Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need help? Contact the library at 248.204.3000 or email firstname.lastname@example.org
Stay Current! Follow up-to-date research on COVID-19
Nature, International weekly journal of science Peer-reviewed, international weekly journal of science
Science / AAAS Peer-reviewed; "Leading journal of original scientific research, global news and commentary." Coverage includes chemistry, biology, engineering, physics, neuroscience, medicine, and planetary science and astronomy.
IEEE Digital Library Journals, Proceedings, Standards, IET materials full-text from 1998 to present: 3,000,000 documents
Flipster Enjoy reading a variety of popular magazine titles including back issues on your computer or mobile device.
Evaluate Your Sources
Evaluate the following sites using the CRAAP criteria.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
Business Source Complete With premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals, this database is an essential tool for business students. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Proquest Business Collection Combination of six databases including ABI/Inform Complete...best bet for comprehensive business research.
ScienceDirect Science, Technology, Health, Psychology, Management: full-text from 1995 to present - the GREEN box means full-text is available.
Statista A statistical, multidisciplinary, and holistic database that aggregates information on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. Provides qualitative and quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a variety of other areas of interest. The database contains over 15,000 studies, industry reports, 2,500 dossiers and infographics.
Criteria for Website Evaluation CRAAP
C - Currency - is the information current or updated? When was it published? Test any links included.
R - Relevance - is the information important for your topic? Who is the audience? Compare it to other information you have found.
A - Authority - who is the author or sponsor? What are their credentials? Are they experts? Is there contact information?
A - Accuracy - What is the source of the information? Is it evidence based? Is there a review process for publication? Is there bias?
P - Purpose - informational, persuasive, educational, sales? Is it fact, opinion, propaganda? Look for bias - political, religious, ideological?
Question the authenticity of any site with multiple spelling or grammar errors.
Effective Planning Strategies and Proposal Writing by Effective Planning Strategies and Proposal Writing: A Workbook for Helping Professionals provides a comprehensive review of planning strategies and related concepts, including leadership and the role of the helping professional as 'change agent.' The text intends to de-mystify planning processes and related jargon for graduate students and practitioners in the helping professions and provides examples from the field. Effective grant-writing is emphasized, as well as information related to planning for change through the use of small groups and activities. In the authors' experience, many professionals recognize the need for effective planning, but often balk at using material that seems too far removed from their scope of expertise and academic discipline. The text presents material in a straightforward manner that is intended to make planning accessible and meaningful to these individuals who are uniquely qualified to effect positive change.
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
How to Write Reports and Proposals by How to Write Reports and Proposals is essential reading for achieving effective writing techniques. Getting a message across on paper and presenting a proposal in a clear and persuasive form are vital skills for anyone in business. How to Write Reports and Proposals provides practical advice on how to impress, convince and persuade your colleagues or clients. It will help you: improve your writing skills; think constructively before writing; create a good report; produce persuasive proposals; use clear and distinctive language; present numbers, graphs and charts effectively. Full of checklists, exercises and real life examples, this new edition also contains content on how to write succinctly and with impact across different mediums. How to Write Reports and Proposals will help you to put over a good case with style. The creating success series of books... With over one million copies sold, the hugely popular Creating Success series covers a wide variety of topics and is written by an expert team of internationally best-selling authors and business experts. This indispensable business skills collection is packed with new features, practical content and inspiring guidance for readers across all stages of their careers.
Call Number: e-Book
Publication Date: 2016
Everyday Project Management by "Everyday Project Management is a practical guide for anyone new or needing to learn more about project management. Unlike many other books, it does not rely on arcane concepts and terms, and simply tells it like it is." --Todd C. Williams, President of eCameron, Inc., and author of Filling Execution Gaps and Rescue the Problem Project Everyday Project Management provides the direction you need to apply project management's time-tested tools for keeping things on time and under budget. It introduces the wide variety of tasks you will have to tackle, including assembling a team, mapping out a plan, monitoring progress, keeping your team motivated, and using appropriate planning tools, such as project management software or wall charts. In addition, you'll gain a clearer picture of the project manager's role in the conception, planning, execution, control, and completion of a project. Each chapter offers essential bite-sized nuggets of wisdom that will help you succeed, outlining the kinds of challenges you'll encounter, the interpersonal issues that will arise, and ways to stay on time and on budget in pursuit of the desired quality outcome. You'll learn how Gantt charts can keep your project on schedule, how the critical path method can be used to conserve resources, and how to juggle multiple projects, bosses, and reporting structures. Whether you are managing one project or many, this quick and easy guide to the tasks, tools, and skills of project management will carry you from project launch to project completion. Most importantly, you will learn why having a work-life balance is vital to project managers who seek long and prosperous careers.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2019-09-03
RefWorks Bibliographic Management Tool. Allows you to store and manage your citations. Easily create reference lists from your citations.