Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching for Dissertations
Proquest Dissertations and Theses (PQDT) This link opens in a new windowSearch all dissertation abstracts available through ProQuest. Full-text will be available for many of these.
TechCat (Advanced Search) This link opens in a new windowSelect the "Content" filter "Thesis/Dissertations". Or, select the "WorldCat Dissertations and Theses" database from the "Add/Remove Database" button.
EBSCO Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window EBSCO Open Dissertations now includes the content from American Doctoral Dissertations. It is a free database with records for more than 1.4 million electronic theses and dissertations from more than 320 universities around the world.
DART European E Thesis Portal This link opens in a new windowThis website points to dissertations and theses published electronically in Europe. The documents are usually published in the language of the country.
MIT Theses This link opens in a new windowMassachusetts Institute of Technology theses, 30,000+ since the mid-1800s
This collection contains selected dissertations and theses from all MIT departments. MIT is now posting its dissertations and theses online with free access. Follow the link, then scroll down to choose the subject area to browse. Choose doctoral theses, and browse the listings. All MIT theses and dissertations since 2004 are included.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new windowMainly open-access dissertations, more than 1,000,000 are included. Some limit the number of pages available to those outside the institution. Also find links for more national and regional dissertation sources, such as Theses Canada.
Acquiring a Dissertation
Acquiring a Dissertation:
There is usually a cost to acquiring a dissertation but it can vary greatly. If it is not available through a link in the identification tool, contact the library regarding interlibrary loan or purchasing options.
- free electronic access - not always available
- borrow through interlibrary loan - sometimes, though not always, libraries will loan a print copy of a dissertation. If a borrowing fee is charged, it may be more cost effective for you to purchase the dissertation
- Interlibrary Loan, find the title in TechCat, click on the red "Request Interlibrary Loan" button and complete the form
- purchase through LTU Library/Dissertation Express - contact library for current cost
- purchase directly from Proquest/UMI site - most expensive but may be available as a PDF
- for additional information on searching for and acquiring dissertations, please contact a Reference Librarian.
Allows limited searching for dissertations in the Proquest Database. Use Proquest Dissertations & Theses - many will be available electronically. Contact the library regarding in interlibrary loan or purchase options.