LibGuides: Doctoral Programs: Getting Started

Introduction

ProQuest GradShare The GradShare Blog sponsored by Proquest, has information relevant to grad students and dissertations.

Doctoral Dissertation - Binding Order Form For additional information on publishing you doctoral dissertation, please see the Doctoral Students Library Guide.

Reference Sources

Cabell's Scholarly Analytics This link opens in a new window Cabell's Directoriy of Publishing Opportunities links faculty, students & researchers with current information regarding publishers, journals & publishing guidelines in a variety of subject areas. It includes lists of journals that are considered '"predatory". Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: Cabell's Directories. Consider also viewing Ulrich's Global Serials Directory.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window The most comprehensive dictionary of all time, with history of words.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.

Getting Started

Consider your information needs.

Start with TechCat

overview search for books & articles
automatically searches many of our databases but you may also add specific ones to broaden the search
place Interlibrary Loan requests directly from item record

OR, Search a database (from Research Guides)

deeper indexing
most databases are subject specific so may provide more complete results
articles not owned by the library are usually available through Interlibrary Loan

If you have questions, please contact a Reference Librarian. (248-204-3000 or library@ltu.edu)

Best Starting Points for all Programs

Business Databases (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Includes peer-reviewed articles, case studies, SWOT analyses. DBA, DEMS, DMIT,
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window A comprehensive interdisciplinary resource, indexing thousands of articles in peer-reviewed publications. Reference lists included in citations as well as "cited by..." DBA,DEMS,DMIT
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Science, Technology, Health, Psychology, Management: full-text from 1995 to present - the GREEN box means full-text is available.

Consider These...

Here are a few additional suggestions as you begin your research. This is only a partial list of what is available, so be sure to check the appropriate subject guide for other possibilities.

Engineering Village (Compendex) This link opens in a new window Engineering Index, abstracts 1970 to present. This is comprehensive listing of engineering information: over 18.8 million records from 76 countries across 190 engineering disciplines. It is indexed specifically for engineers using the Engineering Index Thesaurus, making search results consistently accurate and relevant to engineering research. (No full-text: make sure to follow the link at the bottom of the abstract to look at all the LTU journal titles to try to find full-text.)
IEEE Digital Library This link opens in a new window Journals, Proceedings, & Standards http://ieeexplore.ieee.org/Xplore/home.jsp http://www.ieee.org/ieeexplore
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window The SAGE Journals collection features high-impact, peer-reviewed, and interdisciplinary articles from more than 1,000 journals spanning the humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, engineering, and medicine.

Tools

Familiarize yourself with the tools that will make your research easier. TechCat and most databases have a tool bar. Email, download, export the citation (reference) to RefWorks.

Article Linker - if no full text, click the link in the item record - it will try to find it in one of our many databases
TechCat has many links to full-text built in; if no full-text, click on the interlibrary loan and library will try to get it for you

RefWorks This link opens in a new window Bibliographic Management Tool. Allows you to store and manage your citations. Easily create reference lists from your citations.