Subject search terms: Evidence-based medicine, Evidence-based nursing, nursing, nursing—decision making.
Closing Evidence Gaps in Clinical Prevention by
Closing Evidence Gaps in Clinical Prevention, a new consensus study report from the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine's Board on Population Health and Public Health Practice, evaluates evidence gaps in clinical prevention recommendations described by the United States Preventive Services Task Force and other clinical practice guideline developers and presents a taxonomy of these evidence gaps for future use. This report aims to improve the coordination of efforts to describe and communicate priority evidence gaps among funders and researchers. It also proposes new opportunities for collaboration among researchers, funders, and guideline developers to accelerate research that could close evidence gaps. The authoring committee has also developed an interactive graphic that can be used as a workflow diagram for implementing the taxonomy. This workflow walks users through reviewing evidence, characterizing evidence gaps using relevant taxonomies, and developing a research agenda. Click here to view and engage with the interactive graphic.
Dilemmas and Decision Making in Nursing: A Practice-Based Approach by
Looking for a book that will help you hone your decision-making skills as a nursing student or practitioner? Look no further than this innovative volume. It provides a collection of engaging fictional scenarios that explore how nurses tackle clinical dilemmas, weigh up options and make good decisions based on a sound understanding of theory related to practice. More than just a simple collection of case studies, this book offers a comprehensive thinking framework that will allow you to truly understand how theory can be applied to practice. It provides opportunities to discuss clinical dilemmas in a safe space in which you can explore your own values and beliefs, apply professional knowledge and consider new approaches to nursing. Featured in these clinical scenarios are professional dilemmas you may not have yet encountered in your practice to help you uncover new methods of decision-making. It explores best practice and takes account of other professional perspectives, including challenges and barriers to interdisciplinary working. After using this book you will feel confident in your problem-solving and decision-making abilities.
Evidence-Based Medicine - A Paradigm Ready to Be Challenged:? How Scientific Evidence Shapes Our Understanding And Use Of Medicine by
This open access book aims to clarify the term ,,evidence-based medicine" (EBM) from a philosophy of science perspective. The author, Marie-Caroline Schulte discusses the importance of evi-dence in medical research and practice with a focus on the ethical and methodological prob-lems of EBM. The claims that EBM can herald a new theory of epistemology and a Kuhnian paradigm will be refuted. The solution is to describe EBM as a necessary development in medicine to deal with the increasing amount of evidence and medical data without loosing the single patient out of sight. ​
Foundations of Evidence-Based Medicine: Clinical Epidemiology and Beyond, Second Edition by
This comprehensive text focuses on reasoning, critical thinking and pragmatic decision making in medicine. Based on the author's extensive experience and filled with definitions, formulae, flowcharts and checklists, this fully revised second edition continues to provide invaluable guidance to the crucial role that clinical epidemiology plays in the expanding field of evidence-based medicine. Key Features: * Considers evidence-based medicine as a universal initiative common to all health sciences and professions, and all specialties within those disciplines * Demonstrates how effective practice is reliant on proper foundations, such as clinical and fundamental epidemiology, and biostatistics * Introduces the reader to basic epidemiological methods, meta-analysis and decision analysis * Shows that structured, modern, argumentative reasoning is required to build the best possible evidence and use it in practice and research * Outlines how to make the most appropriate decisions in clinical care, disease prevention and health promotion Presenting a range of topics seldom seen in a single resource, the innovative blend of informal logic and structured evidence-based reasoning makes this book invaluable for anyone seeking broad, in-depth and readable coverage of this complex and sometimes controversial field.
The Intersection: Where Evidence Based Nursing and Information Literacy Meet by
The Intersection: Where Evidence Based Nursing and Information Literacy Meet describes how the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Framework and Information literacy Competency Standards for Nursing mesh with nursing essentials, thus speaking to the information needs of nurses, nurse educators, and librarians who support worldwide nursing programs. In order to find the best evidence from studies, students and practicing nurses must be proficient in the entire range of information literacy skills. Though the references for this document are from U.S. organizations, they are applicable to nursing audiences across the globe. Describes how the ACRL Framework and Information Literacy Competency Standards for Nursing mesh with the essentials of nursing education and practice in evidence based nursing Speaks to the information needs of nurses, nurse educators and librarians who support nursing programs in the language of nursing Written by the authors for the ACRL Framework and Information Literacy Competency Standards for Nursing
Introducing Research and Evidence-Based Practice for Nursing and Healthcare Professionals by
Research can seem difficult to get to grips with. However, at the heart of this new edition is the view that research is essentially a simple activity, the principles of which can be readily understood by students new to the subject. Each chapter guides the reader to uncover the 'mysteries' of research, exposing each aspect in turn, while demonstrating how research in healthcare is a practical activity, orientated directly to patient care. Fully updated to refer to the latest sources and studies, the third edition includes: a new chapter on systematic literature reviews; a new chapter on research ethics; a completely revised chapter on evidence-based practice which now focuses more tightly on the implementation of research and other forms of evidence. This book is designed for all students of nursing and allied health professions at any level but who find themselves studying research for the first time. Research is illustrated through examples of activities familiar to students from their daily lives, which help build confidence in undertaking research and evidence-based practice.
Primary Care Medicine: Office Evaluation and Management of the Adult Patient by
Long regarded as "the book" in the field for in-depth learning as well as decision support at the point of care, Primary Care Medicine, 8th Edition, continues its tradition as a comprehensive, evidence-based, action-oriented information resource. Presented in companion electronic format updated quarterly, its problem-based orientation spans the full spectrum of problems encountered in adult primary care practice. Chapters address screening, diagnosis, prevention and management, including indications for referral and approaches to patient education and shared decision making. Clear, practical, bulleted recommendations and an extensive annotated bibliography of best references follow detailed discussions of pathophysiology, clinical presentation, differential diagnosis, and strategies for workup and treatment. Now with its 40th-anniversary edition, this exceptional text is a must-have resource for physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, students, and residents- offering the most complete and up-to-date resource available for primary care education and practice. Included interactive eBook incorporates quarterly updates featuring critically reviewed important new evidence as well as a study guide for students and tables for shared decision making. Fully updated chapter content based on nearly 4,000 new references and real-world advice in bulleted form at the end of each chapter ensure current, easily accessible, evidence-based point-of-care decision support. Unique problem-based chapter organization covers the spectrum of adult primary care, highlighted by more than 400 tables, figures, and photographs, many in color. Chapters present actionable, scientifically validated guidance that allows physicians to go beyond standard consensus guidelines and provide highly personalized care. Best evidence is integrated with considerations of affordability, cost-effectiveness, convenience, and patient preference. Special consideration is given to team-based approaches of primary care delivery, recognizing its increasing importance to achieving high levels of practice performance. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.