LibGuides: English as a Second Language (ESL): Listening

Databases

Options are available in the Gale databases to listen to the articles in English, or translate them and listen in your native language.

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window This database provides access to reference material like encyclopedias and almanacs on thousands of topics. You can change the toolbar langauges to display your native language. Listen to your article in over 19 languages, and download it in MP3 format. You can also save a PDF of the article in your native language to your eReader.

Active Listening 2 by Dorolyn Smith; Steven Brown
Call Number: LB 1065 .B7789 2007
ISBN: 9780521678179
Publication Date: 2006-09-11
Kit contains 3 CDs, 1 student book with CD and 1 teacher's manual with CD.
Active Listening 3 by Steve Brown; Dorolyn Smith
Call Number: LB 1065 .B779 2007
ISBN: 9780521678223
Publication Date: 2007-03-05
Kit contains 3 CDs, 1 student book with CD and 1 teacher's manual with CD.

iTunes U
Open courseware offered for iPod touch, iPad and iPhone. Free app available. Listen to academic lectures to improve your comprehension skills.
Khan Academy
Watch, practice and learn almost anything for free! YouTube videos cover topics ranging from current items in the news to physics, finance, history, and extensive mathematical coverage. Practice exercises are also available.
TED: Ideas Worth Spreading
"Riviting talks by remarkable people, free to the world."
Select a video to watch. Many offer an "Interactive Transcript" option (top right side of screen), which will display the speaker's text.