promote safety and includes practical information on assessing hazards, managing chemicals, disposing of wastes, and more. Prudent Practices in the Laboratory will continue to serve as the leading source of chemical safety guidelines for people working with laboratory chemicals: research chemists, technicians, safety officers, educators, and students.
Research Laboratory Safety by
Research Laboratory Safety explains the most important prerequisite when working in a laboratory: Knowing the potential hazards of equipment and the chemical materials to be employed. Students learn how to assess and control risks in a research laboratory and to identify a possible danger. An approach on the hazard classes such as physical, chemical, biological and radiation hazards is given and exercises to each class prepare for exams.
Safety in the Chemical Laboratory and Industry: A Practical Guide by
Safety in the Chemical Laboratory and Industry: A Practical Guide provides an authoritative reference on chemical safety procedures and the handling and disposal of chemicals at both the laboratory and industrial level. The book serves as a practical guide for laboratory workers and offers prudent guidelines for the development of regulatory policy for academic and non-academic organizations. The book stresses that all accidental injuries can be minimized if systems and attitudes are in place to prevent them and that to fully materialize a safety culture, even with improved technology, everyone should be mindful of maintaining a safe environment. This handbook will assist faculty, researchers, staff and students to provide a safe and healthy laboratory environment to teach, learn and conduct research. Helps understand the basic principles of chemical safety Provides guidance how to create a culture of chemical safety and how to deal with hazardous waste disposal Handles minimization of risks related to chemicals