| The University will be closed in observance of Memorial Day on Monday, May 27th. |
| The University will be closed in observance of Memorial Day on Monday, May 27th. |
Addressing Structural Racism, Bias, and Health Communication As Foundational Drivers of Obesity: Proceedings of a Workshop Series by
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine's Roundtable on Obesity Solutions convened a three-part workshop series that explored how structural racism, weight bias and stigma, and health communication intersect with obesity, gaps in the evidence base, and challenges and opportunities for long-term, systems-wide strategies needed to reduce the incidence and prevalence of obesity. Through diverse examples across different levels and sectors of society, the workshops explored how to leverage the connections between these three drivers and innovative data-driven and policy approaches to inform actionable priorities for individuals, organizations, and policymakers to make lasting systems change.
The Changing Era of Diseases by
The Changing Era of Diseases not only explores how to end humanity's suffering from illness, but also attempts to explain the challenging problems that may arise from the control of future disease. It provides a novel perspective on how to understand the changing patterns of disease, disease development, and defense from an evolutionary point-of-view in an effort to ally the life sciences and historical approaches. Topics cover the origin of disease, its pandemic infectious manifestation, chronic and late chronic diseases, strategies of the human body to fight diseases, methods of ending diseases, and future medical systems are featured. The book is a valuable source for researchers interested in systematic approaches to disease and students who are interested in understanding the evolution of diseases and how we have succeeded in fighting them. Presents the concept of disease by demonstrating the transition of disease, from hunter-gatherers, to chronic diseases in the modern society Demonstrates how the concept of mechanistic causality does not allow us to properly understand chronic diseases Discusses the role that science and technology play in prolonging human life spans - and how that will lead to new healthcare challenges in the future
Communicable Disease Control and Health Protection Handbook by
The essential guide to controlling and managing today's communicable diseases The fourth edition of Communicable Disease Control and Health Protection Handbook offers public health workers of all kinds an authoritative and up-to-date guide to current protocols surrounding the identification and control of infectious diseases. With its concise, accessible design, the book is a practical tool that can be relied upon to explain topics ranging from the basic principles of communicable disease control to recent changes and innovations in health protection practice. Major syndromes and individual infections are insightfully addressed, while the authors also outline the WHO's international health regulations and the organizational arrangements in place in all EU nations. New to the fourth edition are chapters on Ebola, the Zika virus, and other emerging pandemics. In addition, new writing on healthcare-associated infection, migrant and refugee health, and the importance of preparedness make this an essential and relevant text for all those in the field. This vital resource: Reflects recent developments in the science and administration of health protection practice Covers topics such as major syndromes, control of individual infections, main services and activities, arrangements for all European countries, and much more Includes new chapters on the Zika virus, Schistosomiasis, Coronavirus including MERS + SARS, and Ebola Follows a format designed for ease of use and everyday consultation Created to provide public and environmental health practitioners, physicians, epidemiologists, infection control nurses, microbiologists and trainees with a straightforward - yet informative - resource, Communicable Disease Control and Health Protection Handbook is a practical companion for all those working the field today.
Contemporary Public Health: Principles, Practice, and Policy by
"Public health" refers to the management and prevention of disease within a population by promoting healthy behaviors and environments in an effort to create a higher standard of living. In this comprehensive volume, editors James W. Holsinger Jr. and F. Douglas Scutchfield and an esteemed group of scholars and practitioners offer a concise overview of this burgeoning field, emphasizing that the need for effective services has never been greater. Designed as a supplemental text for introductory courses in public health practice at the undergraduate and graduate levels, Contemporary Public Health provides historical background that contextualizes the current state of the field and explores the major issues practitioners face today. It addresses essential topics such as the social and ecological determinants of health and their impact on practice, marginalized populations, the role of community-oriented primary care, accreditation, and the organizational landscape of the American public health system. Finally, it examines the opioid epidemic, the impact of pandemics including COVID-19, and international public health and explores the potential of systems based on multilevel partnerships of government, academic, and nonprofit organizations. With fresh historical and methodological analyses conducted by an impressive group of distinguished authors, Contemporary Public Health is an essential resource for practitioners, health advocates, students, legislators, and informed citizens.
Current Perspectives on Viral Disease Outbreaks: Epidemiology, Detection and Control by
The COVID-19 pandemic has reminded the world that infectious diseases are still important. The last 40 years have experienced the emergence of new or resurging viral diseases such as AIDS, ebola, MERS, SARS, Zika, and others. These diseases display diverse epidemiologies ranging from sexual transmission to vector-borne transmission (or both, in the case of Zika). This book provides an overview of recent developments in the detection, monitoring, treatment, and control of several viral diseases that have caused recent epidemics or pandemics.
Epidemiology of Diabetes by
Epidemiology of Diabetes addresses the patterns, risk factors and prevention tactics for the epidemic of diabetes in the US population. Diabetes is a costly and common disease that needs serious attention and awareness. Diabetes causes devastating consequences, such as neuropathy, retinopathy, nephropathy and vasculopathy. This succinct reference focuses on current data and research on diabetes, and is essential reading for diabetes care providers, as well as health care decision-makers. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has reported that more than 100 million US adults are living with diabetes or prediabetes, hence this is a timely resource on the topic. Serves as a starting point for medical professionals who are addressing the patterns, risk factors, prevention and treatment of the epidemic of diabetes in the US population Discusses the epidemic and prevalence of diabetes in the United States, covering the disability, burden and mortality of diabetes Covers the epidemiology of nutrition and diet, addressing carbohydrates and fiber, fats, protein, alcohol and nutritional intervention
Evidence-Based Practice for Public Health Emergency Preparedness and Response by
When communities face complex public health emergencies, state local, tribal, and territorial public health agencies must make difficult decisions regarding how to effectively respond. The public health emergency preparedness and response (PHEPR) system, with its multifaceted mission to prevent, protect against, quickly respond to, and recover from public health emergencies, is inherently complex and encompasses policies, organizations, and programs. Since the events of September 11, 2001, the United States has invested billions of dollars and immeasurable amounts of human capital to develop and enhance public health emergency preparedness and infrastructure to respond to a wide range of public health threats, including infectious diseases, natural disasters, and chemical, biological, radiological, and nuclear events. Despite the investments in research and the growing body of empirical literature on a range of preparedness and response capabilities and functions, there has been no national-level, comprehensive review and grading of evidence for public health emergency preparedness and response practices comparable to those utilized in medicine and other public health fields. Evidence-Based Practice for Public Health Emergency Preparedness and Response reviews the state of the evidence on PHEPR practices and the improvements necessary to move the field forward and to strengthen the PHEPR system. This publication evaluates PHEPR evidence to understand the balance of benefits and harms of PHEPR practices, with a focus on four main areas of PHEPR: engagement with and training of community-based partners to improve the outcomes of at-risk populations after public health emergencies; activation of a public health emergency operations center; communication of public health alerts and guidance to technical audiences during a public health emergency; and implementation of quarantine to reduce the spread of contagious illness.
Exhibiting Health: Public Health Displays in the Progressive Era by
In the early twentieth century, public health reformers approached the task of ameliorating unsanitary conditions and preventing epidemic diseases with optimism. Using exhibits, they believed they could make systemic issues visual to masses of people. Embedded within these visual displays were messages about individual action. In some cases, this meant changing hygienic practices. In other situations, this meant taking up action to inform public policy. Reformers and officials hoped that exhibits would energize America's populace to invest in protecting the public's health. Exhibiting Health is an analysis of the logic of the production and the consumption of this technique for popular public health education between 1900 and 1930. It examines the power and limits of using visual displays to support public health initiatives.
Genomic Epidemiology Data Infrastructure Needs for SARS-CoV-2: Modernizing Pandemic Response Strategies by
In December 2019, new cases of severe pneumonia were first detected in Wuhan, China, and the cause was determined to be a novel beta coronavirus related to the severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS) coronavirus that emerged from a bat reservoir in 2002. Within six months, this new virus?SARS coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2)?has spread worldwide, infecting at least 10 million people with an estimated 500,000 deaths. COVID-19, the disease caused by SARS-CoV-2, was declared a public health emergency of international concern on January 30, 2020 by the World Health Organization (WHO) and a pandemic on March 11, 2020. To date, there is no approved effective treatment or vaccine for COVID-19, and it continues to spread in many countries. Genomic Epidemiology Data Infrastructure Needs for SARS-CoV-2: Modernizing Pandemic Response Strategies lays out a framework to define and describe the data needs for a system to track and correlate viral genome sequences with clinical and epidemiological data. Such a system would help ensure the integration of data on viral evolution with detection, diagnostic, and countermeasure efforts. This report also explores data collection mechanisms to ensure a representative global sample set of all relevant extant sequences and considers challenges and opportunities for coordination across existing domestic, global, and regional data sources.
Healthy Systems Interventions to Prevent Firearm Injuries and Death: Proceedings of a Workshop by
Firearm injuries and death are a serious public health concern in the United States. Firearm-related injuries account for tens of thousands of premature deaths of adults and children each year and significantly increase the burden of injury and disability. Firearm injuries are also costly to the health system, accounting for nearly $3 billion in emergency department and inpatient care each year. The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine convened a workshop to examine the roles that health systems can play in addressing the epidemic of firearm violence in the United States. This publication summarizes the presentations and discussions from the workshop.
Implementing Strategies to Enhance Public Health Surveillance of Physical Activity in the United States by
Physical activity has far-reaching benefits for physical, mental, emotional, and social health and well-being for all segments of the population. Despite these documented health benefits and previous efforts to promote physical activity in the U.S. population, most Americans do not meet current public health guidelines for physical activity. Surveillance in public health is the ongoing systematic collection, analysis, and interpretation of outcome-specific data, which can then be used for planning, implementation and evaluation of public health practice. Surveillance of physical activity is a core public health function that is necessary for monitoring population engagement in physical activity, including participation in physical activity initiatives. Surveillance activities are guided by standard protocols and are used to establish baseline data and to track implementation and evaluation of interventions, programs, and policies that aim to increase physical activity. However, physical activity is challenging to assess because it is a complex and multidimensional behavior that varies by type, intensity, setting, motives, and environmental and social influences. The lack of surveillance systems to assess both physical activity behaviors (including walking) and physical activity environments (such as the walkability of communities) is a critical gap. Implementing Strategies to Enhance Public Health Surveillance of Physical Activity in the United States develops strategies that support the implementation of recommended actions to improve national physical activity surveillance. This report also examines and builds upon existing recommended actions.
Intimate Partner Violence: Assessment, Treatment and Prevention by
Intimate partner violence (IPV) is a serious social problem affecting both men and women worldwide that can lead to a variety of negative mental and physical health effects. This book contains nine chapters that address the problem of IPV, exploring methods of preventing IPV as well as treatment for victims of IPV. Chapter One centers on the issue of blame, reviewing current research on the associations between self-blaming attributions and psychological outcomes among survivors of IPV. Chapter Two proposes a theoretical reflection on the phenomenon of domestic violence based on its understanding as a problem sustained by cultural beliefs and discourses and which can be tackled through education and the promotion of public debate, by means of institutional advertisements. Chapter Three highlights the importance of capacity building Brazilian police forces to tackle cases of IPV as well as to protect and enable victims to fully exercise their rights. Chapter Four argues that the Domestic Violence Risk instrument used by Portuguese police to assess IPV cases should be reworked, as it tends to assign a medium level of risk in cases that the scientific community would likely associate with high risk. Chapter Five discusses the relationship between IPV and academic stress. Chapter Six reviews research on factors affecting women's treatment engagement in the aftermath of IPV, including characteristics of the violence/violent relationship, types of mental health problems following IPV, and individual differences in personality and demographics. Chapter Seven deals with the coping mechanisms available to women living with HIV/AIDS in Tanzania who experience IPV. Chapter Eight details the relevance of methodological and ethical aspects of studies on violence involving children and how these requirements may affect research validity in this domain. Finally, Chapter Nine presents a study of violence against women media campaigns that use graphic imagery and how they impact fears of behaving assertively and of victimization, safety self-efficacy, and collective female self-esteem.
Lifestyle and Epidemiology: The Double Burden of Poverty and Cardiovascular Diseases in African Populations by
Lifestyle and Epidemiology - The Double Burden of Poverty and Cardiovascular Diseases in African Populations examines the profile of non-communicable diseases (NCDs) in the rural South African population. The burden of diseases in South Africa is characterized by a combination of poverty-related diseases with emerging NCDs associated with urbanization, industrialization, and a Westernised lifestyle. Chapters in this book examine the effects of poverty, COVID-19, and other social factors on the prevalence of cardiovascular disease, reproductive health, and diabetes in rural South Africa.
Managerial Epidemiology: Cases and Concepts, 4th Edition by
The COVID-19 pandemic threw the world into turmoil and exposed a cascade of vulnerabilities. One of the many lessons learned from this pandemic is that epidemiological principles must be applied to manage healthcare services and control disease in populations. Managerial Epidemiology: Cases and Concepts provides a comprehensive introduction to epidemiology and its use in healthcare management. Extensively revised, this edition demonstrates, through 64 real-world case studies and numerous examples, how the tools and principles of epidemiology can help managers make better-informed decisions. Updates include: Two new chapters on population health and confounding, bias, and effect modification; New cases focused on relevant healthcare management issues, such as health risk factors and capitation rates; A completely rewritten chapter on epidemiology and financial management; Heavily revised chapters on case-control studies, cohort studies, randomized clinical trials, infectious disease epidemiology, mortality and risk adjustment, and cost-effectiveness analysis; A sharper focus on healthcare-acquired infections; Greater emphasis on needs assessment and healthcare planning. The book's case studies are presented in three levels. In-chapter cases and answer guides form an integral component of the book's learning process. End-of-chapter cases provide additional exercises for practical application, with answers supplied at the back of the book so that students can self-quiz. In the book's final section, in-depth capstone cases offer an opportunity for reviewing and synthesizing material from specific chapters. Today more than ever, healthcare administrators must use the information provided by epidemiological methods to optimally manage interventions, treatments, and healthcare services that affect the health of populations.
Mayhall's Hospital Epidemiology and Infection Prevention by
Continuing the legacy of excellence established by Dr. C. Glen Mayhall, this thoroughly revised text covers all aspects of healthcare-associated infections and their prevention and remains the most comprehensive reference available in this complex field. It examines every type of healthcare-associated (nosocomial) infection and addresses every issue relating to surveillance, prevention, and control of these infections in patients and in healthcare personnel, providing unparalleled coverage for hospital epidemiologists and infectious disease specialists. Covers the basics of hospital epidemiology and infection prevention, types of healthcare-associated infections, details of specific pathogens (bacterial, mycobacterial, fungal, and viral), special populations, prevention of infections related to specific procedures as well as the hospital environment, antibiotic stewardship, occupational health, and emergency preparedness, among other key topics. Focuses on the evidence, science, and operational insight critical to the detection, transmission, and prevention of healthcare-associated infections (HAIs). Includes chapters centered on specific types of HAIs (CLABSI, CAUTI, SSI, for example) and specific healthcare settings and patient populations (such as burn units, neonatal ICUs, and transplant recipients). Includes two several entirely new chapters on antimicrobial stewardship. Reflects new, user-friendly features such as the placement of core basic skills like HAI surveillance, isolation practices, and outbreak investigation earlier in the book; bulleted key points at the beginning of each chapter; full reference lists in every chapter; more figures and illustrations; and updated charts and graphs throughout. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Men's Experiences of Violence in Intimate Relationships by
This open access book draws on a broad study on violence against men, from both male and female partners in Norway, to contribute to the research on intimate partner violence. It identifies similarities in men's experiences and backgrounds, including in their perceptions of their own victimisation. Marianne Inez Lien and Jørgen Lorentzen argue that the traditional gender power model should be modified and supplemented, and propose that we consider violence in terms of psychological supremacy, rather than in terms of femininity and masculinity. Men's Experiences of Violence in Intimate Relationships will appeal to students and scholars across a range of areas including criminology, sociology and family violence, and gender studies.
Modern Epidemiology by
Now in a fully revised 4th Edition, Modern Epidemiology remains the gold standard text in this complex and evolving field, offering unparalleled, comprehensive coverage of the principles and methods of epidemiologic research. Featuring a new, full-color design, updated models, and a new format allowing space for margin notes, this edition continues to provide authoritative information on the methodologic issues crucial to the wide range of epidemiologic applications in public health and medicine. Reflects both the conceptual development of this evolving science and the increasing role that epidemiology plays in both public health and medicine. Features a new full-color design, new coverage of marginal structural models, new instrumental variable analysis, updated structural nested models, and more. Covers a broad range of concepts and methods, including epidemiologic measures of occurrence and effect, study designs, validity, precision, statistical interference, field methods, and causal diagrams. Includes data analysis topics such as Bayesian analysis, sensitivity analysis, and bias analysis, with an extensive overview of modern regression methods including logistic and survival regression, splines, hierarchical (multilevel) regression, propensity scores and other scoring methods, and g-estimation. Discusses special topics such as disease surveillance, ecologic studies, social epidemiology, infectious disease epidemiology, genetic and molecular epidemiology, nutritional epidemiology, environmental epidemiology, reproductive epidemiology, clinical epidemiology, and meta-analysis. Coauthored by three leading epidemiologists, with contributions from experts in a variety of epidemiologic sub-disciplines.
Multilevel Modelling for Public Health and Health Services Research: Health in Context by
This open access book is a practical introduction to multilevel modelling or multilevel analysis (MLA) - a statistical technique being increasingly used in public health and health services research. The authors begin with a compelling argument for the importance of researchers in these fields having an understanding of MLA to be able to judge not only the growing body of research that uses it, but also to recognise the limitations of research that did not use it. The volume also guides the analysis of real-life data sets by introducing and discussing the use of the multilevel modelling software MLwiN, the statistical package that is used with the example data sets. Importantly, the book also makes the training material accessible for download - not only the datasets analysed within the book, but also a freeware version of MLwiN to allow readers to work with these datasets. The book's practical review of MLA comprises: Theoretical, conceptual, and methodological background Statistical background The modelling process and presentation of research Tutorials with example datasets Multilevel Modelling for Public Health and Health Services Research: Health in Context is a practical and timely resource for public health and health services researchers, statisticians interested in the relationships between contexts and behaviour, graduate students across these disciplines, and anyone interested in utilising multilevel modelling or multilevel analysis. "Leyland and Groenewegen's wealth of teaching experience makes this book and its accompanying tutorials especially useful for a practical introduction to multilevel analysis." ̶ Juan Merlo, Professor of Social Epidemiology, Lund University "Comprehensive and insightful. A must for anyone interested in the applications of multilevel modelling to population health". ̶ S. (Subu) V. Subramanian, Professor of Population Health and Geography, Harvard University
Opinions Throughout History: Diseases and Epidemics by
Opinions Throughout History: Diseases & Epidemics traces the history of some of the most impactful diseases in human history, such as smallpox, measles, the bubonic plague, and HIV, and looks at how these viruses and bacterial plagues affected American politics and culture. The book will also explore the rise and spread of the anti-vaccination and science skepticism movements and their relationship to American and global public health.
Population Health in America by
In this engaging and accessibly written book, Population Health in America weaves demographic data with social theory and research to help students understand health patterns and trends in the U.S. population. While life expectancy was estimated to be just 37 years in the United States in 1870, today it is more than twice as long, at over 78 years. Yet today, life expectancy in the U.S. lags behind almost all other wealthy countries. Within the U.S., there are substantial social inequalities in health and mortality: women live longer but less healthier lives than men; African Americans and Native Americans live far shorter lives than Asian Americans and White Americans; and socioeconomic inequalities in health have been widening over the past 20 years. What accounts for these population health patterns and trends? Inviting students to delve into population health trends and disparities, demographers Robert Hummer and Erin Hamilton provide an easily understandable historical and contemporary portrait of U.S. population health. Perfect for courses such as population health, medical or health sociology, social epidemiology, health disparities, demography, and others, as well as for academic researchers and lay persons interested in better understanding the overall health of the country, Population Health in America also challenges students, academics, and the public to understand current health policy priorities and to ask whether considerably different directions are needed.
Practical Epidemiology: Using Epidemiology to Support Primary Health Care by
Practical Epidemiology: Using Epidemiology to Support Primary Health Care builds on the successful Manual of Epidemiology for District Health Management, that was published by the WHO Geneva in 1989.This title focuses on the importance of using epidemiological concepts and skills by health workers in Lower and Middle Income Countries (LMICs), in particular to investigate, plan and deliver primary health care services and to strengthen district level public health programmes. It also includesillustrations and examples relevant to a hypothetical district population of 200,000 people.The book outlines the importance of the UN's Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and the World Health Organisation's principles for Universal Health Coverage (UHC) and then focuses on the role of district health systems in supporting national primary health care and the use of epidemiological anddemographic information in the planning of local and national health services and programmes. Chapters include the collection of health information, outbreaks due to communicable diseases, use of investigations and health surveys, data analysis and statistics, and importance of communicating healthfindings and policies.Using a systems approach together with epidemiological methods it demonstrates how district health planning and primary health care can be strengthened and how progress can be monitored and evaluated, including for improvements in access, quality and coverage of health services and public healthprogrammes. Ethical principles and tackling inequalities are considered throughout the book. A full chapter on the A B C of epidemiological definitions and terms is also included.This book will be particularly relevant for undergraduate and postgraduate university training courses for health professionals and for in-service short and revision courses for a wide range of health workers.
Researches and Applications of Artificial Intelligence to Mitigate Pandemics: History, Diagnostic Tools, Epidemiology, Healthcare, and Technology by
Researches and Applications of Artificial Intelligence to Mitigate Pandemics: History, Diagnostic Tools, Epidemiology, Healthcare, and Technology offers readers an interdisciplinary view of state-of-art research related to the COVID-19 outbreak, with a focus on tactics employed to model the number of cases of COVID-19 (time series modeling), models employed to diagnostics COVID-19 based on images, and the panoramic of COVID-19 since its discovery and up to this book's publication. This book showcases the algorithms and models available to manage pandemic data, the role of AI, IoT and Mathematical Modeling, how to prevent and fight COVID-19, and the existing medical, social and pharmaceutical support. Chapters cover methods and protocols, the basics and history of diseases, the fast diagnosis of disease with different automated algorithms and artificial intelligence tools and techniques, the methods of handling epidemiology for mitigating the spread of disease, artificial intelligence and mathematical modeling techniques, and how mental and physical health is affected with social media usage.
Textbook of Pediatric Infectious Diseases by
The new edition of this comprehensive book provides clinicians with the latest advances in the diagnosis and management of paediatric infectious diseases. Divided into ten chapters, the text begins with discussion on general topics relating to infectious diseases, and diagnosis and management. Each of the following chapters covers a different type of infection - systemic, bacterial, viral, protozoal, parasitic and fungal; and emerging infections. The increasing concern of resistance to treatment is discussed in depth, as are infections in immune compromised patients, guidelines and protocols, and vaccines and immunisation. The second edition of this detailed reference is highly illustrated with clinical photographs, diagrams, boxes and tables. The book concludes with appendices on intravenous fluid therapy and drug dosage. Key points Fully revised, second edition providing latest advances in paediatric infectious diseases Covers numerous common and more complicated infections Includes appendices on intravenous fluid therapy and drug dosage Previous edition (9789350903773) published in 2013
The Topography of Wellness: How Health and Disease Shaped the American Landscape by
The COVID-19 pandemic has reignited discussions of how architects, landscape designers, and urban planners can shape the environment in response to disease. This challenge is both a timely topic and one with an illuminating history. In The Topography of Wellness, Sara Jensen Carr offers a chronological narrative of how six epidemics transformed the American urban landscape, reflecting changing views of the power of design, pathology of disease, and the epidemiology of the environment. From the infectious diseases of cholera and tuberculosis, to so-called social diseases of idleness and crime, to the more complicated origins of today's chronic diseases, each illness and its associated combat strategies has left its mark on our surroundings. While each solution succeeded in eliminating the disease on some level, sweeping environmental changes often came with significant social and physical consequences. Even more unexpectedly, some adaptations inadvertently incubated future epidemics. From the Industrial Revolution to present day, this book illuminates the constant evolution of our relationship to wellness and the environment by documenting the shifting grounds of illness and the urban landscape. Preparation of this volume has been supported by Furthermore: a program of the J. M. Kaplan Fund
Underserved and Socially Disadvantaged Groups and Linkages with Health and Health Care Differentials by
The contributors to this latest volume of Research in the Sociology of Health Care investigate macro-level system issues and micro-level issues involving the socially disadvantaged and underserved. Looking specifically at the factors impacting on health and health care differentials, this book is an examination of the health and health care issues of both patients and providers of care in the United States and around the globe. Chapters focus on linkages to policy, population concerns and patients and providers of care as ways to meet health care needs.
Subject search terms: Chronic diseases, Communicable diseases, Epidemiology, Intimate partner violence, Medically underserved areas, Population—health aspects, Public health—Research, Public health—United States, Violent crimes. Keyword search term: Domestic violence, Infectious diseases, “Societal violence”.