Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LLT 1223 World Masterpieces 2 Jaussen 1085: Translation Studies

Translation Studies

Articles Other Media

The Descriptive Paradox, or How Theory Can Affect Practice.

By Andrew Chesterman.

Nothing to Say.

An ABC of Translating Poetry.

By Willis Barnstone.
 
Secondary Sources eBooks
Columbia Granger’s World of Poetry Online Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies Praise for the previous edition of the Encyclopedia of Translation Studies: ''Translation has long deserved this sort of treatment. Appropriate for any college or university library supporting a program in linguistics, this is vital in those institutions that train students to become translators.'' - Rettig on Reference ''Congratulations should be given to Mona Baker for undertaking such a mammoth task and...successfully pulling it off. It will certainly be an essential reference book and starting point for anyone interested in translation studies.'' - ITI Bulletin ''This excellent volume is to be commended for bringing together some of [its] most recent research. It provides a series of extremely useful short histories, quite unlike anything that can be found elsewhere. University teachers will find it invaluable for preparing seminars and it will be widely used by students.'' - The Times Higher Education Supplement '' ... a pioneering work of reference ...''- Perspectives on Translation The Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies has been the standard reference in the field since it first appeared in 1998. The second, extensively revised and extended edition brings this unique resource up-to-date and offers a thorough, critical and authoritative account of one of the fastest growing disciplines in the humanities. The Encyclopedia is divided into two parts and alphabetically ordered for ease of reference. Partnbsp;One (General) covers the conceptual framework and core concerns of the discipline. Categories of entries include: central issues in translation theory (e.g. equivalence, translatability, unit of translation) key concepts (e.g. culture, norms, ethics, ideology, shifts, quality) approaches to translation and interpreting (e.g. sociological, linguistic, functionalist) types of translation (e.g. literary, audiovisual, scientific and technical) types of interpreting (e.g. signed language, dialogue, court). New additions in this section include entries on globalisation, mobility, localization, gender and sexuality, censorship, comics, advertising and retranslation, among many others. Partnbsp;Two (History and Traditions) covers the history of translation in major linguistic and cultural communities. It is arranged alphabetically by linguistic region. There are entries on a wide range of languages which include Russian, French, Arabic, Japanese, Chinese and Finnish, and regions including Brazil, Canada and India. Many of the entries in this section are based on hitherto unpublished research. This section includes one new entry: Southeast Asian tradition. Drawing on the expertise of overnbsp;90 contributors fromnbsp;30 countries and an international panel of consultant editors, this volume offers a comprehensive overview of translation studies as an academic discipline and anticipates new directions in the field. The contributors examine various forms of translation and interpreting as they are practised by professionals today, in addition to research topics, theoretical issues and the history of translation in various parts of the world. With key terms defined and discussed in context, a full index, extensive cross-references, diagrams and a full bibliography the Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies is an invaluable reference work for all students and teachers of translation, interpreting, and literary and social theory. Mona Baker is Professor of Translation Studies at the University of Manchester, UK. She is co-founder and editorial director of St Jerome Publishing, a small press specializing in translation studies and cross-cultural communication. Apart from numerous papers in scholarly journals and collected volumes, she is author of In Other Words: A Coursebook on Translation (Routledge 1992), Translation and Conflict: A Narrative Account (2006) and Founding Editor of The Translator: Studies in Intercultural Communication (1995), a refereed international journal published by St Jerome since 1995. She is also co-Vice President of the International Association of Translation and Intercultural Studies (IATIS). Gabriela Saldanha is Lecturer in Translation Studies at the University of Birmingham, UK. She is founding editor (with Marion Winters) and current member of the editorial board of New Voices in Translation Studies, a refereed online journal of the International Association of Translation and Intercultural Studies, and co-editor (with Federico Zanettin) of Translation Studies Abstracts and Bibliography of Translation Studies.
Mid-Century French Poets A selection of outstanding contemporary French verse in bilingual edition, a volume designed to put the American reader in touch with the most vital currents in the French poetry of our own day. The editor contributes a stimulating introduction, tracing the development of the spirit and manner of French verse through the royal line of Baudelaire, Mallarmé, Verlaine and Rimbaud, to their worthy successors in the twentieth century. The Routledge Handbook of Translation and Education The Routledge Handbook of Translation and Education will present the state of the art of the place and role of translation in educational contexts worldwide. It lays a sound foundation for the future interdisciplinary cooperation between Translation Studies and Educational Linguistics. By adopting a transdisciplinary perspective, the handbook will bring together the various fields of scholarly enquiry and practice that make a valuable contribution to enlarging the notion of translation and diversifying its uses in education. Each contribution provides an overview of the historical background to a given educational setting. Focusing on current research approaches and empirical findings, this volume outlines the development of pedagogical approaches, methods, assessment and curriculum design. The handbook also examines examples of pedagogies that integrate translation in the curriculum, the teaching method's approach, design and procedure as well as assessment. Based on a multilingual and applied-oriented approach, the handbook is essential reading for postgraduate students, researchers and advanced undergraduate students of Translation Studies, and educationalists and educators in the 21st century post-global era. Chapters 4, 25 and 26 of this book are freely available as a downloadable Open Access PDF under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license. https://tandfbis.s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/rt-files/docs/Open+Access+Chapters/9780815368434_oachapter4.pdf https://tandfbis.s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/rt-files/docs/Open+Access+Chapters/9780815368434_oachapter25.pdf https://tandfbis.s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/rt-files/docs/Open+Access+Chapters/9780815368434_oachapter26.pdf
Modern Poetry in Translation  
Oblivion and Stone In a literature where recognition is hard earned, this anthology demonstrates what distinguishes contemporary Bolivian fiction and poetry from the rest of Latin American writing and shows clearly how Bolivian writers relate to that tradition. Bolivia is a landlocked nation of mountains and high, arid plains, a place native writer Jesús Urzagasti calls the "Land of Silence." This crucible of indigenous and European influences has contributed to the creation of a writing style that is always down-to-earth, often grittily realistic. From this fundamental base, Bolivian writers express provincial customs and values, decry political oppression, and sound universal themes of isolation, even resignation; but, more often, they show the will to move forward as a people. This rich thematic mix encourages what critic Edgar Lora has called the "dynamic and vigorous social dis course" and the resulting "subversive, militant, and revolutionary" qualities of Bolivian literature. Editor Sandra Reyes has gathered a panoramic sampling of twenty two poets and eighteen fiction writers. Focusing predominantly on living, practicing writers, this anthology defines the current literary voice of Bolivia and gives us a distillation of the contemporary Bolivian consciousness. Online
Spanish Contemporary Poetry Spanish contemporary poetry: An anthology presents a selection of Spanish peninsular poetry from the 1970s to the present day, with an introductory study of the most relevant poetic trends and poetic groups of the period, followed by guided and close readings of each poem. The anthology includes poems by twenty-two authors selected according to their literary rigour and with attention to the relevance of their work, a comprehensive introductory study, notes, thorough individual commentaries to the poems, and lists of selected vocabulary and rhetorical terms that provide accessibility to the anthology. The poetic selection is divided into sections and subsections in order to aid its pedagogical intent, covering: the poetry written during the transition to democracy; the emergence of poetry written by women in the 1980s; the Spanish poetic field of the 1990s; the poetry written at the turn of the new millennium; and some of the youngest voices in Spanish poetry today. English-speaking students working in the field of Hispanic literature, but also a more general reader keen on literature written in Spanish language, should thoroughly enjoy this work. Poetry Translation Centre
Writing the Real Since the 1960s, poetry in French has been understood in terms of two competing approaches: searching for 'presence' on the one hand, 'littéralité' - refiguring the everyday - on the other. Contemporary forms of both are found in this anthology, from the 'new lyricism' of Bonhomme and Maulpoix to the refracted politics of 'post-poetry' in Tarkos and Gleize. The dichotomy, however, quickly breaks down and many poets refuse to be categorised in this way: recent publications include the interdisciplinary and collaborative work of poets such as Alferi, Chaton, Game and Macher; the focus on formal constraint in Métail and Espitallier; Portugal's exploration of the impact of new technologies. Writing the Real features 18 key contemporary French-language poets alongside English translations by leading poets and translators.  
The Yale Anthology of Twentieth-century French Poetry Not since the publication of Paul Auster's The Random House Book of 20th Century French Poetry (1984) has there been a significant and widely read anthology of modern French poetry in the English-speaking world. Here for the first time is a comprehensive bilingual representation of French poetic achievement in the twentieth century, from the turn-of-the-century poetry of Guillaume Apollinaire to the high modernist art of Samuel Beckett to the contemporary verse of scourge Michel Houellebecq. Many of the English translations (on facing pages) are justly celebrated, composed by eminent figures such as T.S. Eliot, Wallace Stevens, and John Ashbery; many others are new and have been commissioned for this book. Distinguished scholar and editor Mary Ann Caws has chosen work by more than 100 poets. Her deliberately extensive, international selection includes work by Francophone poets, by writers better known for accomplishments in other genres (novelists, songwriters, performance artists), and by many more female poets than have typically been represented in past anthologies of modern French poetry. The editor has opted for a chronological organization that highlights six crucial "pressure points" in modern French poetry. Accompanying the selections are a general introduction, informative essays on each period, and short biographical notes --all prepared by the editor. "A monumental work that will serve as a point of reference for contemporary French studies for many years to come. Reaching beyond canonical works and authors, it runs through culture at large with unsurpassed force and elegance. It will change the course of French studies."--Tom Conley, Harvard University. Online Journals
Perspectives: Studies in Translatology

 

eBooks

Handbook of Translation Studies As a meaningful manifestation of how institutionalized the discipline has become, the new Handbook of Translation Studies is most welcome. It joins the other signs of maturation such as Summer Schools, the development of academic curricula, historical surveys, journals, book series, textbooks, terminologies, bibliographies and encyclopedias. The HTS aims at disseminating knowledge about translation and interpreting and providing easy access to a large range of topics, traditions, and methods to a relatively broad audience: not only students who often adamantly prefer such user-friendliness, researchers and lecturers in Translation Studies, Translation & Interpreting professionals; but also scholars and experts from other disciplines (among which linguistics, sociology, history, psychology). In addition the HTS addresses any of those with a professional or personal interest in the problems of translation, interpreting, localization, editing, etc., such as communication specialists, journalists, literary critics, editors, public servants, business managers, (intercultural) organization specialists, media specialists, marketing professionals. The usability, accessibility and flexibility of the HTS depend on the commitment of people who agree that Translation Studies does matter. All users are therefore invited to share their feedback. Any questions, remarks and suggestions for improvement can be sent to the editorial team at hts@kuleuven.be. Next to the book edition (in printed and electronic, PDF, format), HTS is also available as an online resource, connected with the Translation Studies Bibliography. For access to the Handbook of Translation Studies Online, please visit http://www.benjamins.com/online/hts/ .

Sections: Ethics (p.111-116), Errors (p.385-388), and Tools (p.429-435).

Articles
Ajeesh, A.K. and Pranesh, Kumar. “Self-Translation as an Effective Tool to Restructure the Domain of Translation Studies. IUP Journal of English Studies, vol. 14, no. 4, Dec. 2019, pp. 40–52
Filipović, Luna. “Typology in Action: Applying Typological Insights in the Study of Translation.” International Journal of Applied Linguistics, vol. 18, no. 1, 2008, pp. 23–40
LI, Wenjie. “The Complexity of Indirect Translation : Reflections on the Chinese Translation and Reception of H. C. Andersen's Tales.” Orbis Litterarum, vol. 72, no. 3, 2017, pp. 181–208
Maggio, J. “‘Can the Subaltern Be Heard?’: Political Theory, Translation, Representation, and Gayatri Chakravorty Spivak.” Alternatives, vol. 32, no. 4, Oct. 2017, pp. 419-443
Newton, Christopher. “On a Blind Retranslation of Christian Morgenstern’s Galgenlieder.” AALITRA Review, no. 9, Nov. 2014, pp. 19–41.
Yeh, Michelle. “Modern Chinese Poetry: Translation and Translatability.” Frontiers of Literary Studies in China, vol. 5, no. 4, 2011, pp. 600–609.
Zhu, Lin. “Rewritings in Translation as Clues of Cultural Mediation and Ideological Manipulation: A Case Study of Lin Shu’s Translation of David Copperfield.” Neohelicon, vol. 45, no. 1, June 2018, pp. 351–366