LibGuides: Psychology: Getting Started

Overview

The Lawrence Tech Library created this guide to help you efficiently research topics in PSYCHOLOGY. It contains the following sections:

GETTING STARTED - links to research help, search term ideas and the top databases for locating scholarly articles in psychology.

PRINT/REFERENCE - includes the call numbers to books on psychology to make it easier for students to locate them. This section also has links to several reference eBooks on psychology and well as links to online collections of psychology eBooks.

Subscription Databases

You must be logged into your LTU Canvas account to access these.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
Business Databases (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window An excellent starting point for topics related to business, leadership, finance & economics. Searches Business Source Complete, Entrepreneurial Studies Source, OmniFile Full Text Select and Regional Business News.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window Nurses, allied health professionals, researchers, nurse educators and students depend on the CINAHL Database to research their subject areas from this authoritative index of nursing and allied health journals.
ERIC This link opens in a new window ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds.
OmniFile Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window This full-text database contains a wealth of essential material for learning and research across the disciplines, including topical coverage of ethnic studies, women's studies and history. 1,600 full-text journals from all subject areas.
Proquest Psychology + PsycArticles This link opens in a new window Two powerful search tools in one. APA PsycArticles offers full-text articles for journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. Psychology Database provides abstracts and indexing for key Psychology titles, many which are available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window This full-text database is an essential tool for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students, providing extensive coverage for a broad range of subjects in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines.
PubMed This link opens in a new window Millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Differs from PubMedCentral in that not all articles are full-text.
PubMedCentral This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed open-access full-text journals
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window The SAGE Journals collection features high-impact, peer-reviewed, and interdisciplinary articles from more than 1,000 journals spanning the humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, engineering, and medicine.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Science, Technology, Health, Psychology, Management: full-text from 1995 to present - the GREEN box means full-text is available.
Springer Science+Business Media Journals This link opens in a new window Includes 1,600 full-text journals on Agricultural, Biological and Environmental Sciences, Business and Economics, Computer Sciences, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical and Materials Engineering, Social Sciences, Medicine, and the Natural Sciences (Physics/Chemistry/Math). Note: to limit to LTU holdings, uncheck the box that says "include Preview-only content."

Stay Current! Follow cutting edge scientific research

Nature This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed, international weekly journal of science
Science / AAAS This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed; "Leading journal of original scientific research, global news and commentary." Coverage includes chemistry, biology, engineering, physics, neuroscience, medicine, and planetary science and astronomy.
Science Robotics, AAAS This link opens in a new window Latest technological advances and for the critical social, ethical and policy issues surrounding robotics. multidisciplinary, covering the traditional disciplines of robotics, as well as emerging trends such as advanced materials and bio-inspired designs; it covers all scales, from very large systems to micro/nano robots; its scope is broad, addressing both theoretical advances and practical applications
IEEE Digital Library This link opens in a new window Journals, Proceedings, & Standards http://ieeexplore.ieee.org/Xplore/home.jsp http://www.ieee.org/ieeexplore

Research Help

If this is your first time doing college-level research or are just stuck somewhere in the process, we have short videos and guides to conducting research HERE that will walk you through every step of the process.

Search Terms (links to TechCat)

Not sure where to start? Here are some common subject headings for psychology:

Abnormal psychology
Clinical psychology
Cognitive neuroscience
Developmental psychology
Mass media Psychological aspects
Psychiatry
Psychology, child
Psychology, exprimental
Psychology, industrial
Psychology, sports
Sex (Psychology)
Social psychology
Video games Psychological aspects

These terms may not be exactly what you are researching, but they can be used to help generate keywords you can use to search TechCat. If you are having trouble developing useful keywords for your research, you may also find this short video helpful. If you need additional assistance, feel free to use the librarian 24/7 chat service.

Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.
Opposing Viewpoints (in Context) This link opens in a new window Covers controversial topics (e.g., animal experimentation, mental health, behavior, etc.)

Other Resources

All-Psych Web
The virtual psychology classroom