Introduction
- Doctoral Students Orientation Aug. 2012Overview of library services.
Reference Sources
- Cabell's Business DirectoriesCabell's Directories of Publishing Opportunities links faculty, students & researchers with current information regarding publishers, journals & publishing guidelines in the areas of: Accounting, Economics & Finance, Management, Marketing
- Oxford English DictionaryThe most comprehensive dictionary of all time, with history of words
- Oxford Reference Online - Premium collectionSubject encyclopedias
Subject lists
To search for journal articles, conference proceedings, etc., select the most appropriate subject area below.
- Alphabetical List of Databases
- Architecture and Design
- Art and Art History
- Biosciences and Health
- Career Resources
- Chemistry/Physics/Math
- Citing Your Sources
- Computer Science and Information Technology
- Doctoral Programs
- Education
- Engineering
- ESL (English as a Second Language)
- Faculty Services
- General
- Humanities and Literature
- Management
- Patents
- Psychology
- RefWorks and Citing Your Sources
- Using Assessment in the Classroom
- Using LTU Library
- Using LTU's TechCat+
- Using Other Libraries
Current Trials
NOTE: Dissertations A&I trial ends MAY 31!
- Proquest Dissertations A & IThe world’s most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. The database provides indexing and abstracting for thousands of dissertations and theses. It does NOT include the full text. Please contact the library regarding interlibrary loan options or purchase options. (refdesk@ltu.edu)
Getting Started
Thousands of books, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other types of literature are identifiable through TechCat+ and our subscription databases. Many of these are available electronically, while others may be found in the print collection or requested through interlibrary loan.
Start with an overview search for books & articles in TechCat+. It automatically searches many of our databases but you may also add specific ones to broaden the search. To really zero in on a topic, you may want to search a few selected databases individually for the most complete results. If you have questions, please contact a Reference Librarian. (248-204-3000 or refdesk@ltu.edu)
- TechCat+
Overview of books, journal articles and visual material owned by or available through the LTU Library and other institutions. Items owned by LTU are at the top of your results list. Be sure to log into BlackBoard to access ebooks or full text. QUESTIONS? Contact a Reference Librarian at 248-204-3000 or refdesk@ltu.edu. - MeLCat (Michigan eLibrary)Print books not owned not owned by the library may often be borrowed from other Michigan libraries. Delivery time is about a week. Books may be borrowed for 3 weeks with 1 (one) renewal allowed.
- Interlibrary LoanIn many cases you can make a direct "ILL" request from TechCat+. For more information on interlibrary loan or to submit a request using our electronic form click the link above.
Best Starting Points for all Programs
- Business Source Complete+
Includes peer-reviewed articles, case studies, SWOT analyses. - SCOPUS A comprehensive interdisciplinary resource, indexing thousands of articles in peer-reviewed publications. Reference lists included in citations as well as "cited by..."
- ScienceDirect
Science, Technology, Health, Psychology, Management: full-text from 1995 to present - the GREEN box means full-text is available.
RefWorks tip: use LinkSource to import citations into RefWorks
Consider These...
Here are a few additional suggestions as you begin your research. This is only a partial list of what is available, so be sure to check the appropriate subject guide for other possibilities.
- Emerald Management Xtra120 top management journals online
- Engineering Village (Compendex) Engineering Index, abstracts 1970 to present. This is comprehensive listing of engineering information. Take advantage of the links in each record to search for the full-text, or ask a librarian for assistance.
- IEEE Digital Library
Journals, Proceedings, Standards, IET materials full-text from 1998 to present: 3,000,000 documents - LexisNexisFull-text newspapers, periodicals, newsletters, and data (1990-present)
- SAGE Journals OnlineCovers social science, urban studies, education, management; over 500 full-text journals. Also includes 18 IMechE journals.
Tools
Familiarize yourself with the tools that will make your research easier. Some are listed below. Also look into the tools available in many of the databases. Almost all databases have a tool that allows direct export of citations to RefWorks.
- LinkSource - look for LinkSource in any non full text item. This product looks for electronic full text in other available resources.
- eJournal Finder
Once you have the name of the journal or magazine the article was published in, type the publication title into the eJournal Finder search box to find out if LTU has access to the full text. - RefWorksRefWorks may become your new best friend. This web-based software allows you to import citations, organize them in folders and create bibliographies. A plugin, Write-N-Cite, allows you to add in-text citations while composing your paper and will create a reference list from these citations. For more information, checkout the Citing Your Sources/RefWorks LibGuide.
Reference Librarian
Links: Profile & Guides |
Ask a Librarian
Research Help Now! Ask research/reference questions 24/7 via chat or email. Lawrence Tech partners with other academic institutions to provide round-the-clock, virtual reference service. So, if we are not available to assist you, a librarian from another institution will answer your question.
Contact an LTU librarian directly at refdesk@ltu.edu. Please put Reference Question in the subject line. Or call the library at 248-204-3000 during open hours.


Loading...
