| Library status: currently open during regularly scheduled hours. |
| Library status: currently open during regularly scheduled hours. |
For books and articles about art in the age of Realism, please see the class guide, "Traditions of Art II." Find the guide here: https://libguides.ltu.edu/c.php?g=989951&p=7161038
Adapting Chekhov: The Text and its Mutations by
This book considers the hundred years of re-writes of Anton Chekhov's work, presenting a wide geographical landscape of Chekhovian influences in drama. The volume examines the elusive quality of Chekhov's dramatic universe as an intricate mechanism, an engine in which his enigmatic characters exist as the dramatic and psychological ciphers we have been de-coding for a century, and continue to do so.nbsp;Examining the practice and the theory of dramatic adaptation both as intermedial transformation (from page to stage) and as intramedial mutation, from page to page, thenbsp;book presents adaptation as the emerging genre of drama, theatre, and film. This trend marks the performative and social practices of the new millennium, highlighting our epoch's need to engage with the history of dramatic forms and their evolution. The collection demonstrates that adaptation as the practice of transformation and as a re-thinking of habitual dramatic norms and genre definitions leads to the rejuvenation of existing dramatic and performative standards, pioneering the creation of new traditions and expectations. As the major mode of the storytelling imagination, adaptation can build upon and drive the audience's horizons of expectations in theatre aesthetics. Hence, this volume investigates the original and transformative knowledge that the story of Chekhov's drama in mutations offers to scholars of drama and performance, to students of modern literatures and cultures, and to theatre practitioners worldwide. nbsp;
All Men Are Brothers by
Famous for his successful leadership of non-violent Nationalist resistance to British Imperial rule in India, Mohandas K. Gandhi is one of the most iconic figures of the 20th century. All Men Are Brothers brings together some of his most important writings in a single volume. As well as Gandhi's inspiring articulation of his philosophy of non-violent resistance and his thoughts on religion and theology, the book also includes reflections on topics ranging from politics, education, women's rights and technology as well as meditations on his own life. Now available in the Bloomsbury Revelations series, the book also includes a glossary of terms and a brief chronology of Gandhi's life.
Anna Karenina by
Leo Tolstoy 's most personal novel, Anna Karenina scrutinizes fundamental ethical and theological questions through the tragic story of its eponymous heroine. Anna is desperately pursuing a good, moral life, standing for honesty and sincerity. Passion drives her to adultery, and this flies in the face of the corrupt Russian bourgeoisie. Meanwhile, the aristocrat Konstantin Levin is struggling to reconcile reason with passion, espousing a Christian anarchism that Tolstoy himself believed in. Acclaimed by critics and readers alike, Anna Karenina presents a poignant blend of realism and lyricism that makes it one of the most perfect, enduring novels of all time.
Anna Karenina and Others: Tolstoy's labyrinth of Plots by
With its complex structure, Anna Karenina places special demands on readers who must follow multiple plotlines and discern their hidden linkages. In her well-conceived and jargon-free analysis, Liza Knapp offers a fresh approach to understanding how the novel is constructed, how it creates patterns of meaning, and why it is much more than Tolstoy's version of an adultery story. Knapp provides a series of readings of Anna Karenina that draw on other works that were critical to Tolstoy's understanding of the interconnectedness of human lives. Among the texts she considers are The Scarlet Letter, a novel of adultery with a divided plot; Middlemarch, a multiplot novel with neighborly love as its ideal; and Blaise Pascal's Pensées, which fascinated Tolstoy during his own religious crisis. She concludes with a tour-de-force reading of Mrs. Dalloway that shows Virginia Woolf constructing this novel in response to Tolstoy's treatment of Anna Karenina and others.
Anniversary Essays on Tolstoy by
A century after Leo Tolstoy's death, the author of War and Peace is widely admired but too often thought of only with reference to his realism and moral sense. The many sides of Tolstoy revealed in these new essays speak to today's readers with astonishing force, relevance, and complexity. In a lively, challenging style, leading scholars range over his long life, from his first work Childhood to the works of his old age like Hadji Murat, and the many genres in which he worked, from the major novels to aphorisms and short stories. The essays present new approaches to his central themes: love, death, religious faith and doubt, violence, the animal kingdom, and war. They also assess his reception both in his lifetime and subsequently. Setting new agendas for the study of this classic author, this volume provides a snapshot of current scholarship on Tolstoy.
Anton Chekhov's Plays by
Critical discussions on Chekhov's dramatic purpose and structure as well as biographical material accompany a new translation of the plays.
Anton Chekhov's Short Stories by
They present a wide spectrum of comic and serious themes and a variety of techniques. (His short novels, available in another Norton volume, Seven Short Novels by Chekhov, have been omitted.) Two of the stories have been translated for this edition by Professor Matlaw; the other translations, by Constance Garnett, Ivy Litvinov, and Marian Fell, have been revised in accordance with contemporary usage. Footnotes have been supplied wherever necessary to explain peculiarities of Russian life and the historical era in which Chekhov lived and wrote. "Backgrounds" includes a rich selection of Chekhov's letters, in new translations by Professor Matlaw, and Gorky's celebrated essay on Chekhov, translated by Ivy Litvinov. The critical essays offer general views of Chekhov's art and achievement and detailed analyses of particular stories. The critics are D. S. Mirsky, A. B. Derman (whose essay has been translated from the Russian especially for this edition), Renato Poggioli, Gleb Struve, Donald Rayfield, Karl Kramer, Virginia Llewellyn Smith, and Nils Ake Nilsson. A Selected Bibliography directs readers to resources for further study.
Anton Chekhov: A Study of the Short Fiction by 
Anton Chekhov: The Huntsman & Other Short Stories (Volume 8) by 
Archetypes from Underground: Notes on the Dostoevskian Self by
Archetypes from Underground: Notes on the Dostoevskian Self uncovers archetypal imagery in Dostoevskys stories and novels and argues that archetypes bring a new dimension to our understanding and appreciation of his works. In this interdisciplinary study, Harrison analyzes selected texts in light of fresh research in Dostoevsky studies, cultural history, comparative mythology, and depth psychology. He argues that one of Dostoevsky's chief concerns is the crisis of modernity, and that he dramatizes the conflicts of the modern self by depicting the dynamic, transformative nature of the psyche. Harrison finds the language and imagery of archetypes in Dostoevskys characters, symbols, and themes, and shows how these resonate in remarkable ways with the archetypes of self, persona, and the shadow. He demonstrates that major themes in Dostoevsky coincide with Western esotericism, such as the complementarity of opposites, transformation, and the symbolism of death and resurrection. These arguments inform a close reading of several of Dostoevskys texts, including The Double , Notes from Underground , and The Brothers Karamazov . Archetypes inform these works and others, bringing vitality to Dostoevskys major characters and themes. This research represents a departure from the religious and philosophical questions that have dominated Dostoevsky studies. This work is the first sustained analysis of Dostoevskys work in light of archetypes, framing a topic that calls for further investigation. Archetypes illumine the authors ideas about Russian national identity and its faith traditions and help us redefine our understanding of Russian realism and the prominent place Dostoevsky occupies within it.
Aspects of Dostoevskii by
Perhaps more than any other nineteenth-century Russian writer, Dostoevskii's continuing popularity rests on his contemporary relevance. The prophetic streak in his creativity gives him the same lasting appeal as dystopian novelists such as Zamiatin and Orwell whom he influenced and whose ethical concerns he anticipated. Religious themes are prominent in his work, too, and, though he was a believer, his interest seems to lie in the tension between faith and unbelief, which was felt as keenly in the Russia of his time as in our own. The nature of Dostoevskii's art also continues to be debated. The older tendency to disparage his literary method has given way to a recognition of the originality of his techniques, without which his ideological concerns would not have emerged with such thought-provoking clarity. The chapters which comprise this volume address these issues in a range of Dostoevskii's works, from shorter classics, such as House of the Dead and Notes from Underground to great novels such as Crime and Punishment and The Brothers Karamazov. This work will be of use to scholars and students of Dostoevskii at all levels as well as to those with an interest in nineteenth-century literature more generally.
August Strindberg by
Dramatist, theatre practitioner, novelist, and painter, August Strindberg's diverse dramatic output embodied the modernist sensibility. He was above all one of the most radical innovators of Western theatre. This book provides an insightful assessment of Strindberg's vital contribution to the dramatic arts, while placing his creative process and experimental approach within a wider cultural context. Eszter Szalczer explores Strindberg's re-definition of drama as a fluid, constantly evolving form that profoundly influenced playwriting and theatrical production from the German Expressionists to the Theatre of the Absurd. Key productions of Strindberg's plays are analysed, examining his theatre as a living voice that continues to challenge audiences, critics, and even the most innovative directors. August Strindberg provides an essential and accessible guide to the playwright's work and illustrates the influence of his drama on our understanding of contemporary theatre.
Boyhood by
Leo Tolstoy, author of such masterpieces of fiction as War and Peace and Anna Karenina, also wrote extensively about his own life experiences. In this series of essays, Tolstoy presents a creatively re-imagined version of his earliest recollections and influences.
The Brothers Karamazov: Worlds of the Novel by 
The Brothers Karamazov by F. M. Dostoevskij by 
The Cambridge Introduction to Chekhov by
Chekhov is widely acknowledged as one of the most influential literary figures of modern times. Russia's preeminent playwright, he played a significant role in revolutionizing the modern theatre. His impact on prose fiction writing is incalculable: he helped define the modern short story. Beginning with an engaging account of Chekhov's life and cultural context in nineteenth-century Russia, this book introduces the reader to this fascinating and complex personality. Unlike much criticism of Chekhov, it includes detailed discussions of both his fiction and his plays. The Introduction traces his concise, impressionistic prose style from early comic sketches to mature works such as 'Ward No. 6' and 'In the Ravine'. Examining Chekhov's development as a dramatist, the book considers his one-act vaudevilles and early works, while providing a detailed, act-by-act analysis of the masterpieces on which his reputation rests: The Seagull, Uncle Vanya, Three Sisters and The Cherry Orchard.
Chekhov: A Study of the Major Stories and Plays by
This 1977 study of Chekhov examines his development and achievement as prose-writer and dramatist. Beverly Hahn draws attention to the range and depth of Chekhov's imagination, disputing any limited conception of him as a 'poet of twilight Russia'. By looking in detail at a number of the longer stories as well as at Three Sisters and The Cherry Orchard, she makes a strong case for viewing Chekhov as a humanist - one actively interested in modern European theories and ideas, but finally committed to respecting and celebrating the unpredictability and variety of human lives. She also explores Chekhov's relationship with his Russian contemporaries and his importance to the modern European tradition. All quotations are in English, but Miss Hahn pays close attention to Chekhov's imagery as it relates to wider structural perspectives of his works. The book as a whole is intended both for professional students of literature and as a critical introduction to Chekhov's work.
A Chekhov Companion by 
The Cherry Orchard, and Other Plays by
The Cherry Orchard was written by Chekhov as a comedy, but directed by Stanislavski as a tragedy on its premier. The play has maintained the dual nature of these intentions ever since. An aristocratic family return to their estate on the eve of auction. Though alternatives present themselves, the family is apathetic and their property is sold. The play addresses the vast changes to the Russian social casts at the time, and the general cultural futility experienced by the aristocracy and bourgeoisie in their shifting roles.
CliffsNotes on Turgenev's Fathers and Sons by
One of the classics of world literature, Turgenev's story deals with the social pressures and conflicts of mid-19th-century Russia in the story of a nihilist who is still open to love's power. When first published, the novel caused terrific uproar, from conservatives and liberals alike.
Critical Essays on Henrik Ibsen by 
Culture and the Literary Text: The Case of Flaubert's Madame Bovary by
With thorough research and reasoned arguments, Dr. Lambros's empirical study of 188 subjects proves that language, whether the original or not, is not the determinant factor in comprehending culture from a literary work. Discussed with the authority of an experienced, multilingual language professor, Culture and the Literary Text uses Flaubert's Madame Bovary to establish concepts of temporality, territoriality, and interaction as critical elements to understanding French culture.
A Desperate Character and Other Stories by 
The Diary of a Superfluous Man by
Immerse yourself in a compendium of literary virtuosity with this volume of short stories from Russian author Ivan Turgenev, who is regarded as one of the masters of the form. In the title piece, a man on the verge of succumbing to a terminal illness looks back over his life and marvels over the mystery of his own mundane existence.
Disarming Manhood: Roots of Ethical Resistance by
Masculine codes of honor and dominance often are expressed in acts of violence, including war and terrorism. In Disarming Manhood: Roots of Ethical Resistance, David A.J. Richards examines the lives of five famous men--great leaders and crusaders--who actively resisted violence and presented their causes with more humane alternatives. Richards argues that Winston Churchill, William Lloyd Garrison, Mohandas Gandhi, Martin Luther King, and Leo Tolstoy shared a psychology whose nonviolent roots were deeply influenced by a loving, maternalistic ethos deeply influenced by the teachings of Jesus of Nazareth. Drawing upon psychology, history, political theory, and literature, Richards threads a connection between these leaders and the maternal figures who profoundly shaped their responses to conflict. Their lives and work underscore how the outlook of maternal care givers and women enables some men to resist the violent responses characteristic of traditional manhood. The voice of nonviolent masculinity has empowered important democratic movements of ethical transformation, including civil disobedience in South Africa, India, and the United States. Disarming Manhood demonstrates that as Churchill, Garrison, Gandhi, King, and Tolstoy carried out their various missions they were galvanized by teachings whose ethical foundations rejected unjust violence and favored peaceful alternatives. Accessibly written and free of jargon, Disarming Manhood's exploration of human nature and maternal bonds will interest a wide audience as it furthers the understanding of human nature itself and contributes to the fields of developmental psychology and feminist scholarship.
Dostoevskii's Overcoat by
One of the most famous quotations in the history of Russian literature is Fedor Dostoevskii's alleged assertion that 'We have all come out from underneath Gogol's Overcoat'. Even if Dostoevskii never said this, there is a great deal of truth in the comment. Gogol certainly was a profound influence on his work, as were many others. Part of this book's project is to locate Dostoevskii in relationship to his predecessors and contemporaries. However, the primary aim is to turn the oft-quoted apocryphal comment on its head, to see the profound influence Dostoevskii had on the lives, work and thought of his contemporaries and successors. This influence extends far beyond Russia and beyond literature. Dostoevskii may be seen as the single greatest influence on the sensibilities of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. To a greater or lesser extent those concerned with the creative arts in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries have all come out from under Dostoevskii's 'Overcoat'.
A Dostoevskii Companion: Texts and Contexts by
The powerful, impassioned, and often frenetic prose of Fedor Dostoevskii continues to fascinate readers in the twenty-first century, even though we are far removed from Dostoevskii's Russia. A Dostoevskii Companion: Texts and Contexts aims to help students and readers navigate the writer's fiction and his world, to better understand the cultural and sociopolitical milieu in which Dostoevskii lived and wrote. Rather than offer a single definitive view of the author, the book contains a collection of documents from Dostoevskii's own time (excerpts from his letters, his journalism, and what his contemporaries wrote about him), as well as extracts from the major critical studies of Dostoevskii from the contemporary academy. The volume equips readers with a deeper understanding of Dostoevskii's world and his writing, offering new paths and directions for interpreting his writing.
Dostoevsky by
Joseph Frank's award-winning, five-volume Dostoevsky is widely recognized as the best biography of the writer in any language--and one of the greatest literary biographies of the past half-century. Now Frank's monumental, 2500-page work has been skillfully abridged and condensed in this single, highly readable volume with a new preface by the author. Carefully preserving the original work's acclaimed narrative style and combination of biography, intellectual history, and literary criticism, Dostoevsky: A Writer in His Time illuminates the writer's works--from his first novel Poor Folk to Crime and Punishment and The Brothers Karamazov--by setting them in their personal, historical, and above all ideological context. More than a biography in the usual sense, this is a cultural history of nineteenth-century Russia, providing both a rich picture of the world in which Dostoevsky lived and a major reinterpretation of his life and work.
Dostoevsky by
In this passionate and tender book, John Jones discusses the narrative techniques and linguistic subtleties of the novels of Dostoevsky.
Dostoevsky by
Konstantin Mochulsky's critical biography is, in the words of George Gibian, "the best single work in any language about Dostoevsky's work as a whole." Through its close and insightful analysis of individual writings, relating them to his personal life and fortunes, it provides a sustained account of Dostoevsky's evolution as a novelist. Already established as a modern classic in the original Russian and in the French translation, this superb book is now available in English.
Dostoevsky's Democracy by
Dostoevsky's Democracy offers a major reinterpretation of the life and work of the great Russian writer by closely reexamining the crucial transitional period between the early works of the 1840s and the important novels of the 1860s. Sentenced to death in 1849 for utopian socialist political activity, the 28-year-old Dostoevsky was subjected to a mock execution and then exiled to Siberia for a decade, including four years in a forced labor camp, where he experienced a crisis of belief. It has been influentially argued that the result of this crisis was a conversion to Russian Orthodoxy and reactionary politics. But Dostoevsky's Democracy challenges this view through a close investigation of Dostoevsky's Siberian decade and its most important work, the autobiographical novel Notes from the House of the Dead (1861). Nancy Ruttenburg argues that Dostoevsky's crisis was set off by his encounter with common Russians in the labor camp, an experience that led to an intense artistic meditation on what he would call Russian "democratism." By tracing the effects of this crisis, Dostoevsky's Democracy presents a new understanding of Dostoevsky's aesthetic and political development and his role in shaping Russian modernity itself, especially in relation to the preeminent political event of his time, peasant emancipation.
Dostoevsky's Religion by
Any reader of Dostoevsky is immediately struck by the importance of religion within the world of his fiction. That said, it is very difficult to locate a coherent set of religious beliefs within Dostoevsky's works, and to argue that the writer embraced these beliefs. This book provides a trenchant reassessment of his religion by showing how Dostoevsky used his writings as the vehicle for an intense probing of the nature of Christianity, of the individual meaning of belief and doubt, and of the problems of ethical behavior that arise from these questions. The author argues that religion represented for Dostoevsky a welter of conflicting views and stances, from philosophical idealism to nationalist messianism. The strength of this study lies in its recognition of the absence of a single religious prescription in Dostoevsky's works, as well as in its success in tracing the background of the ideas animating Dostoevsky's religious probing.
Dostoevsky's the Idiot and the Ethical Foundations of Narrative by
In considering Dostoevsky's 'The Idiot', a novel less easily defined in terms of plot and ideas than his other major fictional works, Sarah Young addresses problems in the novel unresolved by previous interpretations, and in doing so fills a significant gap in Dostoevsky studies. 'Dostoevsky's The Idiot and the Ethical Foundations of Narrative' provides an innovative theoretical framework for an analysis that integrates structural and narratological considerations with thematic (religious and ethical) aspects, by focusing on the characters' interactivity as the most fundamental level on which the ethical systems of the novel are enacted. It examines the questions of what ethical bases are put forward by the novel, what faith-issues and philosophical world-views they derive from, and how, in terms of structuring and narration rather than simply thematically, they are presented in the novel.
Dostoevsky and the Christian Tradition by
This collection brings together Western and Russian perspectives on the issues raised by the religious element in Dostoevsky's work. The essays cover such topics as temptation, his use of the gospels, the Russian tradition of the veneration of icons, as well as reading aloud, and dialogism. In addition to an exploration of the impact of the Christian tradition on Dostoevsky's major novels, Crime and Punishment,The Idiot and The Brothers Karamazov, there are also discussions of lesser known works such as The Landlady and A Little Boy at Christ's Christmas Tree.
Dostoevsky and the Novel by
What place do Dostoevsky's works occupy in the history of the novel? To answer this question, Michael Holquist focuses on the formal aspects of Dostoevskian narrative. The author argues that the novel is a genre that constantly seeks its own identity: we still do not know what it is, since the uniqueness of its members defines the class to which it belongs. This anomaly explains the central role of the novel for Russians, perplexed as they were in the nineteenth century by idiosyncrasies that hindered development of a coherent national identity. Michael Holquist shows that the generic impulse of the novel to explore the mysteries of individual biography met and fused in Dostoevsky's works with the national quest of the Russians for an identity of their own. The paradox of the writer's achievement consists in the degree to which his meditations on the significance of being without a past are grounded in history. Originally published in 1977. The Princeton Legacy Library uses the latest print-on-demand technology to again make available previously out-of-print books from the distinguished backlist of Princeton University Press. These editions preserve the original texts of these important books while presenting them in durable paperback and hardcover editions. The goal of the Princeton Legacy Library is to vastly increase access to the rich scholarly heritage found in the thousands of books published by Princeton University Press since its founding in 1905.
Dostoyevsky's Critique of the West: The Quest for the Earthly Paradise by
Not much attention has been given to Dostoyevsky's concern with the crisis of the modern West, although allusions to almost every aspect of Western civilizationâincluding the political, economic, and social dimensionsâare present in his literary works and abound in his secondary writings. This book points the way to a better understanding of the apparent contradiction between Dostoyevsky's concern with the highest reaches of human spirituality and at the same time with the most detailed developments in domestic and international politics. Ward argues that the apparent polarization of "religious" thought and "political" analysis of the West are held together for Dostoyevsky in his search for the best human order. He demonstrates not only that Dostoyevsky's observations about the West constitute a coherent critique intimately related to the deepest aspects of his though, but also that these can be rendered more systematic and explicit. What results is an incisve account of both the religious and the political thought of Dostoyevsky, which helps clarify what Dostoyevsky, which helps clarify what Dostoyevsky can teach us about the modern situation of the Western world and about the problem of human order in general, for, as the author states, "it was Dostoyevsky's great virtue as a thinker always to see the pressing issues of his particular time and place in the light of the 'everlasting problems.'"
Essays on Modernism, Democracy and Well-Being: A Gandhian Perspective by
A tour de force in understanding the failure of democracy in providing human well-being.Has democracy ended human suffering, a task that the political system set out for itself? Or is democracy incompatible with modernity and, therefore, fails to achieve human well-being? If so, are we left with any option? The book asks these acutely political questions and states emphatically that democracy has failed to ensure the well-being of humanity as a whole. Further, it tries to answer this by exploring the Gandhian alternative to modernism and democracy in contemporary times. In the words of the authors themselves, 'We are aware that in a world divided into a number of ideological camps, the way out suggested in this book will invite ridicule and accusation of orthodoxy. However, the truth has to be told, no matter what the reaction′.
Fathers and Children by
The English rendition of the title of this novel has been problematic since the book's publication in 1862. In his prefatory note to the Second Edition, Katz explains his decision to return to the original title, the one preferred by the author himself: Ottsy i deti, literally "Fathers and Children."The novel is accompanied by a rich selection of Turgenev's letters that illustrate his involvement in the critical controversy that surrounded the publication of Fathers and Children. Four of the most significant critiques of the day--by Dmitry Pisarev, Nikolai Strakhov, Apollon Grigorev, and Alexander Herzen--further enhance the reader's understanding of this critical firestorm.Twenty-three critical essays--seven of which are new to the Second Edition--are organized around several themes: the issue of translation; politics, including Turgenev's liberalism, his view of revolution, and his attitude toward nihilism; and various literary aspects, including Turgenev's use of imagery, generational conflict, the role of women, and the growing impact of science on society.A Chronology of Tolstoy's life and work and an updated Selected Bibliography are also included.
Five Plays by
Anton Pavlovich Chekhov (1860-1904) overturned the dramatic conventions of his day and laid the groundwork for contemporary approaches to directing and acting. Now, for the first time, the full lyricism, humor, and pathos of his greatest plays are available to an English-speaking audience. Marina Brodskaya's new translations of Ivanov, The Seagull, Uncle Vanya, Three Sisters, and The Cherry Orchard not only surpass in accuracy all previous translations, but also provide the first complete English text of the plays, restoring passages entirely omitted by her predecessors. This much-needed volume renders Chekhov in language that will move readers and theater audiences alike, making accessible his wordplay, unstated implications, and innovations. His characters' vulnerabilities, needs, and neuroses--their humanity--emerge through their genuine, self-absorbed conversations. The plays come to life as never before and will surprise readers with their vivacity, originality, and relevance.
Flaubert by
Michel Winock situates Flaubert in France's century of great democratic transition. Wary of the masses, Flaubert rejected universal suffrage, but above all he hated the vulgar, ignorant bourgeoisie, a class that embodied every vice of the democratic age. His loathing became a fixation--and a source of literary inspiration.
Flaubert: The Uses of Uncertainty by 
Fyodor Dostoevsky by
-- Brings together the best criticism on the most widely read poets, novelists, and playwrights -- Presents complex critical portraits of the most influential writers in the English-speaking world -- from the English medievalists to contemporary writers
Fyodor Dostoevsky--In the Beginning (1821-1845): A Life in Letters, Memoirs and Criticism by
More than a century after his death in 1881, Fyodor Dostoevsky continues to fascinate readers and reviewers. Countless studies of his writing have been published--more than a dozen in the past few years alone. In this important new work, Thomas Marullo provides a diary-portrait of Dostoevsky's early years drawn from the letters, memoirs, and criticism of the writer, as well as from the testimony and witness of family and friends, readers and reviewers, and observers and participants in his life. Marullo's exhaustive search of published materials on Dostoevsky sheds light on many unexplored corners of Dostoevsky's childhood, adolescence, and youth. Speakers of excerpts are given maximum freedom: Anything they said about the writer--the good and the bad, the truth and the lies--are included, with extensive footnotes providing correctives, counter-arguments, and other pertinent information. The first part of this volume, "All in the Family," focuses on Dostoevsky's early formation and schooling, i.e., his time in city and country, and his ties to his family, particularly his parents. The second section, "To Petersburg!," features Dostoevsky's early days in Russia's imperial city, his years at the Main Engineering Academy, and the death of his father. The third part, "Darkness before Dawn," deals with the writer's youthful struggles and strivings, culminating in the success of his work, Poor Folk. This clear and comprehensive portrait of one of the world's greatest writers will appeal to students, teachers, and scholars of Dostoevsky's early life, as well as general readers interested in Dostoevsky, literature, and history.
Gandhi's Ascetic Activism: Renunciation and Social Action by
Discusses Gandhi's creative use of ascetic practice, particularly his practice of celibacy, for nonviolent activism.
Gandhi and Non-Violence by
"The issues of South Africa and the nuclear bomb and theologies of liberation have for some time spotlighted the question of violence and non-violence. The strength or weakness of Gandhian non-violence often comes up in discussions on the subject. This manuscript analyzes Gandhian non-violence. The analysis is able, thorough and-this is what I most respond to-marked both by rigorous Western-style scrutiny and a familiarity with Gandhi's philosophical and religious roots. He provides a strong theoretical basis for the instinctive reactions of many of Gandhi's non-violence, for the widespread and commonsense belief that in general non-violence is sound and beneficial but that non-violent extremism may not be. His treatment of Gandhian non-violence in the context of Indian philosophy and metaphysics is of high calibre. His approach is both fresh and successful." - Rajmohan Gandhi "Borman shows in great detail where Gandhi's thought arises from the Upanisads, The Bhagavad Gita, and a few other ancient documents. He also shows clearly where Gandhi deviates from his sources. As to argument, Borman uses a close-grained approach characteristic of analytic philosophy. Borman claims that Gandhi's principles are extreme and unsupportable, and eventually lead to contradiction. It is not an intellectual biography, and it does not deal with the development of Gandhi's thought. Rather it analyzes the logic of his position, and shows how he came to defend it from new angles in different circumstances. The text is well related to historical events, but does not pretend to history." - Robert C. Neville "The manuscript is not, and does not pretend to be, a historical analysis of Mahatma Gandhi's experience. Its notable strength lies in its unique and commendable examination of Gandhi's philosophy of non-violence, and in this particular respect it is the best study of the subject that I have read among the hundreds of books that deal with aspects of Gandhi's contribution to our understanding of non-violence." - Dennis Dalton "It is refreshing to read an author who has a basis for understanding Gandhi since so many writers fail to understand or appreciate the spiritual essentials that form the core of Gandhi's life and message. This book rings with clear, accurate, insightful understandings of Gandhi. It explores fully Gandhi's philosophy of action and brings in scriptural sources for concepts that Gandhi practiced in his everyday affairs. I think the Western reader will gain a much needed clarification of Gandhian philosophy, methods, and actions, and especially of the source of his inspiration and intentions." - Jean B. Mann
The Gandhian Moment by
The father of Indian independence, Gandhi was also a political theorist who challenged mainstream ideas. Sovereignty, he said, depends on the consent of citizens willing to challenge the state nonviolently when it acts immorally. The culmination of the inner struggle to recognize one's duty to act is the ultimate "Gandhian moment."
Gandhi in the West: The Mahatma and the Rise of Radical Protest by
The non-violent protests of civil rights activists and anti-nuclear campaigners during the 1960s helped to redefine Western politics. But where did they come from? Sean Scalmer uncovers their history in an earlier generation's intense struggles to understand and emulate the activities of Mahatma Gandhi. He shows how Gandhi's non-violent protests were the subject of widespread discussion and debate in the USA and UK for several decades. Though at first misrepresented by Western newspapers, they were patiently described and clarified by a devoted group of cosmopolitan advocates. Small groups of Westerners experimented with Gandhian techniques in virtual anonymity and then, on the cusp of the 1960s, brought these methods to a wider audience. The swelling protests of later years increasingly abandoned the spirit of non-violence, and the central significance of Gandhi and his supporters has therefore been forgotten. This book recovers this tradition, charts its transformation, and ponders its abiding significance.
Great Stories by Chekhov by
Regarded as the father of the short story as well as the first modern fiction writer, Anton Chekhov rejected conventional forms to examine the lives of ordinary people in prosaic situations. His impressionistic depictions of Russian life and the human condition resound with emotional honesty, focusing on character rather than plot and revealing subtle but important truths. Thomas Mann held Chekhov in highest esteem, declaring, 'His short stories rank with all that is greatest and best of European literature.' This compilation of seven tales attests to the timeless appeal of the Russian author's short fiction. Selections include 'Misery', an account of a sleigh-driver's attempts to communicate his overwhelming grief; 'A Father', a meditation on the conflict between rejecting a monstrous parent and giving him his respectful due; 'A Problem', which proposes that criminals cannot reform unless they pay for their misdeeds; and 'In Exile,' an examination of whether it is better to dream of happiness or to accept a living hell. Other tales include 'Ward No. 6', relating a conflict between an asylum inmate and the institution's director; 'My Life: The Story of a Provincial', in which a rebellious young bourgeois joins the working classes; and 'Peasants', an expose of the dehumanising effects of poverty. AUTHOR: Next to Shakespeare, Anton Chekhov (1860-1904) is the most popular playwright in the English-speaking world. The Russian physician also wrote a series of remarkable short stories, in which he pioneered the stream-of-consciousness narrative technique.
A Gustave Flaubert Encyclopedia by
Gustave Flaubert is probably the most famous novelist of nineteenth-century France, and his best known work, Madame Bovary, is read in numerous comparative literature and French courses. His fiction set the standard to which other authors turned to learn their craft, and his cult of art and his unrelenting search for stylistic perfection inspired many later writers, such as Maupassant, Proust, Conrad, Faulkner, and Joyce. His denunciation of materialistic, corrupt society; his fascination with altered states of consciousness; his oscillation between metaphysical longings and a radical nihilism; and his deep-seated mistrust of the adequacy of words themselves anticipate the works of contemporary authors. This reference is a convenient guide to his life and writings. Included in this volume are several hundred alphabetically arranged entries on Flaubert's individual works and major characters; historical persons and events that shaped his life; the themes that run throughout his writings; the critical approaches employed by scholars studying his works; and related topics of interest. Each entry is written by an expert contributor and most close with a brief bibliography. All of his major works are treated at length, and the volume mentions nearly every unpublished project of his that has a title. The book concludes with a selected, general bibliography of major studies.
Hedda Gabler by
Hedda Gabler is bored with everything, even her new marriage. Resigning herself to a life of domesticity, she becomes nervous when her husband, George Tesman, tells her they are tight on money. George hasn't become the success Hedda thought he would. When George's academic rival, Eilert Lövborg, enters the picture, Hedda begins manipulating the lives of others, leading to multiple tragedies. First published in 1890 in Norway and performed in 1891 in Germany, this play by Norwegian dramatist Henrik Ibsen explores the consequences that can arise from a desire for freedom and power. This is an unabridged version of the translation by Edmund Gosse and William Archer.
The House of the Dead: Or Prison Life in Siberia by
In 1849, renowned Russian thinker and novelist Fyodor Dostoyevsky was sentenced to execution for his subversive political beliefs. As he awaited his turn in front of the firing squad, Tsar Nicholas I sent a message commuting the writer's sentence to a period of exile in Siberia. He spent the next four years there engaged in hard labor. Dostoyevsky's gripping novel The House of the Dead is based largely on his own experiences in a Siberian labor camp.
How Dostoevsky Portrays Women in His Novels by
This study explores the relationship between public work and influence, and private faith and spiritual development, through the female characters in Dostoevsky's novels; and also the influence of one writer upon another. The intention was, first, to establish whether, in literary terms, women may be viewed as characters in their own right, rather than merely as symbols or consorts for the men; and, secondly, whether, from a feminist theological perspective, Dostoevsky takes seriously the experience of women in terms of their relationships and work, Christian faith and spiritual development, and conflict with personal and institutional evil.
Ibsen's Drama: Author to Audience by
Ibsen's Drama was first published in 1979. Minnesota Archive Editions uses digital technology to make long-unavailable books once again accessible, and are published unaltered from the original University of Minnesota Press editions."A dramatist for all seasons" Einar Haugen calls Henrik Ibsen in this series of lectures given in honor of the 150th anniversary of the Norwegian playwright's birth. Using a modified version of the communications model developed by linguist Roman Jakobson, Haugen provides a readable, succinct analysis of Ibsen's thinking and dramaturgy. He examines the ways in which Ibsen the author communicated with his nineteenth-century audience and is able, still, to move and inform playgoers today.Haugen brings to this work a lifetime of familiarity with Ibsen in Norwegian and in translation, and he draws upon his own experience as a theatergoer and as an observer of student and audience reaction to the plays. Ibsen's Drama will bring pleasure and a deeper understanding of the playwright to students and playgoers alike.Einar Haugen is Victor S. Thomas Professor of Scandinavian and Linguistics, emeritus, at Harvard University. He is author, editor, or translator of many books and articles in linguistics, literature, and immigrant history, notably The Norwegian Language in America (1953), The Scandinavian Languages (1976), and Land of the Free (1978).
Ibsen's Lively Art: A Performance Study of the Major Plays by
A play is fundamentally a text for performance, capable of achieving complete expression only in the living encounter between actor and spectator, the Markers argue in their new study of Henrik Ibsen in the theatre. The challenge of his plays has stimulated a remarkable range of creative responses on the part of actors, directors, and stage designers. All agree that a deeper meaning underlies the 'reality' Ibsen represents, yet the precise manner of its expression is the lively variant that gives his greatest plays their abiding fascination in performance. Ibsen's Lively Art explores key stage productions and clusters of productions in detail, in an effort to shed new light on the central problems of interpretation governing each of six major Ibsen plays, from a romantic work like Peer Gynt to a late 'symbolic' one like John Gabriel Borkman. Guided by primary sources and often supported by their own firsthand observation, the authors push beyond the more familiar confines of English Ibsen into the less commonly traversed territory of German, Russian, French, and, in particular, Scandinavian theatre culture.
Ibsen Henrik: The Critical Heritage by
This set comprises 40 volumes covering 19th and 20th century European and American authors. These volumes will be available as a complete set, mini boxed sets (by theme) or as individual volumes. This second set complements the first 68 volume set of Critical Heritage published by Routledge in October 1995.
Importing Madame Bovary: The Politics of Adultery by
After its succès de scandale in France in 1856, Flaubert's Madame Bovary was widely adapted, sometimes so closely they were dismissed as plagiarism yet they achieved canonical status in their national traditions. This study traces Madame Bovary's journey abroad and asks why the novel was given such import in foreign literatures.
The Impossible Indian by
This is a rare view of Gandhi as a hard-hitting political thinker willing to countenance the greatest violence in pursuit of a global vision that went beyond a nationalist agenda. Guided by his idea of ethical duty as the source of the self's sovereignty, he understood how life's quotidian reality could be revolutionized to extraordinary effect.
Indian Critiques of Gandhi by
Through examinations of Gandhi's critics, both individuals and groups, this book shows the complexity of Indian society and opinion at the time of the Indian Independence Movement. Although Gandhi has been the subject of hundreds of books and an Oscar-winning film, there has been no sustained study of his engagement with major figures in the Indian Independence Movement who were often his critics from 1920-1948. This book fills that gap by examining the strengths and weaknesses of Gandhi's contribution to India as evidenced in the letters, speeches, and newspaper articles focused on the dialogue/debate between Gandhi and Jawaharlal Nehru, Rabindranath Tagore, Sri Aurobindo, Bhim Rao Ambedkar, Annie Besant, and C. F. Andrews. The book also covers key groups within India that Gandhi sought to incorporate into his Independence Movement--the Hindu Right, Muslims, Christians, and Sikhs--and analyzes Gandhi's ambiguous stance regarding the Hindi-Urdu question and its impact on the Independence struggle.
A Karenina Companion by
Although Anna Karenina has been described as the European novel by Frank Leavis, the geographical setting of the novel and, increasingly, its temporal and cultural setting, render it a foreign novel to most readers. A Karenina Companion offers a wealth of information, including a great deal that has previously not been available in English, for the scholarly and literary appreciation of this great novel. Chapter 1 is a biographical introduction and Chapter 2 an examination of the way in which the novel was composed. In Chapter 3 the author brings together Tolstois own substantial comments on his work. Chapter 4 adduces the main differences between the latest edition of the text and what has been the standard edition for over 50 years. Chapter 5 outlines what Tolstoi was reading as he was writing the novel. The final chapter provides a survey of significant secondary literature, with English-language works listed in appendices. A Karenina Companion will facilitate both the reading and understanding of the novel by English speakers and the writing of informed and reliable critical appreciations.
The Kreutzer Sonata and Other Stories by
`To love him was not enough for me after the happiness I had felt in falling in love. I wanted movement and not a calm course of existence. I wanted excitement and danger and the chance to sacrifice myself for my love.'Leo Tolstoy, known to the world for his famous novels, also created throughout his sixty-year career as a writer a significant body of works of shorter ficiton. These fictions, like his novels, tend toward a uniqueness in form, even as they explore a set of themes common in the longer works. Thefour novellas selected here stand closest to the novels, and represent Tolstoy at his creative best, exploring in a specific and focused way his characteristic themes: life understood as a journey of the discovery of identity and vocation, the meaning of one's life in the face of death, and theredemptive role of suffering and compassion. Family Happiness (1859) traces the psychology of failed married love yet is written against the tradition of the novel of romance, marriage and adultery. The Kreutzer Sonata (1889) recounts a husband's addictions, jealousy, sinister guilt and subsequentisolation, while The Cossacks (1863) focuses on the experiences of a young Russian on in the Caucusus whose quest for romantic love becomes one for the love of 'the whole of God's world'. Finally, the superbly crafted Hadji Murad (1905) juxtaposes the military and civilian worlds, and relates atale of the human violation of the natural through a series of parallel episodes. Written over a period of almost fifty years, these works display Tolstoy's changing views on art and sexuality, women and marriage, nationalism and ethnicity, war and empire. All four novellas develop, each in its ownunique way, the central Tolystoyan theme of love.This edition, which updates a classic translation, has explanatory notes and a substantial introduction based on the most recent scholarship in the field.
Labyrinth of Linkages in Tolstoy's Anna Karenina by
The renowned Russian writer Leo Tolstoy created a realistic masterpiece in Anna Karenina (1878). In the same work, moreover, he utilized allegory and symbol to an extent and at a level of sophistication unknown in his other works. In Browning's study, the author identifies and analyzes previously unnoticed or only briefly mentioned "linkages and keystones" found in two highly developed clusters of symbols, arising from Anna's momentous train ride and peasant nightmares, and of allegories, rooted in Vronsky's disastrous steeplechase. Within this labyrinth of symbol, allegory and structural patterning lies embedded much of the novel's most significant meaning. This study will be of particular interest to students and scholars of Russian literature, Tolstoy, symbol, allegory, structuralism, and moral criticism.
Leo Tolstoy: The Critical Heritage by
This set comprises 40 volumes covering 19th and 20th century European and American authors. These volumes will be available as a complete set, mini boxed sets (by theme) or as individual volumes. This second set compliments the first 68 volume set of Critical Heritage published by Routledge in October 1995.
Leo Tolstoy and the Alibi of Narrative by
One hundred years after his death, Tolstoy still inspires controversy with his notoriously complex narrative strategies. This original book explores how and why Tolstoy has mystified interpreters and offers a new look at his most famous works of fiction.
Limits to Interpretation: The Meanings of Anna Karenina by
Vladimir E. Alexandrov advocates a broad revision of the academic study of literature, proposing an adaptive, text-specific approach designed to minimize the circularity of interpretation inherent in the act of reading. He illustrates this method with the example of Tolstoy's classic novel via a detailed "map" of the different possible readings that the novel can support. The novel Anna Karenina emerges as deeply conflicted, polyvalent, and quite unlike what one finds in other critical studies.
Locating August Strindberg's Prose: Modernism, Transnationalism, and Setting by
The setting of a novel is more than just an anonymous, interchangeable backdrop. In Locating August Strindberg's Prose, Anna Westerståhl Stenport argues that spatial setting is a key - though often neglected - tool for exploring the fundamentals of European literary modernism. Stenport examines the importance of location by exploring the prose of Swedish exile August Strindberg (1849-1912), challenging previous studies of the author that have focused on identity and subject formation. Strindberg wrote in both Swedish and French, situating his stories in various places across Europe - from Berlin to the French countryside, the Austrian Alps, and Stockholm - to purposely destabilize concepts of national belonging, language, and literary history. Close readings of Strindberg's prose find that his boundary-challenging narratives redefine and rewrite the meaning of a marginal literary identity. By contextualizing Strindberg against other early modernists, including Kafka, Conrad, Rilke, and Breton, Stenport emphasizes the burgeoning transnationality of literature at the turn of the last century.
Madame Bovary: Backgrounds and Sources; Essays in Criticism by 
Mahatma Gandhi: Nonviolent Power in Action by
Dennis Dalton's classic account of Gandhi's political and intellectual development focuses on the leader's two signal triumphs: the civil disobedience movement (or salt satyagraha) of 1930 and the Calcutta fast of 1947. Dalton clearly demonstrates how Gandhi's lifelong career in national politics gave him the opportunity to develop and refine his ideals. He then concludes with a comparison of Gandhi's methods and the strategies of Martin Luther King Jr. and Malcolm X, drawing a fascinating juxtaposition that enriches the biography of all three figures and asserts Gandhi's relevance to the study of race and political leadership in America. Dalton situates Gandhi within the "clash of civilizations" debate, identifying the implications of his work on continuing nonviolent protests. He also extensively reviews Gandhian studies and adds a detailed chronology of events in Gandhi's life.
The Making of a Counter-Culture Icon by
The Making of a Counter-Culture Icon gives invaluable insight into the early careers of the Villa Seurat writers and testifies to Dostoevsky's influence on twentieth-century literature.
Miss Julie by
Against a glittering jazz-age backdrop, mistress of the house Julie and ambitious servant John face off in a gripping, night-long encounter. As the balance of power shifts often and dangerously---sometimes with exquisite subtlety, sometimes stark brutality---LaBute masterfully reinterprets Strindberg's timeless erotic struggle between a man and a woman. This thrilling, essential Miss Julie, which had its world premiere at the Geffen Playhouse in 2013 with Lily Rabe as Julie, Logan Marshall-Green as John, and Laura Heisler as Kristine, superbly embodies both the passionate spirit of the original and the unflinching style of Neil LaBute.
Mythic Patterns in Ibsen's Last Plays by
Until recently critics have tended to regard Ibsen principally as a social dramatist, one who was concerned primarily with the political, social, and moral questions of his time. Radical though he was in the Victorian era, his ideas, with the passage o ti
A New Poetics of Chekhov's Major Plays by
Casts new light on how Chekhov's plays can be interpreted and enacted. The author explores all the prime components of Chekhov's theatrical technique: text construction, themes and ideas, scenes, dialogue, plot, and interaction between verbal and nonverbal elements. A rigorous and comprehensive treatment of the many aspects of Chekhov's artistic universe. All the major works explored. Foreword by Donald Rayfield, Emeritus Professor of Russian, Queen Mary College, University of London; author, Chekhov: A Life; Chekhov, the Evolution of his Art; Understanding Chekhov. One century after the death of Anton Chekhov (1860-1904), his plays are celebrated throughout the world as a major milestone in the history of theatre and drama. Outside the Russian-speaking community, he is undoubtedly the most widely translated, studied and performed of all Russian writers. His plays are characterised by their evasiveness: tragedy and comedy, realism and naturalism, symbolism and impressionism, as well as other labels of school and genre - all fail to account for the uniqueness of 'Chekhovism', i.e., the essence of his artistic system and world view. Presence through Absence is a bold attempt to map the unique structure and meaning that comprise Chekhov's immensely rich artistic universe. Golomb's text is an incursion into Chekhov's vision of unrealised potentials and present absences. His timeless works are shown with rare insight and clarity to have artistic principles and coherence above and beyond the scope of the individual play.
The Notebooks for Crime and Punishment by
"In studying the notebooks one feels like an eavesdropper on Dostoyevsky's artistic self-communings. We may plainly observe Dostoyevsky's creative logic at work in selection and emphasis, his concern for technique and his struggle to make crystal-clear what is ambiguous in his characters. . a veritable storehouse of source material on nearly every aspect of the conception, planning, and writing of Crime and Punishment." The New York Times This key to understanding Dostoyevsky's masterpiece and the author's creative intentions offers a remarkable behind-the-scenes look at the composition of Crime and Punishment, from its first inception to its conclusion. Dostoyevsky's notebooks chronicle the trials, mistakes, and uncertainties that hindered his progress. They also reveal insights into the workings of his imagination and significant details about the novel's ultimate content. Professor Edward Wasiolek has supplemented Dostoyevsky's text with an introduction and a commentary summarizing the material in each section. In addition to facsimile pages from the notebooks, this volume offers interpretations of Dostoyevsky's schematic plans for major portions of the novel as well as his alternate versions of scenes and characters, his unused material, and his reflections on philosophical and religious ideas.
The Notebooks for the Idiot by
"This is an invaluable aid to the understanding not only of the finished work of art, but also of Dostoyevsky's strangely tortured yet confident creative process." -- Modern Fiction Studies. "Superbly edited by Edward Wasiolek and well translated (despite difficult problems of rendering) by Katharine Strelsky." The New York Times Book Review. The central idea of The Idiot, according to its author, was "to depict a completely beautiful human being." More prosaically, the novel was intended to shore up Dostoyevsky's professional and financial state. The portrait of Prince Myshkin, a holy fool, was created in desperation amidst the squalid poverty engendered by the Russian writer's compulsive gambling. Dostoyevsky's entire future depended on the success of his next novel, which began as one story and ended as quite another. After publishing the first part of The Idiot in The Russian Messenger, Dostoyevsky had no idea how to continue the story. The second part, in fact, is a quite different novel. The author's notebooks reveal at least eight plans for the tale, with numerous variations on each plan. A unique document of the creative process, this volume is illustrated by facsimiles of original pages from the notebooks, offering a rich source of information about the development of Dostoyevsky's enigmatic novel.
The Novel in the Age of Disintegration by
Scholars have long been fascinated by the creative struggles with genre manifested throughout Dostoevsky's career. In The Novel in the Age of Disintegration, Kate Holland brings historical context to bear, showing that Dostoevsky wanted to use the form of the novel as a means of depicting disintegration brought on by various crises in Russian society in the 1860s. This required him to reinvent the genre. At the same time he sought to infuse his novels with the capacity to inspire belief in social and spiritual reintegration, so he returned to some older conventions of a society that was already becoming outmoded. In thoughtful readings of Demons, The Adolescent, A Writer's Diary, and The Brothers Karamazov, Holland delineates Dostoevsky's struggle to adapt a genre to the reality of the present, with all its upheavals, while maintaining a utopian vision of Russia's future mission.
The Perpetual Orgy by
The book's first section is a tete-a-tete with Emma Bovary; the second traces the gestation and birth of the novel, as well as Flaubert's method, his mania for documentation, and the novel's literary sources; the third situates it in literary history. Vargas Llosa's first work of non-fiction will send the reader back to Flaubert's masterpiece with renewed interest.
The Philosophy of Gandhi: A study of his Basic Ideas by
This book seeks to give a coherent account of Gandhi's basic ideas, demonstrating the importance of Hindu thought and the centrality of his concept of Truth.
Poor Folk by
Delve into the always-timely issue of poverty and socio-economic marginalization in the first novel by acclaimed Russian fiction writer Fyodor Dostoyevsky. Poor Folk recounts the trials and tribulations -- and all-too-rare moments of triumph -- experienced by several groups of destitute peasants in nineteenth-century Russia.
Postmodern Gandhi and Other Essays by
Gandhi, with his loincloth and walking stick, seems an unlikely advocate of postmodernism. But in "Postmodern Gandhi," Lloyd and Susanne Rudolph portray him as just that in eight thought-provoking essays that aim to correct the common association of Gandhi with traditionalism. a Combining core sections of their influential book "Gandhi: The Traditional Roots of Charisma" with substantial new material, the Rudolphs reveal here that Gandhi was able to revitalize tradition while simultaneously breaking with some of its entrenched values and practices. Exploring his influence both in India and abroad, they tell the story of how in London the young activist was shaped by the antimodern OC other WestOCO of Ruskin, Tolstoy, and Thoreau and how, a generation later, a mature GandhiOCOs thought and action challenged modernityOCOs hegemony. Moreover, the Rudolphs argue that GandhiOCOs critique of modern civilization in his 1909 book "Hind Swaraj "was an opening salvo of the postmodern era and that his theory and practice of nonviolent collective action ("satyagraha") articulate and exemplify a postmodern understanding of situational truth. a This radical interpretation of Gandhi''s life will appeal to anyone who wants to understand GandhiOCOs relevance in this century, as well as students and scholars of politics, history, charismatic leadership, and postcolonialism. "
Problems of Dostoevsky's Poetics by
This book is not only a major twentieth-century contribution to Dostoevsky's studies, but also one of the most important theories of the novel produced in our century. As a modern reinterpretation of poetics, it bears comparison with Aristotle. "Bakhtin's statement on the dialogical nature of artistic creation, and his differentiation of this from a history of monological commentary, is profoundly original and illuminating. This is a classic work on Dostoevsky and a statement of importance to critical theory." Edward Wasiolek "Concentrating on the particular features of 'Dostoevskian discourse,' how Dostoevsky structures a hero and a plot, and what it means to write dialogically, Bakhtin concludes with a major theoretical statement on dialogue as a category of language. One of the most important theories of the novel in this century." The Bloomsbury Review
Searching for Emma: Gustave Flaubert and Madame Bovary by
Although many writers blend autobiography and fiction, few have been so forthright in admitting it as Gustave Flaubert. In reference to his legendary novel and protagonist, he wrote: "Madame Bovary, c'est moi." Madame Bovary has become an icon for casual readers and feminists alike, but, as Dacia Maraini argues, she is one of the most problematic, though fascinating, female protagonists in modern literature. In this lively, learned, and very personal study, Maraini explores the profound and contradictory relationship between the writer Flaubert and the character his readers have grown to love. Maraini argues that in their desire to claim Emma Bovary as a standard-bearer of revolt, women have often overlooked the bitter, pitiless way in which Flaubert evokes Emma's insignificance and vulgarity. Searching for Emma guides the reader through Flaubert's novel and many of his letters, seeking out the sources of his obsessive cruelty toward Emma. Maraini relates Flaubert's contempt for Emma to his relationship with his mistress, Louise Colet, to his general terror of women, and to his own self-loathing. It was entirely in spite of himself, Maraini writes, that Flaubert created the female Don Quixote so admired for her restlessness and determination. Searching for Emma offers a novelist's insight into the complex relationship between author and character, and into the deepest motivations of fiction.
Strindberg's Dramaturgy by
The contributors to Strindberg's Dramaturgy - an international group of scholars, critics and directors - explore this complex pattern of signification or meaning in both his dramatic discourse and the actual staging of the plays. Their aim is to better understand Strindberg's impact on 20th century theatre from this dual point; the dialetic tension between text and stage characterizes every chapter in the book. Structured in four parts, the book opens with several essays that establish for Strindberg a historical context reaching beyond theatre - his place in Western humanism, his relation to Nietzsche, his use of myth and of Swedish history. The essays in Part 2 explore the nature of Strindberg's modernism, and those in Part 3 contrast the naturalistic plays of the 1880s with the post-inferno dramas to test continuities and changes in his work as it became, in Eugene O'Neill's words supernaturalistic. In the last part, the authors tackle the dramaturgy of the dream plays, emphasizing the challenge they have always posed in the realm of creative stagecraft.
Strindberg and Autobiography by
This is a book about Strindberg and about the nature of autobiographical writing. In this sensitive and discerning study, Michael Robinson has turned aside from the more traditional biographical approach to Strindberg. Instead he sets out to explore the highly idiosyncratic way in which Strindberg projected himself in language, looking at the problems which this brought in its trail, and laying bare the subterfuges it engendered. He has not limited himself to those works explicitly designated by Strindberg as autobiographical, but ranges widely over the dramas, the narratives and other prose works.
Strindberg and the Five Senses: Studies in Strindberg's Chamber Plays by
In this book, Dr Ekman considers Strindberg's four Chamber plays of 1907: Thunder in the Air, The Burned Site, The Ghost Sonata and The Pelican.
Strindberg and the Quest for Sacred Theatre by
Strindberg and the Quest for Sacred Theatre brings a fresh perspective to the study of Sweden's great playwright. August Strindberg (1849-1912) anticipated most of the major developments in European theatre over the last century. As such he is well-placed to provide perspectives on the current burgeoning interest in sacred theatre. The religious crises of the 19th Century provoked in Strindberg both sharp scepticism about claims to religious authority and a visionary search for truth. Against the backdrop of a major change in European culture this book traces the emergence in some of Strindberg's late plays of a proto-sacred-theatre. It argues that Strindberg faced the alternatives of a contentless transcendent abyss, threatening the extinction of his ego, or a retreat into conservative theism, reducing him to slavish submission to the commandments and rule of an external father-God. Weaving together theatrical, aesthetic, and theological voices, this book investigates the relationship of the sacred to subjectivity and its implications for Strindberg's dramaturgy. In doing so it always keeps in view the sense both of loss and opportunity engendered by a turning point in the western experience of the sacred.
Strindberg on Drama and Theatre by
An essential resource for those interested in one of the most influential modern playwrights and for the dedicated theatre lover.
Studies in Strindberg by
Michael Robinson looks at a number of subjects in Strindberg's career rarely addressed before, such as his painting, his letter writing, autobiographical work, and his thoughts on acting and directing. He examines a number of plays in the context of
Text and Supertext in Ibsen's Drama by
Brian Johnston's approach to Ibsen, now well known, is unlike any other. Johnston sees Ibsen's twelve realist plays as a single cyclical work, the "realist" method of which hides a much larger poetic intention than has previously been suspected. He believes that the cycle constitutes one of the major works of the European imagination, comparable in scale to Goethe or Dante. And he has shown Ibsen to be the heir to Romantic and Hegelian art and thought, adapting this heritage to the circumstances of his own day.This work demonstrates how the language and scene, characters and "props," of the Ibsen dramas establish a bold and far-reaching theatrical goal: nothing less than an account of our biological and cultural identity in its multilayered totality. Johnston argues that Ibsen's realist text, while stimulating the appearance of nineteenth-century life, also objectively and precisely builds up an alternative image in which archetypal figures and situations from our cultural past repossess the realist stage. Thus he sees the Ibsen "strategy" in his realist plays as twofold: (1) the dialectical subversion of the nineteenth-century reality presented in the plays, and (2) the forced recovery of the archetypal from the past, in a procedure similar to James Joyce's in Ulysses. By "supertext" Johnston means a reservoir of cultural reference upon which Ibsen continuously drew in his realist work just as in is earlier poetic and historical dramas.
Third Class in Indian Railways: And other Essays by
From the text: I have now been in India for over two years and a half after my return from South Africa. Over one quarter of that time I have passed on the Indian trains travelling third class by choice. I have travelled up north as far as Lahore, down south up to Tranquebar, and from Karachi to Calcutta. Having resorted to third class travelling, among other reasons, for the purpose of studying the conditions under which this class of passengers travel...
Three Sisters by
This refreshingly clear and colloquial adaptation was the basis for the Wooster Group's acclaimed production Brace Up!
Tolstoy's Art and Thought, 1847-1880 by
"My aim is to present Tolstoy's work as he may have understood it himself," writes Donna Orwin. Reconstructing the intellectual and psychic struggles behind the masterpieces of his early and middle age, this major study covers the period during which he wrote The Cossacks, War and Peace, and Anna Karenina. Orwin uses the tools of biography, intellectual and literary history, and textual analysis to explain how Tolstoy's tormented search for moral certainty unfolded, creating fundamental differences among the great novels of the "pre-crisis" period. Distinguished by its historical emphasis, this book demonstrates that the great novelist, who had once seen a fundamental harmony between human conscience and nature's vitality, began eventually to believe in a dangerous rift between the two: during the years discussed here, Tolstoy moved gradually from a celebration of life to instruction about its moral dimensions. Paying special attention to Tolstoy's reading of Rousseau, Goethe, Schopenhauer, and the Russian thinker N. N. Strakhov, Orwin also explores numerous other influences on his thought. In so doing, she shows how his philosophical and emotional conflicts changed form but continued unabated--until, with his religious conversion of 1880, he surrendered his long attempt to make sense of life through art alone.
Tolstoy: a Critical Introduction by
This is a critical introduction to the novels and short stories of Tolstoy, treating them in their own right as works of literature, not as biographical evidence or contributions to a philosophical system. The heart of the book, inevitably, is in the two long chapters which examine War and Peace and Anna Karenina in detail, but most of Tolstoy's other fiction is also discussed and there is a chapter on his drama and his aesthetic theories. Professor Christian is concerned to show what is characteristic about Tolstoy's fiction: what kind of effects he is trying to convey and how his art secures those effects. No Russian is needed, but in his frequent quotations in English Professor Christian touches on the problems of translations so that the reader of English is given some hint of the texture and uniqueness of the original Russian, often smoother out in translation. Professor Christian shows the link between the subtlety of the technique and the greatness of the mind and heart behind it. The general reader will welcome this human concern; the student will be equally grateful for a straightforward, systematic, concise overall study.
Tolstoy: A Guide for the Perplexed by
Count Leo Nikolaevich Tolstoy (1828-1910) is one of the most important writers in the Western tradition. His two great novels, War and Peace and Anna Karenina, cover an enormous range of basic human experiences with a precision and probing spirit that, in the words of one critic, are simply "unmatched by any other writer." This guide offers students a clear introduction to Tolstoy's literary works from his major novels to the shorter novels and texts, including Hadji Murat and The Death of Ivan Ilyich. The guide also covers major themes including sex, death, authority and evil and offers an overview of Tolstoy's religious and philosophical thought. A final chapter assesses his lasting influence in the spheres of literature and culture, religion and philosophy and on major figures including Joyce, Ghandi, Wittgenstein and Heidegger.
Transnational Tolstoy: Between the West and the World by
Transnational Tolstoy renews and enhances our understanding of Tolstoy's fiction in the context of "World Literature," a term that he himself used in What is Art? It offers a fresh perspective on Tolstoy's fiction as it connects with writers and works from outside his Russian context, including Stendhal, Flaubert, Goethe, Proust, Lampedusa and Mahfouz. Foster provides an interlocking series of cross-cultural readings ranging from nineteenth-century Germany, France, and Italy through the rise of modernist fiction and the crisis of World War II, to the growth of a worldwide literary outlook from 1960 onward. He emphasizes Tolstoy's writings with the most consistent international resonance: War and Peace and Anna Karenina, two of the world's most compelling novels. Transnational Tolstoy also discusses a shorter work, Hadji Murad. It shares the earlier novels' historical sweep, social breadth, and subtle interplay among a large cast of characters. Along with bringing Tolstoy's gifts to bear on a Muslim protagonist, it also represents his most sustained attempt at world literature.
Turgenev: Art, Ideology, and Legacy by
Turgenev is in many ways the most enigmatic of the great nineteenth-century Russian writers. A realist, he was nevertheless drawn towards symbolism and the supernatural in his later career. Renowned for his authentic depictions of Russian life, he spent long periods in Europe and was more Western in outlook than many of his contemporaries. Though he stood aloof from politics, the major political issues of nineteenth-century Russia are central to his fiction. Interest in Turgenev remains strong in the twenty-first century, sustained by the amenability of his work to contemporary critical approaches and also by a recognition of the continuing relevance of his perspective on the perennial complexities of Russia's relations with Europe. This volume provides ample evidence of this interest. The chapters which comprise it are written by specialists on the writer and cover many aspects of Turgenev's creativity from his artistic method to such issues as the Jewish Question and Europe. It also examines his cultural legacy - in film and recent popular re-writes of his novels - as well as his influence on writers as diverse as Rozanov and Robert Dessaix. This work will be of interest to students, postgraduates and specialists in the field of Russian literary culture.
Turgenev and Russian Culture by
The present volume has as its central aim a reassessment of the works of Ivan Turgenev for the twenty-first century. Against the background of a decline in interest in nineteenth-century literature the articles gathered here seek to argue that the period in general, and his work in particular, still have much to offer the modern sensibility. The volume also offers a great variety of approaches. Some of the contributors tackle major works by Turgenev, including Rudin and Smoke, while others address key themes that run through all his creative work. Yet others address his influence, as well as his broader relationship with Russian and other cultures. A final group of articles examines other key figures in Russian literary culture, including Belinskii, Herzen and Tolstoi. The work will therefore be of interest to students, postgraduates and specialists in the field of Russian literary culture. At the same time, they will stand as a tribute to the life and work of Professor Richard Peace, a long-standing specialist in nineteenth-century Russian literature, in whose honour the volume has been compiled.
Unconditional Equality: Gandhi's Religion of Resistance by
Unconditional Equality examines Mahatma Gandhi's critique of liberal ideas of freedom and equality and his own practice of a freedom and equality organized around religion. It reconceives satyagraha (passive resistance) as a politics that strives for the absolute equality of all beings. Liberal traditions usually affirm an abstract equality centered on some form of autonomy, the Kantian term for the everyday sovereignty that rational beings exercise by granting themselves universal law. But for Gandhi, such equality is an "equality of sword"--profoundly violent not only because it excludes those presumed to lack reason (such as animals or the colonized) but also because those included lose the power to love (which requires the surrender of autonomy or, more broadly, sovereignty). Gandhi professes instead a politics organized around dharma, or religion. For him, there can be "no politics without religion." This religion involves self-surrender, a freely offered surrender of autonomy and everyday sovereignty. For Gandhi, the "religion that stays in all religions" is satyagraha--the agraha (insistence) on or of satya (being or truth). Ajay Skaria argues that, conceptually, satyagraha insists on equality without exception of all humans, animals, and things. This cannot be understood in terms of sovereignty: it must be an equality of the minor.
Unconscious Structure in the Idiot: a study in Literature and Psychoanalysis by
Arguing that psychoanalytic method enlarges and enriches the significance of literature by discovering a fundamental unconscious structure governing meaning and form in the literary text, Elizabeth Dalton presents both a new and lucid reformulation of the theory of psychoanalytic criticism and a penetrating study of Dostoevsky's great novel, The Idiot. In answering the objections to psychoanalytic criticism, she contends that the method--if properly understood--can be used without falling into reductionism and without recourse to the author's biography. She then deals with such crucial issues as the connections between dreams and literary creation, the role of repression in art, the relationship between creativity and psychopathology, and the unconscious aspects of language. Demonstrating this approach in a radical and comprehensive interpretation of Dostoevsky's novel, the author shows how the enigmatic character of Prince Myshkin, his epilepsy, his mystical insights, his love of Nastasya, and his mysterious involvement with her murderer are all related in a complex pattern of unconscious conflict and fantasy derived from the most primitive and powerful motifs of psychic life. Professor Dalton's pursuit of unconscious connections into virtually every detail of the novel, accounting for subplots, minor characters, and even for the puzzling flaws in the narrative, fully establishes the importance of psychoanalysis for the study of literature. Originally published in 1979. The Princeton Legacy Library uses the latest print-on-demand technology to again make available previously out-of-print books from the distinguished backlist of Princeton University Press. These editions preserve the original texts of these important books while presenting them in durable paperback and hardcover editions. The goal of the Princeton Legacy Library is to vastly increase access to the rich scholarly heritage found in the thousands of books published by Princeton University Press since its founding in 1905.
Who, What Am I?: Tolstoy Struggles to Narrate the Self by
"God only knows how many diverse, captivating impressions and thoughts evoked by these impressions... pass in a single day. If it were only possible to render them in such a way that I could easily read myself and that others could read me as I do." Such was the desire of the young Tolstoy. Although he knew that this narrative utopia--turning the totality of his life into a book--would remain unfulfilled, Tolstoy would spend the rest of his life attempting to achieve it. "Who, What Am I?" is an account of Tolstoy's lifelong attempt to find adequate ways to represent the self, to probe its limits and, ultimately, to arrive at an identity not based on the bodily self and its accumulated life experience. This book guides readers through the voluminous, highly personal nonfiction writings that Tolstoy produced from the 1850s until his death in 1910. The variety of these texts is enormous, including diaries, religious tracts, personal confessions, letters, autobiographical fragments, and the meticulous accounts of dreams. For Tolstoy, inherent in the structure of the narrative form was a conception of life that accorded linear temporal order a predominant role, and this implied finitude. Tolstoy refused to accept that human life stopped with death and that the self was limited to what could be remembered and told. In short, Tolstoy's was a philosophical and religious quest, and he followed in the footsteps of many, from Plato and Augustine to Rousseau and Schopenhauer. In reconstructing Tolstoy's struggles, this book reflects on the problems of self and narrative as well as provides an intellectual and psychological biography of the writer.
Worlds Within Worlds: The Novels of Ivan Turgenev by
The novelist Ivan Turgenev (1818-1883) is known primarily as a chronicler of his age and crafter of elegant prose--like the simplest painting of daily artifacts, his works have pleased partly because they shape a recognizable world and partly because their form gives to the content its resonant signifying power. Here Jane Costlow accounts for both the historicity and aesthetic elegance of Turgenev's realist novels in close readings of Rudin, A Nest of Gentry, On the Eve, and Fathers and Children, all written between 1855 and 1861. Each essay focuses on a particular aspect of Turgenev's art as it relates to his human and aesthetic concerns. This study challenges traditional views of Turgenev as an objective recorder of his times, suggesting that the engaging qualities of his novels lie less in their historicity than in the lyricism and aesthetic consciousness with which he shaped his narratives. Costlow explores the lyric meditation, pastoral longing, and unspoken emotion that are the hallmarks of Turgenev's prose and that make up his "worlds within worlds," the realms of his novels that elude the historical. Throughout she demonstrates how the aesthetics of constraint and understatement mask the author's awareness of limitation and complexity in human experience. By stressing the enigmatic and challenging qualities of his works, Costlow exposes Turgenev to revealing new readings. Originally published in 1990. The Princeton Legacy Library uses the latest print-on-demand technology to again make available previously out-of-print books from the distinguished backlist of Princeton University Press. These editions preserve the original texts of these important books while presenting them in durable paperback and hardcover editions. The goal of the Princeton Legacy Library is to vastly increase access to the rich scholarly heritage found in the thousands of books published by Princeton University Press since its founding in 1905.
Written in Blood: Revolutionary Terrorism and Russian Literary Culture, 1861-1881 by
Written in Blood offers a fundamentally new interpretation of the emergence of modern terrorism, arguing that it formed in the Russian literary imagination well before any shot was fired or bomb exploded. Lynn Ellen Patyk contends that the prototype for the terrorist was the Russian writer, whose seditious word was interpreted as an audacious deed--and a violent assault on autocratic authority. Deftly combining riveting historical narrative with penetrating literary analysis of major and minor works, Patyk's groundbreaking book reveals the power of the word to spawn deeds and the power of literature to usher new realities into the world.
