Skip to Main Content
Gustave Caillebotte, "Paris Street, Rainy Day" 1877
Local Art Museums on the Web
International Art Museums
Web Digital Image Collections
-
Art Cyclopedia
"Artcyclopedia is a form of Internet search engine. The main mode of searching within the site, and the main way that web surfers find their way to us, is a search on an artist's name," Artcyclopedia website.
-
Art Images for College Teaching
Art Images for College Teaching, a Free Use Educational Resource.
-
Art Institute of Chicago
Students, educators, and just regular art lovers might be interested to learn that we’ve released thousands of images in the public domain on the new website in an open-access format (52,438 to be exact, and growing regularly). Made available under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license, these images can be downloaded for free on the artwork pages.
-
Europeana
"Europeana enables people to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. It promotes discovery and networking opportunities in a multilingual space where users can engage, share in and be inspired by the rich diversity of Europe's cultural and scientific heritage. Ideas and inspiration can be found within the more than 15 million items on Europeana," Europeana website.
-
Google Art Project
The Art Project is a collaboration between Google and 151 acclaimed art partners from across 40 countries. Using a combination of various Google technologies and expert information provided by our museum partners, we have created a unique online art experience. Users can explore a wide range of artworks at brushstroke level detail, take a virtual tour of a museum and even build their own collections to share.
-
Library of Congress - Digital Collections
Access online collections: view maps & photographs; read letters, diaries & newspapers; hear personal accounts of events; listen to sound recordings & watch historic films.
-
Luna Commons
A source for finding educational content from digital collections built in the Insight software from Luna Imaging.
-
Met Museum
The Met has unveiled an immersive collection of free artworks that anyone can use however they wish.
-
NYPL Digital Collections
Explore 708,500 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections.
-
Perseus Digital Library
"Our flagship collection, under development since 1987, covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. We are applying what we have learned from Classics to other subjects within the humanities and beyond," Perseus website.
