This is the "Home" page of the "English as a Second Language (ESL)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English as a Second Language (ESL)   Tags: databases, dictionaries, english, english as a second language, esl, international students, language  

Last Updated: Mar 6, 2014 URL: http://libguides.ltu.edu/esl Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

These databases are especially helpful for international students. Options are available in the Gale databases to translate and listen to articles in your native language, and Learning Express Library has many options for improving English language skills.

  • Gale Databases General Search  Icon
    Gale, a publisher, offers machine-generated translations in Arabic, Chinese (Simplified and Traditional), French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish. Articles display in the language's alphabet, or you can listen to a computer-generated reading.
  • Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context  Icon
    Another Gale product that offers over 5000 topic overviews on controversial subjects, court cases, pro/con viewpoint essays, biographies of social reformers and activists, statistical tables, videos, images and podcasts. Offers machine-generated translations and computer generated readings in 13 languages.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library  Icon  Icon
    This database provides access to reference material like encyclopedias and almanacs on thousands of topics. You can change the toolbar langauges to display your native language. Listen to your article in over 19 languages, and download it in MP3 format. You can also save a PDF of the article in your native language to your eReader.
  • Learning Express Library  
      
      Icon  Icon
    Learning Express Library offers eBooks, courses and tests on writing, grammar, vocabulary, reading, test taking, and TOEFL skills. It also offers practice tests and courses for GMAT, GRE and LSAT graduate school tests. Investigate career options in Michigan and other states, search job openings in real-time, and create a resume through the Job and Career Accelerator.
 

New at the Library

These titles contain 3 audio CDs, 1 student book with CD and 1 teacher's manual with CD. This series is designed to build and develop oral communication skills and boost confidence in using spoken English.

Cover Art
Speak English Around Town - Amy Gillett;
Call Number: PE 1131 .E57 G55 2012
ISBN: 0981775470
Publication Date: 2006-02-26

Cover Art
Speak English Like an American - Amy Gillett; Manny Jose (Illustrator)
Call Number: PE1131 .G52 2004
ISBN: 9780972530033
Publication Date: 2006-01-01

Resources on Campus

  • College of Arts and Sciences ESL Program
    The purpose of the ESL program is to help students acquire the language skills necessary to do well at Lawrence Tech. Depending on the student's needs, the program may consist of full-time or part-time classroom instruction with intensive training in Grammar, Reading, Listening, Conversation, Writing, and Technical preparation. Qualified students may take ESL concurrently with selected technical courses in the actual academic program for which the student has been conditionally accepted.
  • ESL Conversation at the Academic Achievement Center (AAC)
    Tutoring in person and online, is available for key courses in architecture and design, chemistry, computer science, engineering, ESL conversation, mathematics, physics, and writing. Tutors include LTU faculty members and exemplary students who are available during day and evening hours. The master tutor schedule is available online and in the AAC.

  • International Programs
    Links to information on campus happenings, resources, immigration and insurance.

Resources on the Web

  • United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS)
    Naturalization is an important milestone in the path toward U.S. citizenship. To help you prepare, USCIS has developed a variety of educational resources. In this section, you will find information on eligibility and testing, the application process, and study materials. You can also learn more about citizenship rights and responsibilities and find a free information session in your area.

Reference Librarian

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Adrienne Aluzzo
Contact Info
248/204-2821
Send Email
 

ESL

If you need help, contact the library at 248-204-3000 or email refdesk@ltu.edu
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip