Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching for Photographs and Illustrations
Solomon Sibley House, Jefferson Ave. Detroit- (Courtesy American Memory Project- Library of Congress).
Selected Images from Burton Historical Collection
Online searchable digital database of 13,000 pre-1922 images from the Burton Historical Collection of the Detroit Public Library.
Search for photographs, maps, spoken histories, and documents. You can narrow your search by checking the checkboxes next to each type of media.
Virtual Motor City
Wayne State University Digital Collections
American Memory Project
American Memory is a gateway to the Library of Congress’s vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, American Memory is organized into more than 100 thematic collections based on their original format, their subject matter, or who first created, assembled, or donated them to the Library.
Search Historical Collections
Detroit Public Library Online Catalog
Library catalog includes about 3,400 manuscript collections, some finding aids, and many books located in the Burton Historical Collection.
Bentley Historical Library-Michigan Historical Collections
Founded in 1935, the Michigan Historical Collections is composed of more than 4,500 archival collections, 65,000 printed works, over 10,000 maps, and nearly 1.5 million visual images (including photographs, negatives, films, and videotapes). This is a statewide collection for Michigan covering all periods from the days of exploration through to the present, with collections drawn from each of Michigan's 83 counties.
DNR- Archives of Michigan
Search vital records, local history and genealogy primary and secondary source records, naturalization records for the State of Michigan and more.
Resources for Searching Local History and Genealogy
MyHeritage This link opens in a new window
Database of names with data of interest to genealogical research.
Architectural Databases (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive worldwide indexing; some journals since 1900. Avery does not usually include full-text. Use the article linking to find out if an article is available electronically. Searches Art & Architecture Source, Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, GreenFILE, and Omnifile.
Art Databases (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Art, Architecture, and Design (1984-present). Searches Art Abstracts (H.W. Wilson), Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson), Art & Architecture Source and Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals.
Passenger Records, New York, Ellis Island