Culture and Language
- CultureGrams
Lifestyles and politics, geography, etc. of 200+ countries. - Learning Express Library
Practice tests for jobs and for class preparation
Subject lists
To search for journal articles, conference proceedings, etc., select the most appropriate subject area below.
- Alphabetical List of Databases
- Architecture and Design
- Art and Art History
- Biosciences and Health
- Career Resources
- Chemistry/Physics/Math
- Citing Your Sources
- Computer Science and Information Technology
- Doctoral Programs
- Education
- Engineering
- ESL (English as a Second Language)
- Faculty Services
- General
- Humanities and Literature
- Management
- Patents
- Psychology
- RefWorks and Citing Your Sources
- Using Assessment in the Classroom
- Using LTU Library
- Using LTU's TechCat+
- Using Other Libraries
Best Places to Start
Start with TechCat+, the library catalog for an overview of available resources. Start with one of the article databases if you only want information from periodicals. Those suggested below are good "general" databases, covering a variety of topics. They include content from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers.
- TechCat+
Overview of books, journal articles and visual material owned by or available through the LTU Library and other institutions. Items owned by LTU are at the top of your results list. Be sure to log into BlackBoard to access ebooks or full text. QUESTIONS? Contact a Reference Librarian at 248-204-3000 or refdesk@ltu.edu. - Omnifile full-text1,600 full-text journals from all subject areas.
- Academic OneFile (Galegroup)
Wide selection of academic journals and magazine articles. Electronic full-text is available for many articles. Includes some coverage of military topics. - General Onefile
General interest magazines and journals on a variety of topics including military and naval science. - General Science Abstracts Covers all types of scientific periodicals. Use LinkSource to determine full-text availability.
- Opposing Viewpoints (in Context)
Collects articles in various formats on controversial issues
Other Possibilities
These databases are more specialized but still index articles in a variety of subject areas.
- Business Source Complete+
An excellent starting point for topics related to business, leadership, finance & economics. - LexisNexisFull-text newspapers, periodicals, newsletters, and data (1990-present)
- ScienceDirect
Science, Technology, Health, Psychology, Management: full-text from 1995 to present - the GREEN box means full-text is available.
RefWorks tip: use LinkSource to import citations into RefWorks
Ask a Librarian
Research Help Now! Ask research/reference questions 24/7 via chat or email. Lawrence Tech partners with other academic institutions to provide round-the-clock, virtual reference service. So, if we are not available to assist you, a librarian from another institution will answer your question.
Contact an LTU librarian directly at refdesk@ltu.edu. Please put Reference Question in the subject line. Or call the library at 248-204-3000 during open hours.
Biography
- Who's Who (Marquis Who's Who)Full-text biographies of living and deceased individuals
- Biography IndexCitations of biographical information from periodicals and a variety of other sources since 1984. Print volumes cover 1946-2003.
- Biography and Genealogy Master IndexFinding tool for biographical information in print sources
- HeritageQuest Online
Search census records for United States, genealogy and local history books and journals, Freedman's Bank, Revolutionary War records and more

Loading...
