LibGuides: Albert Kahn Library at LTU: Home

LTU Library Resources

Building the Modern World: Albert Kahn In Detroit by Michael H. Hodges
Call Number: NA737 .K28 H63 2018
ISBN: 9780814340356
Publication Date: 2018-04-30
Kahn's Detroit by Dale Carlson (Photographer)
Call Number: NA737 .K28 C2
ISBN: 9781735793511
Publication Date: 2022-01-05
Albert Kahn: Architect by Federico. Bucci
Call Number: NA737 .K28 B8313 1993
ISBN: 9781878271846
Publication Date: 1996-01-01
The Art of Collaboration & Innovation by Albert Kahn Associates (Editor)
Call Number: NA737 .A43 A2 2022
ISBN: 9781733064859
Publication Date: 2022-07-15
Guardians of Detroit by Jeff Morrison (Photographer)
Call Number: NA 3511 .D48 M67 2019
ISBN: 9780814345702
Publication Date: 2019-03-04

Finding Aid

Albert Kahn Associates Records Finding Aid
Finding aid for the Albert Kahn Associates records housed at Lawrence Technological University along with over 3,000 books and journals from Albert Kahn's working library c. 1930. The books and journals in the collection have all been cataloged and can be searched using LTU Library's online catalog.

Albert Kahn Archives & Special Collections

Albert Kahn Legacy Foundation The Albert Kahn Legacy Foundation, a nonprofit organization established in 2020, honors and celebrates the life, innovations, and global impact of architect Albert Kahn. Additionally, the Foundation, maintains the Albert Kahn Archive, a trove of Kahn’s designs, blueprints, papers, and images, in cooperation with Albert Kahn Associates, Inc., to serve as a resource for researchers and preservationists.
Cranbrook Libraries and Archives The Archives of Cranbrook contain over sixty architectural drawings and plans by Albert Kahn and Albert Kahn Associates regarding the design and construction of Cranbrook House and other buildings on the grounds. These materials can be found in the Cranbrook Library and Archives catalog.
Detroit Historical Society The Society's Kahn related collections include a number of photographic prints of the architect's buildings and a binder of Michigan Bell Telephone Company building appraisals.
Detroit Institute of Arts The DIA has 312 books from Kahn's personal library, which are cataloged into the library's main holdings. You can also find, primary source holdings contained in the papers of former directors Clyde Burroughs and Wilhelm Valentiner whom Kahn corresponded with and Kahn architectural drawings in the Prints, Drawings, and Photographs Departments. Please contact the Research Library for inquiries.
University of Michigan - Albert Kahn Associates Records Papers of Albert Kahn and records of his firm Albert Kahn Associates; includes correspondence, architectural drawings, clipping files, speeches, newspaper and journal articles, and project photographs. The project records consist of architectural and engineering construction drawings of many of his most significant designs. Also included audio and video recordings of interviews, special events, architectural discussions, and featurettes on Albert Kahn and some of his building projects, as well as architectural books from Albert Kahn's personal library.
University of Michigan - Albert Kahn Family Papers Letters, miscellaneous papers, and photographs of Albert Kahn, his wife Ernestine, their son Edgar, who served as chair of the department of neurosurgery at the University of Michigan, and their daughter Ruth Kahn Rothman. Includes sound recording, 1978, of Carol Kahn interview with her father Edgar Kahn.