| Library status: currently open during regularly scheduled hours. |
| Library status: currently open during regularly scheduled hours. |
A Companion to American Poetry by
A COMPANION TO AMERICAN POETRY A Companion to American Poetry brings together original essays by both established scholars and emerging critical voices to explore the latest topics and debates in American poetry and its study. Highlighting the diverse nature of poetic practice and scholarship, this comprehensive volume addresses a broad range of individual poets, movements, genres, and concepts from the seventeenth century to the present day. Organized thematically, the Companion's thirty-seven chapters address a variety of emerging trends in American poetry, providing historical context and new perspectives on topics such as poetics and identity, poetry and the arts, early and late experimentalisms, poetry and the transcendent, transnational poetics, poetry of engagement, poetry in cinema and popular music, Queer and Trans poetics, poetry and politics in the 21st century, and African American, Asian American, Latinx, and Indigenous poetries. Both a nuanced survey of American poetry and a catalyst for future scholarship, A Companion to American Poetry is essential reading for advanced undergraduate and graduate students, academic researchers and scholars, and general readers with interest in current trends in American poetry.
Latin American Literature at the Millennium: Local Lives, Global Spaces by
Latin American Literature at the Millennium: Local Lives, Global Spaces analyzes literary constructions of locality from the early 1990s to the mid 2010s. In this astute study, Raynor reads work by Roberto Bolaño, Valeria Luiselli, Luiz Ruffato, Bernardo Carvalho, João Gilberto Noll, and Wilson Bueno to reveal representations of the human experience that unsettle conventionally understood links between locality and geographical place. The book raises vital considerations for understanding the region's transition into the twenty-first century, and for evaluating Latin American authors' representations of everyday place and modes of belonging.
Shadow Archives: The Lifecycles of African American Literature by
Recasting the history of African American literature, Shadow Archives brings to life a slew of newly discovered texts--including Claude McKay's Amiable with Big Teeth--to tell the stories of black special collections and their struggle for institutional recognition. Jean-Christophe Cloutier offers revelatory readings of major African American writers, including McKay, Richard Wright, Ann Petry, and Ralph Ellison, and provides a nuanced view of how archival methodology, access, and the power dynamics of acquisitions shape literary history. Shadow Archives argues that the notion of the archive is crucial to our understanding of postwar African American literary history. Cloutier combines his own experiences as a researcher and archivist with a theoretically rich account of the archive to offer a pioneering study of the importance of African American authors' archival practices and how these shaped their writing. Given the lack of institutions dedicated to the black experience, the novel became an alternative site of historical preservation, a means to ensure both individual legacy and group survival. Such archivism manifests in the work of these authors through evolving lifecycles where documents undergo repurposing, revision, insertion, falsification, transformation, and fictionalization, sometimes across decades. An innovative interdisciplinary consideration of literary papers, Shadow Archives proposes new ways for literary scholars to engage with the archive.
Welcome to the Guide to research resources for English.
I hope that you will find this guide a useful starting place for your research in English language and literature. I have assembled a core collection of resources available through the Lawrence Tech University Library, as well as high quality, freely available web resources.
Adrienne Aluzzo
Do you need help writing a paper?
The Writing Center at the Academic Achievement Center can help.
"The AAC Writing Center helps Lawrence Tech undergraduate and graduate students become better writers. Writers at any stage in the writing process can work one-on-one with peer and faculty tutors in a welcoming environment. Whether brainstorming, drafting, revisin, or editing, students will receive support and input that will help them become more confident and effective writers."
