George Arents Collection, The New York Public Library. "Krishna and Radha." The New York Public Library Digital Collections. http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47e4-4836-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99
The Bhagavad-Gita: Krishna's Counsel in Time of War by
The Bhagavad-Gita has been an essential text of Hindu culture in India since the time of its composition in the first century A.D. One of the great classics of world literature, it has inspired such diverse thinkers as Henry David Thoreau, Mahatma Gandhi, and T.S. Eliot; most recently, it formed the core of Peter Brook's celebrated production of the Mahabharata.
Bhagavadgita by
This work enables scholars to analyze more deeply the meanings of these foundational verses of ancient Hindu wisdom. The text allows readers not only to utilize the author's adept translation and interpretation, but affords them the tools necessary to form independent conclusions.
The Bhagavad Gita by
For years, this edition of the Bhagavad Gita has allowed all those with a lively interest in this spiritual classic to come into direct contact with the richness and resonance of the original text. Winthop Sargeant s interlinear edition provides a word-for-word English translation along with the devanagari characters and the transliterated Sanskrit. Detailed grammatical commentary and page-by-page vocabularies are included, and the complete translation each section in recapped in English at the bottom of each page, allowing readers to turn the pages and appreciate the work in Sargeant s translation as well. Discussions of the language and setting of the Gita are provided and, in this new edition, editor Christopher Key Chapple provides guidance on how to get the most out of this interlinear edition. Long a favorite of spiritual seekers and scholars, teachers and students, and lovers of world literature, Sargeant s edition endures as a great resource for twenty-first century readers.
Bhagavad Gita by
Sacred Hindu scripture is freshly presented in adventurous, contemporary English poetry, capturing the wildness of the original Sanskrit language that has been lost in generations of listless prose translations. Long considered among the most important texts in the history of literature and philosophy, the 700 verses here capture the dialogue between Krishna, revered by Hindus as a manifestation of God, and the character of Arjuna on the battlefield before the start of the Kurukshetra War. Explaining not only the duties of a warrior but also elaborating upon different Yogic and Vedantic philosophies through examples and analogies, this major ancient Indian epic has often been described as a concise introduction to Hindu theology and a practical, self-contained guide to life.
The Bhagavad Gita by
In the Bhagavad Gita, Prince Arjuna asks direct, uncompromising questions of his spiritual guide on the eve of a great battle. In this expanded edition of the most famous and popular; of Indian scriptures, Eknath Easwaran contextualizes the book culturally and historically and explains the key concepts of Hindu religious thought and the technical vocabulary of yoga. Chapter introductions, notes, and a glossary help readers understand the book's message. Most importantly, this translation uses simple, clear language to impart the poetry, universality, and timelessness of the Gita's teachings.
Bhagavad Gita by
The Bhagavad Gita, one of the most sacred and venerated Hindu texts, is a series of conversations between the Lord Krishna -- the divine one -- and the warrior prince Arjuna in the prelude to the Kurukshetra war. Consisting of seven hundred stanzas and dealing with parables, and analogies covering the Yogic and Vedantic philosophies, it is thought by many to be the Hindu guidebook to life. The Bhagavad Gita is one installment in the Indian Epic the Mahabharata.
The Bhagavad Gita by
'Know this- that with which all this world is woven is not to be destroyed. No one is able to effect the destruction of the imperishable'The Bhagavad Gitais an early epic poem that recounts the conversation between Arjuna the warrior and his charioteer Krishna, the manifestation of God. In the moments before a great battle, the dialogue sets out the important lessons Arjuna must learn to change the outcome of the war he is to fight, and culminates in Krishna revealing to the warrior his true cosmic form, counselling him to search for the universal perfection of life. Ranging from instructions on yoga postures to dense moral discussion, the Gitais one of the most important Hindu texts, as well as serving as a practical guide to living well. Laurie patton's accessible and elegant new translation reflects The Bhagavad Gita's status as both an aesthetic and a social document, and her introduction examines the structure of the poem and the various commentaries on it through the ages. This edition also includes suggested further reading and a glossary of terms.
Bhagavad Gita by
The Bhagavad Gita is the most famous episode from the great Sanskrit epic, the Mahabharata. The poem has inspired a wide variety of interpretations, both within India and beyond, and it is the best known and most widely read Hindu religious text in the Western world.This new translation is ideal for the non-specialist as well as for students of Indian religions. The introduction and notes provide a full historical and cultural context, as well as information on the pronunciation of Sanskrit names.
The Bhagavadgita: Doctrines and Contexts by
The Bhagavadgita is one of the most renowned texts of Hinduism because it contains discussions of important issues such as liberation and the nature of action as well as the revelation of the Krishna as the highest god and creator of the universe. It is included in the ancient Indian Mahabharata epic at one of its most dramatic moments, that is, when the final battle is about to begin. In contrast to many other studies, this book deals with the relationship between the Bhagavadgita and its epic contexts. On the basis of a thorough analysis of the text Angelika Malinar argues that its theology delineates not only new philosophical concepts and religious practices but also addresses the problem of righteous kingship and appropriate use of power. Malinar concludes by considering the Bhagavadgita's historical and cultural contexts and those features of the text that became paradigmatic in later Hindu religious traditions.
Bhagavadgita: Exegetical and Comparative Commentary with Sanskrit Text, Translation, Interlinear Transliteration with Parsing Mini-Lexicon and Text-Critical Notes. Volume IV, chapters 10-12 by
This work enables scholars to analyze more deeply the meanings of these foundational verses of ancient Hindu wisdom. The text allows readers not only to utilize the author's adept translation and interpretation, but affords them the tools necessary to form independent conclusions.
Bhagavad Gita for Modern Times by
In this new translation and commentary on the ancient Sanskrit text, Swami Tirtha offers a completely fresh and accessible interpretation, making it easy to apply its teachings to daily life. The timeless wisdom of the Gita is illuminated by modern-day, real-world instances examining personal spiritual goals, and family, career, social, and environmental issues germane to today's seeker of wisdom and truth. Students of Eastern philosophy, yoga enthusiasts, parents, and entrepreneurs looking beyond The Art of War for inspiration will appreciate the techniques for relieving stress, discovering peace, creating self-worth, and enhancing spiritual awareness. Each page demonstrates how ancient and universal spiritual patterns can help answer common life questions and provide meaningful purpose and direction. A guide for living in a world that is often blind to what is most relevant--spirit--this explication of one of the cornerstones of spirituality will have universal, enduring appeal.
Destiny and Human Initiative in the Mahabharata by
Considers the questions of free will in the great India epic, the Mahabharata.
The End of Sorrow by
India's timeless and practical scripture presented as a manual for everyday use. This is the first of three volumes and contains preface, introduction, chapters 1-6 of The Bhagavad Gita with commentary, followed by a glossary to Sanskrit terms.
Essence of the Bhagavad Gita by
The Bhagavad Gita opens with a crisis; Prince Arjuna despairs on the battlefield, unsure if he should fight his kinsmen in a dreadful war. For Easwaran, the Gita's epic battle represents the war in our own hearts and Arjuna's anguish reflects the human condition: torn between opposing forces, confused about how to live. Sri Krishna's timeless guidance, Easwaran argues, can shed light on our dilemmas today. Placing the Gita's teachings in a modern context, Easwaran explores the nature of reality, the illusion of separateness, the search for identity, the meaning of yoga, and how to heal the unconscious. The key message of the Gita is how to resolve our conflicts and live in harmony with the deep unity of life, through the practice of meditation and spiritual disciplines. Sri Krishna doesn't tell Arjuna what to do. He points out the prince's choices, and then leaves it to Arjuna to decide. Easwaran shows us clearly how these teachings still apply and how, like Arjuna, we must take courage and act wisely if we want our world to thrive.
Interpretations of the Bhagavad-Gita and Images of the Hindu Tradition: The Song of the Lord by
The Bhagavad-Gita is probably the most popular - and certainly the most frequently quoted and widely studied - work of the Hindu scriptures. This book investigates the relationship between the various interpretations of the Bhagavad-Gita and the Hindu tradition. Taking into account a range of influential Indian and western thinkers to illustrate trends in writing about the Bhagavad-Gita including Western academic; Indian activist; Christian theological; Hindu universalist; perennialist mystical and contemporary experiental accounts. Examining the ideas of such influential figures as F Max Muller, M K Ghandi, Bede Griffiths, Swami Vivekananda, Aldous Huxley and Swami Bhakivedanta, this book demonstrates the inextricable link between different interpretations of the Bhagavad-Gita and images of the Hindu tradition. This accessible book aptly demonstrates the relevance of the Bhagavad-Gita for an understanding of Hinduism as a modern phenomenon.
Jnaneshvari: Bhāvārthadipikā by
Jnaneshvari is a commentary on The Bhagavad Gita completed in 1290 AD by the poet-saint Jnaneshvar. It is a title in the Indian translation series of the United National Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).
The King and the Clown in South Indian Myth and Poetry by
The author discusses the tragi-comic aspect of Chola kingship in relation to other Indian expressions of comedy, such as the Vidiisaka of Sanskrit drama, folk tales of the jester Tenali Rama, and clowns of the South Indian shadow-puppet theaters. The symbolism of the king emerges as part of a wider range of major symbolic figures--Brahmins, courtesans, and the tragic" bandits and warrior-heroes. Originally published in 1986. The Princeton Legacy Library uses the latest print-on-demand technology to again make available previously out-of-print books from the distinguished backlist of Princeton University Press. These editions preserve the original texts of these important books while presenting them in durable paperback and hardcover editions. The goal of the Princeton Legacy Library is to vastly increase access to the rich scholarly heritage found in the thousands of books published by Princeton University Press since its founding in 1905.
The Living Gita by
The Bhagavad Gita tells the story of how Arjuna, the great warrior, is seated in his chariot about to engage in battle, when he sees his own kinsmen and his revered teacher arrayed in battle against him, and feels that he cannot fight. It is then that Krishna, the Cosmic Lord, comes to counsel him. Arjuna represents the human soul seated in the chariot of the body and Krishna is the inner Spirit, the God within, who is there to counsel him. Today we see humanity divided against itself and threatened with nuclear war and mutual destruction. No political means are adequate to deal with this problem, and many are driven to despair. It is then that the message of the Gita comes to teach us that it is only when we rise above human schemes and calculations and awake to the presence of the indwelling Spirit that we can hope to find the answer to our need.
Pocket Bhagavad Gita by
The Bhagavad Gita contains a vision that is not Hindu or oriental but essentially human. It's no wonder that Emerson and Thoreau and Ghandi loved this text and were so deeply influenced by it. Now the widely acclaimed Sargeant translation of "The Song of God" is available in this pocket edition (3" x 4 1/2").
Political Thought in Action: The Bhagavad Gita and Modern India by
The Bhagavad Gita's philosophical and political significance remains forever contemporary. In this volume a group of leading historians reflect on the significance of the Bhagavad Gita for political and ethical thinking in modern India and beyond. These essays contribute new perspectives to historical, contemporary and global political ideas. Violence and nonviolence, war, sacrifice, justice, fraternity and political community were constitutive of India's political modernity, and it was to these questions that Indian public figures turned their attention in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Oriented towards the future, these commentaries and interpretations of a text that locates war as the central problem of human life have detached the Gita from antiquity and made it foundational for India's modernity. The book would be of interest to academic researchers as well as general readers interested in South Asian history, Indian philosophy and religion.
The Ritual of Battle: Krishna in the Mahābhārata by
This book is a study of India's great epic, the Mahabharata, against the background of Indo-European myth, epic, and ritual. It builds upon the pioneering studies in these areas by Georges Dumezil and Stig Wikander to work toward the goal of understanding how this epic's Indo-European heritage is interpreted and reshaped within the setting of bhakti or devotional Hinduism. The book begins with a comparative typology of traditional classical epics, arguing that epic is a distinctive mythical genre, and that the Mahabharata in particular should be studied as part of an Indo-European epic and (and not just mythical) continuum. The reshaping of Indo-European themes is then examined in relation to the Mahabharata's central mystery: the figure of Krishna, hero and ally of the Panbrothers in their struggles against their cousins, the Kauravas, and incarnation of Vis. The study argues that Krishna figures in the epic at the center of a coherent theological ensemble that builds upon continuities in Indo-European, Vedic, and particularly Brahmanic sacrificial idioms. Ultimately, Krishna guides the forces of dharma or righteousness through a great "sacrifice of battle" whose eschatological background recalls Indo-European and Vedic themes, while projecting them into the Hindu bhakti cosmology of universal dissolutions, recreations, and divine grace. The study vigorously opposes attempts to "explain" Krishna by arbitrary theories of the Mahabharata's growth through interpolations.
The Sanskrit Hero by
The Mah habh rata, a vital Indic epic and a flourishing influence on Indian culture past and present, has surprisingly enough hardly got much attention from scholars in the West. This latest volume in Brill s Indological Library convincingly fills this hiatus.At that, at the hand of the hero Karna, Kevin McGrath develops a view on the nature and function of the hero in epic Indic poetry. Making use of models taken from Indo-European and preliterate studies, a model emerges for heroic religion , having to a large extent shaped not only the Indic epics, but also cognate Indo-European epics, such as Homer s Iliad.As a result this work goes beyond Indology, but is of importance to classicists and comparative religionists as well.
Shri Bhagavad Gita by
This lay-flat, pocket-sized paperback (3 1/2 x 6 inches), includes Sargeant's translation, the transliterated Sanskrit, and the Devanagari script.
