| Library status: currently open during regularly scheduled hours. |
| Library status: currently open during regularly scheduled hours. |
A Comprehensive Overview of Irritable Bowel Syndrome: Clinical and Basic Science Aspects by
A Comprehensive Overview of Irritable Bowel Syndrome: Clinical and Basic Science Aspects presents up-to-date knowledge in the field and provides a comprehensive summary of this area of study, including an overview on IBS, starting from its pathogenesis, including genetic, microbial and physiological background, through symptom recognition, diagnosis and IBS treatment, both non-pharmacological and pharmacological.
Constipation : Current and Emerging Treatments by
Chronic constipation is a major global health problem affecting millions of people, particularly in the developed world. This book includes sixteen chapters from international experts that bring together all the information that physicians need to provide current best practice in management, as well as highlighting the exciting new areas of research in drugs and neuromodulation that have the potential to significantly improve treatment of chronic constipation.
Cyclic Vomiting Syndrome and Cannabinoid Hyperemesis by
Cyclic Vomiting Syndrome and Cannabinoid Hyperemesis comprehensively reviews the clinical features and pathophysiology of cyclic vomiting syndrome (CVS) and cannabinoid hyperemesis syndrome (CHS). This book differentiates the clinical presentation of CVS and CHS from other vomiting syndromes and provides the information necessary to diagnose and effectively treat these disorders. Compiled by expert CVS/CHS clinicians and written by physicians and researchers from several disciplines, this reference provides the most updated, evidence-based approaches, and summarizes the latest research on CVS/CHS. Important topics such as the neural systems that drive nausea and vomiting, clinical features of CVS/CHS including its subtypes, insights into pathogenesis, as well as the curious association of hot-water bathing associated with both of these disorders are all explored. This is a must-have reference for residents and fellows in training, as well as busy clinicians who care for patients with CVS and CHS across multiple care settings including ambulatory clinics, the emergency department, hospitals, and substance use/abuse treatment centers. It is also a useful reference for investigators with an interest in these vomiting disorders.
Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease (GERD) by
Gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD) is a common disorder affecting approximately more than 10% of the population. GERD is highly heterogeneous in terms of varied manifestations, test findings and treatment responsiveness. The invasive treatment options for GERD have now greatly expanded from just the Nissen Fundoplication to various other options such as other minimally invasive options like the Lower Esophageal augmentation with a magnetic device, and multiple endoscopic options like Radiofrequency ablation, Trans-oral incisionless fundoplication (TIF) etc. Treatment options require an understanding of the patho-physiology of GERD, which is discussed in chapter one of this book. Chapter two studies the clinical practices for extra-esophageal reflux and explores the outcomes. Chapter three reviews extraesophageal reflux and sleep microarchitecture disturbance and excessive daytime sleepiness. Chapter four discusses osteopathic manipulative therapy. The final chapter provides updated research on the surgical treatment options for GERD and their long-term outcomes.
Management of Chemotherapy-Induced Nausea and Vomiting: New Agents and New Uses of Current Agents by
This book provides a comprehensive review of new agents, a detailed description of new uses of current agents, and an integration of the available agents in clinical practice. A description of a detailed clinical approach provides clinical practitioners with the most up-to-date recommendations for the prevention and treatment of chemotherapy-induced nausea and vomiting (CINV) in various clinical settings. CINV is one of the most feared treatment related toxicities. Patient surveys for the past thirty years consistently demonstrate patients' perception of deterioration in quality of life due to chemotherapy treatments. The introduction of the antiemetics, serotonin 5-HT3 receptor antagonists and the neurokinin-1 receptor antagonists, have improved the control of chemotherapy-induced emesis, but the treatment of chemotherapy-induced nausea remains a significant clinical problem. Patients continue to have quality of life issues which prevent normal functioning during active treatment. New agents such as the second generation 5-HT3 receptor antagonist palonosetron and the new neuroknin-1 receptor antagonists rolapitant and netupitant are being introduced into clinical practice, and it is anticipated that these new agents will improve the control of CINV. Agents such as olanzapine (a FDA approved anti-psychotic), gabapentin (a FDA approved neuroleptic), and ginger (a food additive), which have been used primarily for other indications, are now being tested as potential, effective antiemetics. This work represents the first available comprehensive summary that details all new antiemetic agents and, particularly, their clinical role in treating patients; an important reference for practitioners seeking to improve the quality of life of patients undergoing chemotherapy.
Nausea and Vomiting by
This volume provides a comprehensive and state-of-the-art text for health care professionals who are interested in the diagnosis and treatment of nausea and vomiting. Because the majority of causes of nausea and vomiting arise from disorders of the gastrointestinal system, the text emphasizes the GI system by organ from esophagus to colon. It also reviews how disorders of the abdominal wall, the endocrine system, and autonomic and central nervous systems can contribute to nausea and vomiting syndromes that can be difficult to diagnose. Various treatment modalities are presented and organized in terms of drug treatments, electrical stimulation devices, and dietary therapy and nutritional support. Furthermore, the book is enhanced by chapters on the pathophysiology of nausea, the pathophysiology of vomiting, the physiological changes in the brain during nausea and vomiting, and the psychological underpinnings of nausea and vomiting. And because many children are afflicted with unexplained nausea and vomiting, a chapter devoted to pediatric patients is also included. Written by authorities in the field, Nausea and Vomiting: Diagnosis and Treatment is a valuable resource that will help practitioners and healthcare providers consider specific diagnoses in treating the noxious and burdensome symptoms of nausea and vomiting.
Peptic Ulcer Disease: What's New? by
Peptic ulcer disease is one of the most common chronic infections in the world. Despite centuries of study, it remains a major digestive disease that affects a lot of people. This book is an update on the latest development in this field. It includes five chapters contributed by scholars from different parts of the world. It discusses the causes, epidemiology, pathophysiology, clinical care, and treatment options for the disease.
Perspective of Recent Advances in Acute Diarrhea by
Acute diarrheal diseases (ADD) are important causes of morbidity and mortality worldwide. ADD includes, among others, cholera, shigellosis, and rotavirus diarrhea. These diseases are known to cause sporadic epidemics. Cholera and shigellosis are known to even cause pandemics. The treatments of these two diseases have been simplified with the advent of oral rehydration therapy and effective antibiotics. However, development of drug resistance poses tremendous therapeutic challenges. This book includes chapters on new methods of classification of dehydration and this information will provide a better classification method of dehydration. Epilepsy and its association with acute diarrhea is a new area for research. Prevention of acute diarrhea in school children and treatment with herbal medicines are important areas to pursue further. The readers will find herein new concepts in diarrheal disease research and management.
Subject search terms: Gastroesophageal reflux, Irritable colon, Peptic ulcer, Vomiting.
Keyword search terms: Irritable bowel syndrome, Acid reflux.