| The University will be closed in observance of Memorial Day on Monday, May 27th. |
| The University will be closed in observance of Memorial Day on Monday, May 27th. |
Decision Making in Emergency Management by
Decision-Making in Emergency Management examines decisions the authors have made over their careers based on their combined training, experience and instinct. Through a broad range of case studies, readers discover how experience impacts decision-making in conjunction with research and tools available. While the use of science, data and industry standards are always the best option when it comes to handling emergency situations, not all emergency situations fit one known solution. This book comprehensively explores the question "Is 'instinct' a viable factor when faced with a challenging situation and how close does it match up with the best science available?" Includes case studies from natural and manmade disasters, providing readers with decision-making skills in various global settings Provides readers the opportunity to learn from someone else's decisions Inspires emergency response personnel to continuously pursue learning, question their strategies and apply changes as appropriate
Disaster Medicine by
Disaster Medicine has been especially designed for doctors to help them with their practice when some disasters occur. It has been written with the intention of being a comprehensive guide or reference for medical staff and students in medical schools and will enable them to cope with emergency situations, as there are many more disasters taking place before we can predict. The book is divided into eleven chapters. It briefly introduces the definition, extent of disaster, and the characteristics, assignments and meanings for the rescue technique of disaster medicine. It also describes the basic rescue techniques of disaster medicine in detail. It illustrates some common natural disasters like earthquake, fire, flood and so on respectively, and rescue knowledge and techniques for human-induced disasters on the spot like traffics, mine and poisoning accidents, etc., with the prominence of field rescue. It expounds particularly the common diseases (including internal medicine, surgery, gynecology pediatrics, dermatology, etc.) and common operations and medicines as well. In some chapters, it also introduces some diagnosis, principles of treatment and formula of Traditional Chinese Medicine.
Disaster Nursing and Emergency Preparedness for Chemical, Biological, and Radiological Terrorism and Other Hazards, for Chemical, Biological, and Radiological Terrorism and Other Hazards by
The new edition of this AJN Book of the Year continues to provide nurses with the most comprehensive, current, and reliable information available so they can develop the skills to efficiently and effectively respond to disasters or public health emergencies. Meticulously researched and reviewed by the worldís foremost experts in preparedness for terrorism, natural disasters, and other unanticipated health emergencies, the text has been revised and updated with significant new content, including 10 new chapters and a digital adjunct teacher's guide with exercises and critical thinking questions. This new edition has strengthened its pediatric focus with updated and expanded chapters on caring for children's physical, mental, and behavioral health following a disaster. New chapters address climate change, global complex human emergencies, caring for patients with HIV/AIDS following a disaster, information technology and disaster response, and hospital and emergency department preparedness. The text provides a vast amount of evidence-based information on disaster planning and response for natural and environmental disasters and those caused by chemical, biological, and radiological elements, as well as disaster recovery. It also addresses leadership, management, and policy issues in disaster nursing and deepens our understanding of the importance of protecting mental health throughout the disaster life cycle. Each chapter is clearly formatted and includes Key Messages and Learning Objectives. Appendices present diagnosis and treatment regimens, creating personal disaster plans, a damage assessment guide, a glossary of terms, and more. Consistent with the Federal Disaster Response Framework, the book promotes competency-based expert nursing care during disasters and positive health outcomes for small and large populations. Key Features: Provides 10 new chapters and new content throughout the text Includes digital teacherís guide with exercises and critical thinking questions Consistent with current U.S. federal guidelines for disaster response Disseminates state-of-the-science, evidence-based information New Chapters: Management of the Pregnant Woman and Newborn During Disasters Management of Patients With HIV/AIDS During Disasters Disaster Nursing in Schools and Other Child Congregate Care Settings Global Complex Human Emergencies Climate Change and the Role of the Nurse in Policy and Practice Human Services Needs Following Disaster Events and Disaster Case Management Hospital and Emergency Department Preparedness National Nurse Preparedness: Achieving Competency-Based Expert Practice Medical Countermeasures Dispensing
Emergency Management for Healthcare: Emergency Response Planning by
This series of books focuses on highly specialized Emergency Management arrangements for healthcare facilities and organizations. It is designed to assist any healthcare executive with a body of knowledge which permits a transition into the application of emergency management planning and procedures for healthcare facilities and organizations. This series is intended for both experienced practitioners of both healthcare management and emergency management, and also for students of these two disciplines.
Evidence-Based Practice for Public Health Emergency Preparedness and Response by
When communities face complex public health emergencies, state local, tribal, and territorial public health agencies must make difficult decisions regarding how to effectively respond. The public health emergency preparedness and response (PHEPR) system, with its multifaceted mission to prevent, protect against, quickly respond to, and recover from public health emergencies, is inherently complex and encompasses policies, organizations, and programs. Since the events of September 11, 2001, the United States has invested billions of dollars and immeasurable amounts of human capital to develop and enhance public health emergency preparedness and infrastructure to respond to a wide range of public health threats, including infectious diseases, natural disasters, and chemical, biological, radiological, and nuclear events. Despite the investments in research and the growing body of empirical literature on a range of preparedness and response capabilities and functions, there has been no national-level, comprehensive review and grading of evidence for public health emergency preparedness and response practices comparable to those utilized in medicine and other public health fields. Evidence-Based Practice for Public Health Emergency Preparedness and Response reviews the state of the evidence on PHEPR practices and the improvements necessary to move the field forward and to strengthen the PHEPR system. This publication evaluates PHEPR evidence to understand the balance of benefits and harms of PHEPR practices, with a focus on four main areas of PHEPR: engagement with and training of community-based partners to improve the outcomes of at-risk populations after public health emergencies; activation of a public health emergency operations center; communication of public health alerts and guidance to technical audiences during a public health emergency; and implementation of quarantine to reduce the spread of contagious illness.
The Handbook of Next Generation Emergency Services by
This exciting new resource comprehensively describes Next Generation Emergency Services. It will enable implementers, regulators, legal and technical professionals to understand how the introduction of this new approach to delivering emergency services will impact their work. Beginning with an overview of the field and explaining what will change as the transition is made from circuit-switched to IP-based networks, the book provides guidance and detail related to the technologies that enable Next Generation services; the current state of emergency services; how to plan and execute a move to a standards-compliant NG9-1-1 service including the network design, the operations and maintenance procedures, and the legal and regulatory requirements and mandates. This Handbook explains NG9-1-1 networks: functions that they provide; the environments in which they are implemented; and the process by which they can be built and maintained. It provides a comparison to Basic 9-1-1 and E9-1-1 systems that dominate the field of emergency services today. The reader is guided through an emergency call from its inception by the Caller to the Public Safety Answering Point (PSAP) Call Taker to Dispatch to First Responders, explaining how Basic 9-1-1, E9-1-1 and NG9-1-1 support each leg of this journey. Chapters explaining the underlying networks and the service standards provide details to those who need them for their daily work or as reference.
Health and Safety in Emergency Management and Response by
This book familiarizes personnel serving as Emergency Managers, Safety Officers, Assistant Safety Officers, and in other safety-relevant Incident Command System (ICS) roles with physical and psychosocial hazards and stressors that may impact the health and safety of workers and responders in an All-Hazards Response, and ways to minimize exposure. This book provides knowledge on regulations and worker safety practices to the Safety Officer with an emergency responder background, and provides the tools for the Safety Officer with an industrial hygiene or safety professional background that help them be successful in this role. In order to work together effectively, it is important that anyone responding to an emergency be familiar with all standards and protocols.
International Disaster Nursing by
The effects of a disaster on healthcare can range from conditions that immediately besiege the system with large numbers of patients, to catastrophes that strain its long-term sustainability. Nurses, as frontline health professionals, must have an understanding of the situations they may face before, during and after a disaster and they must develop the skills and strategies to provide effective and immediate care. International Disaster Nursing is the first truly comprehensive and internationally focused resource to address the diversity of issues and myriad scenarios that nurses and other health personnel could encounter during a disaster event. This text defines the many roles of the nurse within a multidisciplinary team, and aids the implementation of the community's disaster plans in a crisis. With an alarming increase in the occurrence of disasters in the last decade, International Disaster Nursing is the hallmark text in the field.
Introduction to Emergency Management by
Introduction to Emergency Management, Seventh Edition, sets the standard for excellence in the field and has educated a generation of emergency managers. This long-trusted resource provides a broad overview of the key aspects of the emergency management profession. Readers will gain an understanding of why the emergency management profession exists, what actions its professionals and practitioners are tasked with performing, and what achievements are sought through the conduct of these various efforts. Students and new professionals alike will further gain an enhanced understanding of key terminology and concepts that enable them to work with emergency management specialists.
Oxford American Handbook of Disaster Medicine by
Disasters are difficult to manage for many reasons: the immediacy of the event, magnitude of the event, lack of evidence-based practices, and the limited usefulness of many developed protocols. Consequently, combining academic approaches with realistic and practical recommendations continues to be an underdeveloped aspect of disaster texts. The Oxford American Handbook of Disaster Medicine offers a functional blend of science with pragmatism. Approached from a real-world perspective, the handbook is a portable guide that provides sufficient scientific background to facilitate broader application and problem solving yet approach the topic in a prioritized fashion, supporting rapid understanding and utilization. Contributing authors are clinical and public health providers with disaster experience. This book encompasses the entire scope of disaster medicine from general concepts and fundamental principles to both manmade and natural threats.
Subject search terms: Disaster medicine, Disaster nursing, Emergency management, School Crisis Management. Keyword search terms: Disaster management, Emergency preparedness.