Find Books
Check out the Using TechCat+ LibGuide for tips on searching the new LTU catalogue. To request a book through MeLCat, watch the video: how to find a book
Reference Sources
- Oxford Reference Online - Premium collectionSelect the subject category Science for a complete list of available titles covering all areas of science.
Science Search Engines
Search the Deep Web for scientific research using these free federated search engines.
- Science AcceleratorDOE science information
- Science.govU.S. Science information
- WorldWide ScienceGlobal science information
Starting Points for Research in the Sciences
- ScienceDirect
Science, Technology, Health, Psychology, Management: full-text from 1995 to present - the GREEN box means full-text is available.
RefWorks tip: use LinkSource to import citations into RefWorks - Applied Science and Technology Abstracts+ covers all science and technology topics. Use LinkSource to determine full-text availability.
- General Science Abstracts Covers all types of scientific periodicals. Use LinkSource to determine full-text availability.
- arXivOpen access to 756,750 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics
Other Useful Resources
- Inspire (formerly SPIRES) INSPIRE combines the successful SPIRES database content, curated at DESY, Fermilab and SLAC, with the Invenio digital library technology developed at CERN. INSPIRE is run by a collaboration of the four labs, and interacts closely with HEP publishers, arXiv.org, NASA-ADS, PDG, and other information resources.
- Academic OneFile (Galegroup)
Wide selection of academic journals and magazine articles. Electronic full-text is available for many articles. Includes some coverage of military topics. - Omnifile full-text1,600 full-text journals from all subject areas.
- SCOPUSAn excellent citation database indexing over 15,000 scholarly journals on all topics. Includes abstracts and article reference lists. Find out who is citing whom. Use LinkSource to determine if electronic full-text is available.
- ScirusScirus is a web search engine for scientific information.
- Springer Science+Business Media Journals Includes 1,600 full-text journals on Agricultural, Biological and Environmental Sciences, Business and Economics, Computer Sciences, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical and Materials Engineering, Social Sciences, Medicine, and the Natural Sciences (Physics/Chemistry/Math).
New Journals or Product Trials!
New Subscriptions!
- RMA eStatement Studies - now available online
- IMechE journals - through the Sage platform. Journals also indexed in Engineering Village, Scopus & TechCat+. See Engineering LibGuide.
- ReferenceUSA - includes information on millions of U.S. businesses. Excellent background for marketing plans, competitive analyses, fundraising or job searches. See Management LibGuide
Also:
- Springer Science+Business Media Journals Includes 1,600 full-text journals on Agricultural, Biological and Environmental Sciences, Business and Economics, Computer Sciences, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical and Materials Engineering, Social Sciences, Medicine, and the Natural Sciences (Physics/Chemistry/Math).
Citation Assistance
For more detailed information on citing references, see the Citing Your Sources LibGuide.
- Citation Examples from the Schwartz Library/Long Island UniversityClick APA, MLA, Turabian, etc. to see examples of how different types of resources are cited.
- Citation MachineChoose the style, choose the type of resource you are citing, fill in the required information and the Citation Machine will create your citation. Copy and paste the citation to a word processing document to use in your Works Cited or Reference list.
(free but has ads) - KnightCiteA free citation creator for MLA, APA, Chicago and Turabian and maintained by the Hekman Library at Calvin College. Fill in the boxes to create the citation. Copy & paste it into your document. Includes social media formats.
- RefWorksBibliographic Management Tool. Allows you to store and manage your citations.
- Online Writing Center (OWL) at PurdueThe OWL site is an excellent source of information on the entire writing process. For information specific to APA or MLA, scroll to the Citation section towards the bottom of the page and follow the appropriate links.
Reference Librarian
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Director of the Library |


Loading...
