The Big Picture: Gross Anatomy, Medical Course & Step 1 Review, Second Edition by
Gross Anatomy: The Big Picture, Second Edition is the perfect bridge between review and textbooks. With an emphasis on what students truly need to know versus "what's nice to know," it features 450 full-color illustrations that give them a complete, yet concise, overview of essential anatomy. The Second edition is distinguished by the addition of online videos ranging from 3-9 minutes long, and more concise, bulleted text. The book's user-friendly presentation consists of text on the left-hand page and beautiful full-color illustrations on the right-hand page. In this way, you get a "big picture" of anatomy principles, delivered one concept at a time -- making them easier to understand and retain. Striking the perfect balance between illustrations and text, Gross Anatomy: The Big Picture, Second Edition features: *High-yield review questions and answers at the end of each chapter *Numerous summary tables and figures that encapsulate important information *450 labeled and explained full-color illustrations *A final exam featuring 100 Q&As *Important clinically-relevant concepts called to your attention by convenient icons *Bullets and numbering that break complex concepts down to easy-to-remember points
Color Atlas of Human Anatomy, Vol. 1, Locomotor System by
The seventh edition of this classic work makes mastering large amounts of complex information much less daunting. These are some of the many user-friendly features of this book: More than 200 outstanding full-color illustrations and 100 new clinical correlations Side-by-side images with updated callouts An overview of anatomical terms and their Latin equivalents in each section Emphasizing clinical anatomy, this atlas integrates current information from a wide range of medical disciplines into the discussions of the locomotor system, including: General anatomy The systematic anatomy of the locomotor system The topography of peripheral nerves and vessels in relation to the musculoskeletal system.
Concise Medical Dictionary by
Written by a team of medical experts, this market-leading dictionary offers clear and authoritative definitions for all aspects of medical science. It features up-to-date coverage of public health medicine, medical research and general practice, drugs and pharmacology, endocrinology, cardiology and radiology, among other specialist areas. This new edition has been revised and updated to reflect advancements in medical research and practice, while over 250 new entries have been added, including American Medical Association, burden of treatment, gaming disorder, MERS, person-centred care, and Zika virus. Recommended web links and detailed illustrations complement the text, and extensive appendices offer useful lists and tables on areas such as inherited medical conditions, units of alcohol, and abbreviations and symbols. Selling over a million copies in previous editions, this is an essential A-Z for students and those working in the medical and allied professions, including nurses, pharmacists, physiotherapists, social workers, hospital administrators, and medical secretaries. It is also an invaluable home reference guide for the general reader.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings--inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5 easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14th Edition by
The landmark pharmacology reference--updated to reflect the latest research and developments in the field For more than 50 years, Goodman & Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics has represented the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology. The text's careful balance of basic science and clinical applications has guided thousands of health care practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing and treating disease. This Fourteenth Edition includes five new chapters, 600+ illustrations, and important content from 53 new contributors. More than a textbook, Goodman & Gilman's is a working template for the effective and rational prescribing of drugs in daily practice. Goodman & Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, Fourteenth Edition features: Five NEW chapters on: -Pharmacovigilance -The blood-brain barrier -Cannabis -Antibodies, immune checkpoint inhibitors, CAR-T cells, and other biological agents -Gastrointestinal microbiome and drug response Expanded coverage of the use of genetic polymorphisms in designing appropriate therapies Revised and expanded chapter on pharmacodynamics and the molecular mechanisms of drug action 600+ color illustrations Drug Fact Tables summarizing clinical pharmacology Content Outline and Abbreviation List at the beginning of each chapter 50 NEW figures on mechanism of drug actions 53 NEW contributors NEW online updates
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Twenty-First Edition (Vol. 1 & Vol. 2) by
The Voice of Clinical ReasonHarrison's Principles of Internal Medicine is the world's most trusted clinical medicine text--and a superb resource for learning the art and science of clinical reasoning. Recognized by healthcare professionals worldwide as the leading authority on applied pathophysiology and clinical medicine, Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine provides the informational foundation you need for the best patient care possible. This new edition is fully updated with timely new chapters and essential updates across the spectrum of internal medicine. Written and edited by the world's top experts in their respective fields, this landmark guide provides comprehensive, accurate, and essential coverage of the pathogenesis, diagnosis, and treatment of disease. Harrison's is world-renowned as the most authoritative source for: * Clear, concise schemas that facilitate the generation of differential diagnoses to reason efficiently through complex real world clinical cases * The physiologic and epidemiologic basis of signs and symptoms, which are covered through a wealth of unsurpassed expert guidance and linked to the disease-specific chapters that follow * Updated clinical trial results and recommended guidelines * Excellent and extensive visual support, including radiographs, clinical photos, schematics, and high-quality drawings * Coverage of both therapeutic approaches and specific treatment regimens * Practical clinical decision trees and algorithms * Organ/system-specific sections, with clinically relevant pathophysiology and practical clinical advice on the approach to the patient, strategies towards building a differential diagnosis, outstanding clinical algorithms and diagnostic schema, a wealth of clinical images and diagrams, current clinical guidelines, and general and specific approaches to therapy Harrison's remains the most trusted resource in a world influenced by endless sources of medical information. The most timely and comprehensive updates from the world's top experts are featured in the 21st edition: * Current coverage of the diagnosis and treatment of diseases, from COVID to dementia to sepsis to multiple sclerosis to lung cancer * Updated content that reflects new approved therapeutics and new practice-changing guidelines and evidence summaries * More than 1000 clinical, pathological, and radiographic photographs, diagnostic and therapeutic decision trees, and clear schematics and diagrams describing pathophysiologic processes * Numerous atlases featuring curated collections of important visual aspects of diagnosis and management * Updated and time-saving curation and synthesis of established and new medical literature and studies * Clinically relevant coverage of disease mechanics and pathophysiology, and related therapeutic mechanisms
Human Anatomy and Physiology by
For the two-semester A&P course. Equipping learners with 21st-century skills to succeed in A&P and beyond Human Anatomy & Physiology by best-selling authors Elaine Marieb and Katja Hoehn motivates and supports learners at every level, from novice to expert, equipping them with 21st century skills to succeed in A&P and beyond. Each carefully paced chapter guides students in advancing from mastering A&P terminology to applying knowledge in clinical scenarios, to practicing the critical thinking and problem-solving skills required for entry to nursing, allied health, and exercise science programs. From the very first edition, Human Anatomy & Physiology has been recognized for its engaging, conversational writing style, easy-to-follow figures, and its unique clinical insights. The 11th Edition continues the authors'' tradition of innovation, building upon what makes this the text used by more schools than any other A&P title and addressing the most effective ways students learn. Unique chapter-opening roadmaps help students keep sight of "big picture" concepts for organizing information; memorable, familiar analogies describe and explain structures and processes clearly and simply; an expanded number of summary tables and Focus Figures help learners focus on important details and processes; and a greater variety and range of self-assessment questions help them actively learn and apply critical thinking skills. To help learners prepare for future careers in health care, Career Connection Videos and Homeostatic Imbalance discussions have been updated, and end-of-chapter Clinical Case Studies have been extensively reworked to include new NCLEX-Style questions. Mastering A&P features new Interactive Physiology 2.0 tutorials, new Focus Figure Mini-Animations, and new customizable Practice Anatomy Lab (PAL 3.1) Flashcards, complementing Human Anatomy & Physiology and providing a cohesive learning experience for today''s learners. Also available with Mastering A&P Mastering(tm) is the teaching and learning platform that empowers you to reach every student. By combining trusted author content with digital tools developed to engage students and emulate the office-hour experience, Mastering personalizes learning and improves results for each student. Mastering A&P assignments support interactive features in the text, including new Interactive Physiology 2.0 tutorials, new, customizable Practice Anatomy Lab (PAL) Flashcards, new Focus Figure "Mini-Animation" Coaching Activities, new Building Vocabulary Coaching Activities, Dynamic Study Modules, Learning Catalytics(tm), 3D animations, lab study tools, Get Ready for A&P, plus a variety of Art Labeling Questions, Clinical problem-solving activities, and more. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; Mastering A&P does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with Mastering A&P, ask your instructor for the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. If you would like to purchase boththe physical text and Mastering A&P, search for: 0134756363 / 9780134756363 Human Anatomy & Physiology Plus Mastering A&P with eText -- Access Card Package Package consists of: 0134580990 / 9780134580999 Human Anatomy & Physiology 0134777549 / 9780134777542 Mastering A&P with Pearson eText -- ValuePack Access Card -- for Human Anatomy & Physiology
Manual of Ambulatory Pediatrics by
This pocket-sized manual is a concise, ready reference for well-child care, a compilation of the most common management problems seen in an average pediatric practice, and a drug reference. Part I provides comprehensive guidelines for well-child visits from birth to adolescence along wth management guidelines for common childrearing issues. This part has a new, more streamlined format in the Sixth Edition with an emphasis on prevention. Part II provides management protocols for the most commonly occurring childhood illnesses. This edition includes new material on behavioral problems and common childrearing concerns, childhood obesity, food allergies, ADHD, sleep problems, and peer pressure. Part III provides a concise review of commonly used pharmaceuticals in pediatric practice, using both generic and trade names.
Neurology and Neurosurgery Illustrated E-Book by
New edition of a highly successful illustrated guide to neurology and neurosurgery for medical students and junior doctors. * Comprehensive guide to neurology and neurosurgery for medical students and junior doctors - competing books do not cover both areas.* Graphic approach to the subject - concise text is arranged around clear and memorable line diagrams. Readers find this approach accessible and easy to learn form.* Clarifies a subject area which students tend to find difficult and forbidding. Updated and revised in all areas where there have been developments in understanding of neurological disease and in neurological and neurosurgical management. This revision has also incorporated current guidelines, particularly recommendations from National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE).
Pathophysiology of Disease: An Introduction to Clinical Medicine 8E by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A full-color case-based review of the essentials of pathophysiology covering all major organs and systems More than 130 case studies with Q&A A Doody's Core Title for 2020! The goal of this trusted text is to introduce you to clinical medicine by reviewing the pathophysiologic basis of 132 diseases (and associated signs and symptoms) commonly encountered in medical practice. The authors, all experts in their respective fields, have provided a concise review of relevant normal structure and function of each body system, followed by a description of the pathophysiologic mechanisms that underlie several common diseases related to that system. The accessible presentation features high-quality full-color illustrations, and numerous tables and diagrams. Each chapter of Pathophysiology of Disease concludes with a collection of case studies and questions designed to test your understanding of the pathophysiology of each clinical entity discussed. These case studies allow you to apply your knowledge to specific clinical situations. Detailed answers to each case study question are provided at the end of the book. This unique interweaving of physiological and pathological concepts will put you on the path toward thinking about signs and symptoms in terms of their pathophysiologic basis, giving you an understanding of the "why" behind illness and treatment. HERE ARE SOME OF THE MANY UPDATES AND ADDITIONS: *Twelve additional case studies, bringing the total to 132, one for each of the clinical entities discussed in the book's 24 chapters *More than 2/3 of the chapters are enhanced and refreshed by the input of new contributors *Totally revised chapter on neoplasia *New chapter sections on urticaria, spinocerebellar ataxia, idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis, and spondyloarthropathies *New tables summarizing adverse prognostic signs in acute pancreatitis, genetic syndromes associated with pancreatic cancer, and causes of end-stage renal disease *New diagnosis and etiologic classification of diabetes mellitus, and review of mechanisms of newest pharmacologic agents for its treatment *Updates on fine-needle aspiration biopsy of thyroid nodules, and thyroid disorders in pregnancy *Updated references throughout the book
The Patient History: Evidence-Based Approach to Differential Diagnosis by
A comprehensive evidence-based introduction to patient history-taking "NOW IN FULL COLOR" For medical students and other health professions students, an accurate differential diagnosis starts with "The Patient History." The ideal companion to major textbooks on the physical examination, this trusted guide is widely acclaimed for its skill-building, and evidence based approach to the medical history. Now in full color, "The Patient History" defines best practices for the patient interview, explaining how to effectively elicit information from the patient in order to generate an accurate differential diagnosis. The second edition features all-new chapters, case scenarios, and a wealth of diagnostic algorithms. Introductory chapters articulate the fundamental principles of medical interviewing. The book employs a rigorous evidenced-based approach, reviewing and highlighting relevant citations from the literature throughout each chapter. FeaturesIdeal for use in Year 1 and Year 2 medical school and other health professions courses, including Introduction to Physical Diagnosis and Introduction to Clinical MedicineNEW Essential new chapters on red eye, pruritus, and hair lossNEW Case scenarios to introduce each chapter and place history-taking principles in clinical contextNEW Self-assessment multiple choice Q&A conclude each chapter--an ideal review for students seeking to assess their retention of chapter materialExpanded emphasis on evidence-based principles, including more information on likelihood ratios, number needed to treat (NNT), pre- and post-test probability, and evidence-based diagnosisSymptom-based chapters covering 59 common symptoms and clinical presentationsDiagnostic approach section after each chapter featuring color algorithms and several multiple-choice questionsHundreds of practical, high-yield questions to guide the history, ranging from basic queries to those appropriate for more experienced cliniciansComplete list of references in each chapter
Schaum's Outline of Human Anatomy and Physiology by
Tough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Fortunately for you, there's Schaum's. This all-in-one-package includes more than 1,400 fully solved problems, examples, and practice exercises to sharpen your problem-solving skills. Plus, you will have access to 20 detailed videos featuring Science instructors who explain the most commonly tested concepts--it's just like having your own virtual tutor!nbsp;You'll find everything you need to build confidence, skills, and knowledge for the highest score possible. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum'sto help them succeed in the classroom and on exams.Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher gradesin every subject. Each Outline presents all the essentialcourse information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topicformat. You also get hundreds of examples, solvedproblems, and practice exercises to test your skills. This Schaum's Outline gives you 1,470 fully solved problems Clear, concise explanations of all human anatomyand physiology concepts A complete review of the human body’s cellularchemistry and structure, tissues, systems, immunity,and reproduction process Fully compatible with your classroom text, Schaum's highlights all the important facts you need to know. Use Schaum's to shorten your study time–and get your best test scores!
The Wills Eye Manual by
A best-selling source; compact, authoritative guidance on the treatment of ocular disorders in a variety of settings. The Wills Eye Manual, 8th Edition, is the comprehensive, high-yield reference of choice for both trainees and seasoned practitioners. It provides highly illustrated information on more than 200 ophthalmic conditions along with proven clinical recommendations from initial diagnosis through extended treatment. The consistent, bulleted outline format makes it ideal for portability and quick reference. Provides current, superbly illustrated information on more than 200 ophthalmic conditions in a handy, portable manual, along with extensive multimedia content. Features easily accessible clinical recommendations for evaluation, diagnosis, management, and treatment. Contains updates on the latest major clinical trials in ophthalmology, as well as two expertly produced new videos and many new clinical images added.