Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Medline is one of the key databases, and it is available in two ways:
TechCat includes both Medline and PubMed Central, and also offers citations from 70 different databases with direct linking to full text provided from many more resources.
PubMeds the searchable version of Medline and includes PubMed Central, which is made up of selected full text. PubMed has some additional search types and limiters to provide more in-depth searching.
IEEE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete journals, proceedings and standards from IEEE
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
Many abstracts and links to full-text, but also who is citing who
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Can search directly or through TechCat. Along with peer-reviewed journals many ebooks are also included, all having full-text. A few items are before 1995, and the library can acquire those for you.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Well-known nursing database, it has many articles of interest with selected full-text. Use the article linker on each citation to find full-text that LTU owns.
Medline Plus This link opens in a new window
Practical articles on medical and health topics, with full text.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Cochrane is for anyone interested in using high-quality information to make health decisions. Whether you are a doctor or nurse, patient or carer, researcher or funder, Cochrane evidence provides a powerful tool to enhance your healthcare knowledge and decision making.
Manual of Style by
Call Number: Reserve Desk R119 .A533 1998
Publication Date: 1997-11-01
This edition covers all aspects of manuscript preparation, ethical and legal considerations, editorial assessment and processing, style and format, abbreviations, nomenclature, measurement and quantitation, copyediting, and more. A glossary of publishing terms is included, along with an extensive section devoted to writing/publisher-related resources. The guide also features a chapter on statistics with a section on design.
Health Professionals Style Manual by
"This [book] is a guide to improving writing, with a major focus on demonstrating proper English grammar and compositionÖ.This is a must have reference to be kept at the writer's side." Score:100, 5 stars --Doody's Now you can learn and apply the basic principles of writing style, composition, grammar, word usage, and misusage, to the field of health care. With the Health Professionals Style Manual you will learn to improve your message and communicate more effectively. With up-to-date resources and references, these are just some of the rules and tools you will learn to use in your own writing: Style and Substance Art of Effective Writing Tips and Pitfalls Redundancies, Euphemisms, and Cliches Computers and the Internet Common Abbreviations and Acronyms Commonly Misspelled Words Using Prefixes and Suffixes Common Proofreader's Marks Electronic Resources If you're a researcher, student or professional specializing in the health related professions, this new, handy guide will help you improve your writing style and hone your grammar and word usage skills.
Call Number: online eBook
Publication Date: 2007-01-01