The Great Masters of the Italian Renaissance
The Medici: Godfathers of the Renaissance by 
Andrea Palladio, 1508-1580 : Architect between the Renaissance and Baroque by 
Andrea Palladio: The Architect in His Time by
"More than any other architect in history, Andrea Palladio transformed the built landscape of the Western world. Elegant and powerful, his buildings won him acclaim in his lifetime and enduring fame in the four centuries since his death in 1589. His profound influence has crossed boundaries of both space and time; indeed, there are few major cities in the world without buildings that echo the crisp lines and impeccable design of his villas, palaces, and churches, and even the post-modernism of recent years can be seen as a reworking of themes first explored by Palladio." "Though the great Renaissance architect's buildings have often been photographed and numerous specialized monographs have been written about his career, never before have his life and times been brought together in such a lively and comprehensive narrative as this volume. Richly illustrated with newly-commissioned photography as well as period plans and drawings, this book traces Palladio's rise from apprentice stonemason to a young intellectual engaged in a vivid debate about the importance of buildings in civic life. The book follows him through his first private residential commissions and the triumph of his Basilica in Vicenza, from the grand churches of San Giorgio Maggiore and the Redentore in Venice to the publication of his seminal Quattro Libri, or Four Books On Architecture, and culminates in the peerless villas that are associated with his name: the imposing Malcontenta and the aristocratic Rotonda. While the buildings are discussed in terms of their importance in art history, Palladio's remarkable career is also defined against the backdrop of the dramatic events and personalities of the age." "Studying the past with an archaeologist's zeal, Palladio created an extraordinary series of buildings that deftly adapted the language of classical architecture to the requirements of sixteenth-century life. This handsome volume about Andrea Palladio, who has been revered and imitated for four hundred years, is indispensable not only for architects but for anyone with an interest in history and art."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
The Architecture of Michelangelo by
In this widely acclaimed work, James Ackerman considers in detail the buildings designed by Michelangelo in Florence and Rome—including the Medici Chapel, the Farnese Palace, the Basilica of St. Peter, and the Capitoline Hill. He then turns to an examination of the artist's architectural drawings, theory, and practice. As Ackerman points out, Michelangelo worked on many projects started or completed by other architects. Consequently this study provides insights into the achievements of the whole profession during the sixteenth century. The text is supplemented with 140 black-and-white illustrations and is followed by a scholarly catalog of Michelangelo's buildings that discusses chronology, authorship, and condition. For this second edition, Ackerman has made extensive revisions in the catalog to encompass new material that has been published on the subject since 1970.
Arcimboldo by
If, as the famous saying goes, you really are what you eat, then Giuseppe Arcimboldo (1527-1593) was a consummate painter of the human soul. This artist was a master draftsman whose finely wrought canvases captured the imagination of his generation. In this fascinating book, Liana De Girolami Cheney takes a closer look at the critical history of Arcimboldo's work, from his initial popularity and the tragic obscurity that followed his death, to the ventual triumphant revival of his work and vision by Surrealist admirers of the 1920s.
Art and Life in Renaissance Venice by 
The Autobiography of Benvenuto Cellini by
Benvenuto Cellini is an artist-craftsman, one of the greatest sculptors in the renaissance, passionately devoted to art, the worshipper and frequenter of the great men of his time, the 'divine' Michelangelo, who came to his studio, the 'marvellous' Titian (the adjectives are Cellini's ). He loathed the sculptor Torregiano because he had broken Michelangelo's nose.His autobiography gives a quite extraordinarily vivid account of daily life in Renaissance Florence and Rome, its studios, its taverns, its violence, his loves, the kings, cardinals and popes who commission his works. At 27 he helps direct the defence of the castello San Angelo; his account of his imprisonment there under a mad castellan (who thought he was a bat), his escape by an improvised rope, his recapture, his confinement in 'a cell of tarantulas and venomous worms' is a chapter of adventure equal to any in fact or fiction. Later he describes burning all his furniture to achieve sufficient heat to cast of one of his most famous works, Perseus and the Head of Medusa.Cellini's Life was translated by Goethe into German. The Everyman translation by Anne Macdonell (1903) is widely recognised as the most faithful to the energy and spirit of the original.
Between Renaissance and Baroque by
Bailey provides us with a new understanding of the stylistic and iconographic strands which shortly afterward were woven together to form the Baroque.
A Documentary History of Art by
In this unique collection of notebooks, letters, treatises, and contracts dealing with the art of the Middle Ages and Renaissance, the reader is given an extraordinary insight into the personalities and conditions of the times.
The Drawings of Michelangelo and His Followers in the Ashmolean Museum by
This volume comprises the fullest and most detailed catalogue of the drawings by and after Michelangelo in the Ashmolean Museum. It is one of the most important collections of drawings by this artist, which also includes drawings after his own by contemporaries that shed light on lost works as well as the artist's reputation and influence during the sixteenth century. The introduction provides a history of Michelangelo's drawings generally and also surveys the various types of drawing practised by Michelangelo and an account of his development as a draughtsman. Most of the drawings in the Ashmolean Museum came from the collection of Sir Thomas Lawrence, and this book contains a detailed appendix that traces the histories of all of the drawings by or after Michelangelo that Lawrence owned, both before he acquired them and after they were dispersed.
Four Books of Architecture by
Exemplary reprint of 16th-century classic. Covers classical architectural remains, Renaissance revivals, classical orders, more. 1738 Ware English edition. 216 plates. ". . . a new and splendid edition of what has probably been the most influential book published in the history of architecture since its first appearance in 1570." -- Art in America.
Giambologna: Narrator of the Catholic Reformation by
Arguably the pre-eminent European sculptor of his age, but historically considered little more than the facile court sculptor to the grand dukes of Florence, Giambologna played a major role in the artistic transformations of the late sixteenth century. Mary Weitzel Gibbons seeks to broaden our hitherto limited view of Giambologna's work by considering his neglected Genoese masterpiece, the Grimaldi Chapel. Although the chapel itself was destroyed during the Napoleonic period, its dazzling bronzes of Virtues and angel-putti and a Passion cycle in relief have survived. The fine detail and rich color of the bronzes are featured in color plates and black-and-white images photographed especially for this book. Gibbons reassesses Giambologna's work, clearly defining his relation to the narrative tradition and his role as an artist of the Catholic Reformation. Her new insights into the artist's work will appeal to all those intrigued by this turbulent era in Western European history.
Learning from Leonardo: Decoding the Notebooks of a Genius by
Leonardo da Vinci was a brilliant artist, scientist, engineer, mathematician, architect, inventor, and even musician--the archetypal Renaissance man. But he was also a profoundly modern man. Not only did Leonardo invent the empirical scientific method over a century before Galileo and Francis Bacon, but Capra's decade-long study of Leonardo's fabled notebooks reveals that he was a systems thinker centuries before the term was coined. At the very core of Leonardo's science, Capra argues, lies his persistent quest for understanding the nature of life. His science is a science of living forms, of qualities and patterns, radically different from the mechanistic science that emerged 200 years later. Because he saw the world as an integrated whole, Leonardo always applied concepts from one area to illuminate problems in another. His studies of the movement of water informed his ideas about how landscapes are shaped, how sap rises in plants, how air moves over a bird's wing, and how blood flows in the human body. His observations of nature enhanced his art, his drawings were integral to his scientific studies, and he brought art, science, and technology together in his beautiful and elegant mechanical and architectural designs. Capra describes seven defining characteristics of Leonardo da Vinci's genius and includes a list of over forty discoveries he made that weren't rediscovered until centuries later. Capra follows the organizational scheme Leonardo himself intended to use if he ever published his notebooks. So in a sense, this is Leonardo's science as he himself would have presented it. Obviously, we can't all be geniuses on the scale of Leonardo da Vinci. But his persistent endeavor to put life at the very center of his art, science, and design and his recognition that all natural phenomena are fundamentally interconnected and interdependent are important lessons we can learn from. By exploring the mind of the preeminent Renaissance genius, we can gain profound insights into how to address the complex challenges of the 21st century.
Leonardo by
This fascinating exploration of Leonardo da Vinci's life and work identifies what it was that made him so unique, and explains the phenomenon of the world's most celebrated artistic genius who, 500 years on, still grips and inspires us.Martin Kemp offers us exceptional insights into what it was that made this Renaissance man so special, and the 'real' meaning behind such masterpieces as the Mona Lisa and the Last Supper. Tracing Leonardo's career in all its variety, we learn of his unfulfilled dreams, relationships with powerful patrons, and the truth about his views on God, humans, and nature.The famous notebooks are the key to understanding the secret of Leonardo's success and genius, as they clearly reveal the workings of his mind and display the true innovative and investigative nature of his creative vision. Over 20,000 pages of drawings and notes detail his incredible discoveries and inventions - from the workings of the human eye to designs for flying machines and giant crossbows. Bringing the story up to the present day, Martin Kemp considers what he means to us today,investigates the 'Leonardo industry', and speculates about what he would be doing if he were alive today.This updated edition of Martin Kemp's best-seller is the first book on Leonardo to include two newly discovered works, the most important such discoveries in over a hundred years.
Leonardo's Legacy: How Da Vinci Reimagined the World by
Revered today as, perhaps, the greatest of Renaissance painters, Leonardo da Vinci was a scientist at heart. The artist who created the Mona Lisa also designed functioning robots and digital computers, constructed flying machines and built the first heart valve. His intuitive and ingenious approach--a new mode of thinking--linked highly diverse areas of inquiry in startling new ways and ushered in a new era. In Leonardo's Legacy, award-winning science journalist Stefan Klein deciphers the forgotten legacy of this universal genius and persuasively demonstrates that today we have much to learn from Leonardo's way of thinking. Klein sheds light on the mystery behind Leonardo's paintings, takes us through the many facets of his fascination with water, and explains the true significance of his dream of flying. It is a unique glimpse into the complex and brilliant mind of this inventor, scientist, and pioneer of a new world view, with profound consequences for our times.
Leonardo Da Vinci by
Leonardo's early life was spent in Florence, his maturity in Milan, and the last three years of his life in France. Leonardo's teacher was Verrocchio. First he was a goldsmith, then a painter and sculptor: as a painter, representative of the very scientific school of draughtsmanship; more famous as a sculptor, being the creator of the Colleoni statue at Venice, Leonardo was a man of striking physical attractiveness, great charm of manner and conversation, and mental accomplishment. He was well grounded in the sciences and mathematics of the day, as well as a gifted musician. His skill in draughtsmanship was extraordinary; shown by his numerous drawings as well as by his comparatively few paintings. His skill of hand is at the service of most minute observation and analytical research into the character and structure of form. Leonardo is the first in date of the great men who had the desire to create in a picture a kind of mystic unity brought about by the fusion of matter and spirit. Now that the Primitives had concluded their experiments, ceaselessly pursued during two centuries, by the conquest of the methods of painting, he was able to pronounce the words which served as a password to all later artists worthy of the name: painting is a spiritual thing, cosa mentale. He completed Florentine draughtsmanship in applying to modelling by light and shade, a sharp subtlety which his predecessors had used only to give greater precision to their contours. This marvellous draughtsmanship, this modelling and chiaroscuro he used not solely to paint the exterior appearance of the body but, as no one before him had done, to cast over it a reflection of the mystery of the inner life. In the Mona Lisa and his other masterpieces he even used landscape not merely as a more or less picturesque decoration, but as a sort of echo of that interior life and an element of a perfect harmony. Relying on the still quite novel laws of perspective this doctor of scholastic wisdom, who was at the same time an initiator of modern thought, substituted for the discursive manner of the Primitives the principle of concentration which is the basis of classical art. The picture is no longer presented to us as an almost fortuitous aggregate of details and episodes. It is an organism in which all the elements, lines and colours, shadows and lights, compose a subtle tracery converging on a spiritual, a sensuous centre. It was not with the external significance of objects, but with their inward and spiritual significance, that Leonardo was occupied.
Leonardo Da Vinci by
Sir Kenneth Clark made his name as a scholar of Leonardo da Vinci by a Critical Catalogue of Leonardo's drawings at Windsor Castle, published in 1935, which was recognized as establishing the subject on a firmer chronological basis. Four years later he produced this short book on Leonardo as an artist, which has been generally regarded as the clearest and sanest introduction to this great and controversial subject. This is the first book on Leonardo written after critics had reached general agreement as to which works were really by his own hand. It is also the first study of Leonardo to take advantage of our wider range of aesthetic experience and our fuller knowledge of psychology. Sir Kenneth writes 'that all great art should be reinterpreted for each generation', but although his interpretation of Leonardo is twenty years old, it remains valid today. He has written a fresh introduction which goes rather deeper than his previous conclusions, and for this edition has made extensive revisions to the text. "Your true critic must be doubly armed, with knowledge and intuition. Sir Kenneth Clark, armed with both to a remarkable degree, has written a book on Leonardo's development as an artist which (I do not exaggerate) will set a new standard in art criticism in England."--Sunday Times "It is so intelligent, so modest, so beautifully written and so wise."--Harold Nicolson
Leonardo Da Vinci - Artist, Thinker, and Man of Science by
Not only was Leonardo da Vinci (1453-1519) an astonishing painter, but also a scientist, anatomist, sculptor, architect, musician, engineer, inventor, and more. The question is rather, what was he not? During the Italian Renaissance, he mastered the most beautiful works of art for the Medicis' in Italy and for the King of France. He aroused admiration from his contemporaries, who depicted a universal genius, curious and virtuous. Even today, interest in da Vinci and his work does not fade; his works and writings are still studied by foremost experts hoping to decipher one of the numerous secrets of this visionary artist. The archetypal Renaissance man is here explored by the engaging prose of Eugène Müntz who narrates how Leonardo da Vinci mastered a diverse range of fields, from painting to engineering, making him one of the most brilliant minds in human history and one of the most recognised artists in modern times.
Leonardo da Vinci. Volume 2 by
Leonardo's early life was spent in Florence, his maturity in Milan, and the last three years of his life in France. Leonardo's teacher was Verrocchio. First he was a goldsmith, then a painter and sculptor: as a painter, representative of the very scientific school of draughtsmanship; more famous as a sculptor, being the creator of the Colleoni statue at Venice, Leonardo was a man of striking physical attractiveness, great charm of manner and conversation, and mental accomplishment. He was well grounded in the sciences and mathematics of the day, as well as a gifted musician. His skill in draughtsmanship was extraordinary; shown by his numerous drawings as well as by his comparatively few paintings. His skill of hand is at the service of most minute observation and analytical research into the character and structure of form. Leonardo is the first in date of the great men who had the desire to create in a picture a kind of mystic unity brought about by the fusion of matter and spirit. Now that the Primitives had concluded their experiments, ceaselessly pursued during two centuries, by the conquest of the methods of painting, he was able to pronounce the words which served as a password to all later artists worthy of the name: painting is a spiritual thing, cosa mentale. He completed Florentine draughtsmanship in applying to modelling by light and shade, a sharp subtlety which his predecessors had used only to give greater precision to their contours. This marvellous draughtsmanship, this modelling and chiaroscuro he used not solely to paint the exterior appearance of the body but, as no one before him had done, to cast over it a reflection of the mystery of the inner life. In the Mona Lisa and his other masterpieces he even used landscape not merely as a more or less picturesque decoration, but as a sort of echo of that interior life and an element of a perfect harmony. Relying on the still quite novel laws of perspective this doctor of scholastic wisdom, who was at the same time an initiator of modern thought, substituted for the discursive manner of the Primitives the principle of concentration which is the basis of classical art. The picture is no longer presented to us as an almost fortuitous aggregate of details and episodes. It is an organism in which all the elements, lines and colours, shadows and lights, compose a subtle tracery converging on a spiritual, a sensuous centre. It was not with the external significance of objects, but with their inward and spiritual significance, that Leonardo was occupied.
Leonardo da Vinci: Master Draftsman by
Leonardo da Vinci (1452-1519) stands as a supreme icon in the history of Western civilization. With much of his work lost or unfinished, the key to his legacy is without doubt to be found in the enormous body of his extant drawings and accompanying manuscript notes. Famous for their beauty and technical virtuosity, Leonardo's drawings were avidly sought by collectors even during his lifetime. This handsome book offers a unified and fascinating portrait of Leonardo as a draftsman, integrating his diverse roles as an artist, scientist, inventor, theorist, and teacher. A chronological framework is also provided in order to shed light on his extraordinary life and career. The essays and entries--written by the world's leading Leonardo scholars--survey the wide variety of drawing types that Leonardo used and also examine a small group of works by artists critical to his artistic development in Florence and to his multifaceted activity in Milan.
Leonardo Da Vinci: The Royal Palace at Romorantin by 
Leonardo da Vinci. Volume 1 by
Leonardo's early life was spent in Florence, his maturity in Milan, and the last three years of his life in France. Leonardo's teacher was Verrocchio. First he was a goldsmith, then a painter and sculptor: as a painter, representative of the very scientific school of draughtsmanship; more famous as a sculptor, being the creator of the Colleoni statue at Venice, Leonardo was a man of striking physical attractiveness, great charm of manner and conversation, and mental accomplishment. He was well grounded in the sciences and mathematics of the day, as well as a gifted musician. His skill in draughtsmanship was extraordinary; shown by his numerous drawings as well as by his comparatively few paintings. His skill of hand is at the service of most minute observation and analytical research into the character and structure of form. Leonardo is the first in date of the great men who had the desire to create in a picture a kind of mystic unity brought about by the fusion of matter and spirit. Now that the Primitives had concluded their experiments, ceaselessly pursued during two centuries, by the conquest of the methods of painting, he was able to pronounce the words which served as a password to all later artists worthy of the name: painting is a spiritual thing, cosa mentale. He completed Florentine draughtsmanship in applying to modelling by light and shade, a sharp subtlety which his predecessors had used only to give greater precision to their contours. This marvellous draughtsmanship, this modelling and chiaroscuro he used not solely to paint the exterior appearance of the body but, as no one before him had done, to cast over it a reflection of the mystery of the inner life. In the Mona Lisa and his other masterpieces he even used landscape not merely as a more or less picturesque decoration, but as a sort of echo of that interior life and an element of a perfect harmony. Relying on the still quite novel laws of perspective this doctor of scholastic wisdom, who was at the same time an initiator of modern thought, substituted for the discursive manner of the Primitives the principle of concentration which is the basis of classical art. The picture is no longer presented to us as an almost fortuitous aggregate of details and episodes. It is an organism in which all the elements, lines and colours, shadows and lights, compose a subtle tracery converging on a spiritual, a sensuous centre. It was not with the external significance of objects, but with their inward and spiritual significance, that Leonardo was occupied.
Michelangelo by
In this masterly, Howard Hibbard relates Michelangelo's art to his life and to the times in which he lived, relying on the earliest biographies and the latest scholarly research as well as on Michelangelo's own letters and poems. What emerges is both a perspective appraisal of his work and a revealing life history of the man who was arguably the greatest artist of all time.
Michelangelo by
A legend within his own lifetime, Michelangelo (1457-1564) has been universally admired in the centuries since his death. Anthony Hughes employs the latest evidence from research and restoration projects to take a fresh look at what Michelangelo was and what he has become. The book sets the artist firmly within the political and social world he inhabited, offering a full account of his creative endeavours in sculpture, drawing, painting, architecture and poetry.
Michelangelo by
Michelangelo, like Leonardo, was a man of many talents; sculptor, architect, painter and poet, he made the apotheosis of muscular movement, which to him was the physical manifestation of passion. He moulded his draughtsmanship, bent it, twisted it, and stretched it to the extreme limits of possibility. There are not any landscapes in Michelangelo's painting. All the emotions, all the passions, all the thoughts of humanity were personified in his eyes in the naked bodies of men and women. He rarely conceived his human forms in attitudes of immobility or repose. Michelangelo became a painter so that he could express in a more malleable material what his titanesque soul felt, what his sculptor's imagination saw, but what sculpture refused him. Thus this admirable sculptor became the creator, at the Vatican, of the most lyrical and epic decoration ever seen: the Sistine Chapel. The profusion of his invention is spread over this vast area of over 900 square metres. There are 343 principal figures of prodigious variety of expression, many of colossal size, and in addition a great number of subsidiary ones introduced for decorative effect. The creator of this vast scheme was only thirty-four when he began his work. Michelangelo compels us to enlarge our conception of what is beautiful. To the Greeks it was physical perfection; but Michelangelo cared little for physical beauty, except in a few instances, such as his painting of Adam on the Sistine ceiling, and his sculptures of the Pietà. Though a master of anatomy and of the laws of composition, he dared to disregard both if it were necessary to express his concept: to exaggerate the muscles of his figures, and even put them in positions the human body could not naturally assume. In his later painting, The Last Judgment on the end wall of the Sistine, he poured out his soul like a torrent. Michelangelo was the first to make the human form express a variety of emotions. In his hands emotion became an instrument upon which he played, extracting themes and harmonies of infinite variety. His figures carry our imagination far beyond the personal meaning of the names attached to them.
Michelangelo's Last Judgment by
In her analysis of Michelangelo's Last Judgment, Bernadine Barnes provides an original and stimulating view of this renowned fresco and of the audience for which it was created. Because Michelangelo is so often regarded as a nearly superhuman artistic genius, we tend to forget that his works were not created to illustrate his life. The Last Judgment did have great personal meaning for him, but his representation of this religious event was not purely self-directed, says Barnes. She argues that Michelangelo had a particular type of viewer in mind as he designed his work. The Last Judgment dealt with an especially evocative subject, and Michelangelo engaged viewers by creating highly imaginative scenes tempering fear with hope and by referring to contemporary events. The painting's original, elite audience--the papal court and a handful of distinguished lay persons--was sophisticated about art and poetry, almost exclusively male, and orthodox in its religious beliefs. That audience later broadened and included artists allowed into the Chapel to copy Michelangelo's work. These artists helped to create another, less sophisticated audience, one that knew the fresco only through reproductions and written descriptions. The response of this latter audience eventually prompted the church to censor the painting. Beautifully illustrated with photographs of the recently restored Sistine Chapel, Barnes's study greatly enhances our understanding of changing Renaissance attitudes toward art. Her book also provides valuable insights into one of Michelangelo's greatest works.
Michelangelo: Architect by 
Michelangelo: Paintings, Sculptures, Architecture by
First published in 1953, this book remains a classic piece of literature on the work and life of Michelangelo (1475-1564). It continues to be the only volume to contain illustrations of all his paintings, sculpture and architecture. The book is designed to serve both the student and the art lover: the fine quality reproductions emphatically illustrate Michelangelo's genius, while the text surveys the ideas and theses of the world's leading scholars on the painting, sculpture and architecture of Michelangelo and provides a detailed and sophisticated commentary with extensive bibliographical notes. The exhaustive selection of plates devoted to the paintings of the Sistine Chapel provides an invaluable record of their condition before the recent controversial cleaning, while ten colour plates show some of the paintings in their restored state, offering the works to the reader's eye for close discrimination.
Michelangelo: The Artist, the Man, and His Times by
In this vividly written biography, William E. Wallace offers a new view of the artist. Not only a supremely gifted sculptor, painter, architect and poet, Michelangelo was also an aristocrat who firmly believed in the ancient, noble origins of his family. The belief in his patrician status fueled his lifelong ambition to improve his family's financial situation and to raise the social standing of artists. Michelangelo's ambitions are evident in his writing, dress and comportment, as well as in his ability to befriend, influence and occasionally say 'no' to popes, kings and princes. Written from the words of Michelangelo and his contemporaries, this biography not only tells his own stories, but also brings to life the culture and society of Renaissance Florence and Rome. Not since Irving Stone's novel The Agony and the Ecstasy has there been such a compelling and human portrayal of this remarkable yet credible human individual.
Michelangelo: The Vatican Frescoes by
For the first time ever, Michelangelo's complete Vatican masterpiece is shown in the vivid colors of its recent restoration. This comprehensive history of the painting of the Sistine Chapel catalogs each fresco image in detail. The restoration of Michelangelo's magnificent frescoes in the Vatican's Sistine Chapel is perhaps the most controversial event in the art world in the past three decades. Now, after nearly fifteen years of effort, the restoration is finally complete. This unique volume-the first to document the project-is the result of an unparalleled international photographic campaign. For the first time, the restored Chapel is shown in its entirety, from the Creation to the Last Judgment. Glorious, full-color photographs-250 in all-portray the frescoes both before and after their restoration, providing an unforgettable view of the meticulous work that many believe restored the frescoes to their original High Renaissance splendor. Originally created in the late 1400s, the frescoes of the Sistine Chapel are the best-known of all the Vatican masterpieces. As early as 1502, however, tourists began noting the damage wrought by smoke and crumbling walls. By 1980 the need for conservation appeared to be dire. The restoration team had to contend with centuries of decay-structural fractures in the walls and ceilings, soot and dust accumulation, and rainwater seepage that left white patches on every surface. Artisans in previous centuries had made attempts at conservation, but often did more harm than good; the frescoes were found to be coated with many layers of "protective" glue that had yellowed and darkened with age. Though many art historians opposed the restoration, believing that Michelangelo was a somber artist who worked in dark and muted colors, the endeavor presents frescoes that are gloriously vivid, setting the chapel aglow with their brilliance. In addition, they provide new insights about Michelangelo's brushstroke techniques, and add more information to a centuries-old debate over how he worked with the wet plaster surface of the frescoes. Written with Gianluigi Colalucci, the technical overseer of the restoration, the text provides an intimate understanding of this masterpiece of Renaissance art. It explains the various forensic studies carried out in the course of the project, the pragmatic concerns of the restoration, and the many problems of historical approach that were confronted. This volume, including remarkable new pictures of the Chapel frescoes, belongs in the libraries of every art historian and student of the Italian Renaissance. Pierluigi De Vecchi is a professor of Medieval and Modern Art at the University of Macerata. He has written numerous monographs, essays, and catalogs on Renaissance artists including Michelangelo, Raphael, and Tintoretto. Gianluigi Colalucci is Chief Restorer for the Vatican's Laboratory for the Restoration of Paintings, Papal Monuments, Museums, and Galleries. He spent fourteen years restoring the Sistine Chapel frescoes, and has also restored works by such artists as Raphael, Titian, and Giotto. He has written extensively on the subject, and has held conferences around the world. Photographer Takashi Okamura has been photographing masterpieces of art in Europe for over thirty years. His other ambitious projects include the 24-volume Collection of Arts in the World, the 13-volume Collection of Sculpture in the World, The Art of Florence (Abbeville, 1995), and the NTV Sistine Chapel Project. 200 colour illustrations
Michelangelo in the New Millennium: Conversations about Artistic Practice, Patronage and Christianity by
Michelangelo in the New Millennium presents six paired studies in dialogue with each other that offer new ways of looking at Michelangelo's art as a series of social, creative, and emotional exchanges where artistic intention remains flexible; probe deeper into the artist's formal borrowing and how it affects meaning regarding his early religious works; and consider the making and significance of his late papal painting projects commissioned by Paul III and Paul IV for chapels at the Vatican Palace. Contributors are: William E. Wallace, Joost Keizer, Eric R. Hupe, Emily Fenichel, Jonathan Kline, Erin Sutherland Minter, Margaret Kuntz, Tamara Smithers and Marcia B. Hall
Mysterium Magnum: Michelangelo's Tondo Doni by
Drawing on the fifteenth century theology of Saint Joseph, classical visual sources, Ficino's commentary on the Phaedrus and Symposium, and Dante's rime petrose, this book interprets Michelangelo's Tondo Doni as a model of Ephesians' 'great sacrament' of marriage for the new Florentine republic.
New Light on Old Masters by
In the fourth and concluding volume of his classic series of essays on the Renaissance, Ernst Gombrich focuses mainly on individual artists, with illuminating studies of the works of some of the greatest masters - Giotto, Leonardo da Vinci, Raphael, Giulio Romano and Michelangelo. With the originality of mind and lucidity of expression that are his hallmarks, he re-examines texts and documents in order to throw new light on familiar works. Undogmatic in their approach to methods of inquiry, and demonstrating a profound concern with the standards and values of our cultural heritage, these essays are not only models of good art-historical writing, but they also represent a vitally important humanistic tradition in scholarship and criticism.
Notebooks by
'Study me reader, if you find delight in me...Come, O men, to see the miracles that such studies will disclose in nature.'Most of what we know about Leonardo da Vinci, we know because of his notebooks. Some 6,000 sheets of notes and drawings survive, which represent perhaps one-fifth of what he actually produced. In them he recorded everything that interested him in the world around him, and his study of how things work. With an artist's eye and a scientist's curiosity he studied the movement of water and the formation of rocks, the nature of flight and optics, anatomy, architecture, sculpture, and painting.He jotted down fables and letters and developed his belief in the sublime unity of nature and man. Through his notebooks we can get an insight into Leonardo's thoughts, and his approach to work and life.This selection offers a cross-section of his writings, organized around coherent themes. Fully updated, this new edition includes some 70 line drawings and a Preface by Martin Kemp, one of the world's leading authorities on Leonardo.ABOUT THE SERIES: For over 100 years Oxford World's Classics has made available the widest range of literature from around the globe. Each affordable volume reflects Oxford's commitment to scholarship, providing the most accurate text plus a wealth of other valuable features, including expert introductions by leading authorities, helpful notes to clarify the text, up-to-date bibliographies for further study, and much more.
Painting in Sixteenth-Century Venice: Titian, Veronese, Tintoretto by
Painting in Sixteenth-Century Venice, here published in a revised and updated edition, explores the visual tradition of one of the most important centres of the Italian Renaissance through a study of three masters - Titian, Veronese, and Tintoretto. These painters dominated and shaped the traditions of Venetian painting in the High and Late Renaissance. Establishing the conditions of painting in Renaissance Venice, including the social, economic and political situation of arts and artists and the aesthetic values that distinguish Venetian painting from that of Central Italy, David Rosand also explores the formal principles and technical procedures that determined the uniqueness of painting in Venice, above all the development of oil painting on canvas. He also analyses individual images, altarpieces and mural paintings within the several contexts of conventions and institutions - artistic, social, historical - of Renaissance Venice.
Pontormo: Portrait of a Halberdier by
Much has been written about the identity of the sitter in this portrait. In 1568, Vasari noted that Pontormo painted a beautiful work, a portrait of Francesco Guardi. In 1612, however, the name of Cosimo i de' Medici was attached to a description of the portrait. In this volume, Cropper argues that the subject of the painting is indeed Francesco Guardi. She discusses not only the specific determination of the sitter but the tools and methods used in general for establishing the people and places portrayed in works of art.
Raphael by
Raphael was the artist who most closely resembled Pheidias. The Greeks said that the latter invented nothing; rather, he carried every kind of art invented by his forerunners to such a pitch of perfection that he achieved pure and perfect harmony. Those words, "pure and perfect harmony," express, in fact, better than any others what Raphael brought to Italian art. From Perugino, he gathered all the weak grace and gentility of the Umbrian School, he acquired strength and certainty in Florence, and he created a style based on the fusion of Leonardo's and Michelangelo's lessons under the light of his own noble spirit. His compositions on the traditional theme of the Virgin and Child seemed intensely novel to his contemporaries, and only their time-honoured glory prevents us now from perceiving their originality. He has an even more magnificent claim in the composition and realisation of those frescos with which, from 1509, he adorned the Stanze and the Loggia at the Vatican. The sublime, which Michelangelo attained by his ardour and passion, Raphael attained by the sovereign balance of intelligence and sensibility. One of his masterpieces, The School of Athens, was created by genius: the multiple detail, the portrait heads, the suppleness of gesture, the ease of composition, the life circulating everywhere within the light are his most admirable and identifiable traits.
Raphael by
The definitive account of the life and work of one of the most influential of all artists. "The best book ever written on Raphael."--Brian Sewell, Interiors "A superbly illustrated and comprehensive survey. . . . The reproductions in color and in black and white add their own splendid testimony to Raphael's achievement."--American Library Association Booklist "It would not be possible within the space of a review to do justice to the variety of intelligent and stimulating observations which occur throughout the text, together with well-informed references to relevant background material."--Cecil Gould, Times Literary Supplement "A marked success . . . in the authors' line of inquiry, in their choice of material and in the form of its presentation."--Sylvia Ferino-Pagden, Burlington Magazine "The new and dependable source for knowledge of the artist."--Lawrence Gowing, London Review of Books "Strikes a nice balance between instruction and illustration."--Janet Malcolm, New Yorker "An important contribution. . . It is also an excellent introduction to the career of Raphael for undergraduates. Graduates and faculty will find it a ready reference and a healthy stimulus."--Choice
Raphael's Ostrich by
Raphael's Ostrich begins with a little-studied aspect of Raphael's painting-the ostrich, which appears as an attribute of Justice, painted in the Sala di Costantino in the Vatican. Una Roman D'Elia traces the cultural and artistic history of the ostrich from its appearances in ancient Egyptian hieroglyphs to the menageries and grotesque ornaments of sixteenth-century Italy. Following the complex history of shifting interpretations given to the ostrich in scientific, literary, religious, poetic, and satirical texts and images, D'Elia demonstrates the rich variety of ways in which people made sense of this living "monster," which was depicted as the embodiment of heresy, stupidity, perseverance, justice, fortune, gluttony, and other virtues and vices. Because Raphael was revered as a god of art, artists imitated and competed with his ostrich, while religious and cultural critics complained about the potential for misinterpreting such obscure imagery. This book not only considers the history of the ostrich but also explores how Raphael's painting forced viewers to question how meaning is attributed to the natural world, a debate of central importance in early modern Europe at a time when the disciplines of modern art history and natural history were developing. The strangeness of Raphael's ostrich, situated at the crossroads of art, religion, myth, and natural history, both reveals lesser-known sides of Raphael's painting and illuminates major cultural shifts in attitudes toward nature and images in the Renaissance. More than simply an examination of a single artist or a single subject, Raphael's Ostrich offers an accessible, erudite, and charming alternative to Vasari's pervasive model of the history of sixteenth-century Italian art.
Raphael - Volume 2 by
Raphael (1483-1520), the Italian painter and architect of the High Renaissance, was a genius in and ahead of his time. Together with Michelangelo and Leonardo da Vinci, he formed the classical trinity of this era and elaborated a rich style of harmony and geometry. As one of the great masters of the Renaissance and artist to European royalty and the Papal court in Rome, his works comprise various themes of theology and philosophy, including but not limited to famous illustrations of the Madonna. His surroundings and experience gave rise to his propensity to combine the ideals of humanism with those of religion, and firmly established in him a conviction that art is a necessary medium to reveal the beauty of nature.
Renovatio Urbis: Architecture, Urbanism, and Ceremony in the Rome of Julius II by
Examining the urban and architectural developments in Rome during the Pontificate of Julius II (1503-13) this booknbsp;focuses on the political, religious and artistic motives behind the changes. Each chapter focuses on a particular project, from the Palazzo dei Tribunali to the Stanza della Segnatura, and examines their topographical and symbolic contexts in relationship to the broader vision of Julian Rome. This original work explores not just historical sources relating to buildings but also humanist/antiquarian texts, papal sermons/eulogies, inscriptions, frescoes and contemporary maps. An important contribution to current scholarship of earlynbsp;sixteenth century Rome, its urban design and architecture.
Tintoretto: Tradition and Identity by
The Venetian painter Jacopo Tintoretto is an ambiguous figure in the history of art. Critics and writers such as Vasari, Ruskin and Sartre all placed him in opposition to the established artistic practice of his time, noting that he had abandoned the values that typified the venerable Venetian Renaissance tradition, even being expelled as an apprentice from the workshop of Titian. This generously illustrated book offers a long-overdue re-evaluation of Tintoretto. Tom Nichols charts the artist's life and work in the context of Venetian art and the culture of the Cinquecento. He shows how the artist created a new manner of painting, which for all its originality and sophistication made its first appeal to the shared emotions of the widest-possible viewing audience. The book deals extensively with Tintoretto's greatest works, including the paintings at the Scuola di San Rocco in Venice.
Titian by
Not only does Sir Claude Phillips offer the reader a studied and insightful loook into the work of one of the world's most cherished painters, but he also invites us to discover the bustling world on the Venetian art circle in which Titian lived and worked. From his early years in the workshop of Giovanni Bellini, to his meeting with Michelangelo and his rivalry with Pordenone, the story of Titian's artistic development also tells the story of the most influential Italian Renaissance art.
Titian and the End of the Venetian Renaissance by
Titian is best known for paintings that embodied the tradition of the Venetian Renaissance--but how Venetian was the artist himself? In this study, Tom Nichols probes the tensions between the individualism of Titian's work and the conservative mores of the city, showing how his art undermined the traditional self-suppressing approach to painting in Venice and reflected his engagement with the individualistic cultures emerging in the courts of early modern Europe. Ranging widely across Titian's long career and varied works, Titian and the End of the Venetian Renaissance outlines his radical innovations to the traditional Venetian altarpiece; his transformation of portraits into artistic creations; and his meteoric breakout from the confines of artistic culture in Venice. Nichols explores how Titian challenged the city's communal values with his competitive professional identity, contending that his intensely personalized way of painting resulted in a departure that effectively brought an end to the Renaissance tradition of painting. Packed with 170 illustrations, this groundbreaking book will change the way people look at Titian and Venetian art history.
Trent: What Happened at the Council by
Trent, the Catholic Church's attempt to put its house in order after the Reformation, has long been praised and blamed for things it never did. This one-volume history, the first in modern times, explores the volatile issues that pushed several Holy Roman emperors, kings and queens of France, five popes, and all of Europe to the brink of disaster.
The Young Leonardo: Art and Life in Fifteenth-Century Florence by
Leonardo da Vinci is often presented as the 'transcendent genius', removed from or ahead of his time. This book, however, attempts to understand him in the context of Renaissance Florence. Larry J. Feinberg explores Leonardo's origins and the beginning of his career as an artist. While celebrating his many artistic achievements, the book illuminates his debt to other artists' works and his struggles to gain and retain patronage, as well as his career and personal difficulties. Feinberg examines the range of Leonardo's interests, including aerodynamics, anatomy, astronomy, botany, geology, hydraulics, optics, and warfare technology, to clarify how the artist's broad intellectual curiosity informed his art. Situating the artist within the political, social, cultural, and artistic context of mid- and late-fifteenth-century Florence, Feinberg shows how this environment influenced Leonardo's artistic output and laid the groundwork for the achievements of his mature works.
