LibGuides: Biosciences: Find Articles

United States Medical Resources

PubMed Tutorial

NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information) This link opens in a new window All things biological, including GenBank, BLAST etc. (See the list of subsections and search across all databases.)

NCBI Handbook, 2nd Ed. "geared to advanced users of NCBI. Provides understanding of how bioinformatics resources at NCBI work."

OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man) This link opens in a new window Part of the NCBI's collection of life sciences databases. According to their website, OMIM is "a compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes".

Search for Biomedical Inventions/Patents

Google Patents Search-Search Beta collection for the full-text. Google scanned patent documents from the United States Patent and Trademark Office.

Find Journal Articles

Engineering Village (Compendex) This link opens in a new window Engineering Index, abstracts 1970 to present. This is comprehensive listing of engineering information: over 18.8 million records from 76 countries across 190 engineering disciplines. It is indexed specifically for engineers using the Engineering Index Thesaurus, making search results consistently accurate and relevant to engineering research. (No full-text: make sure to follow the link at the bottom of the abstract to look at all the LTU journal titles to try to find full-text.)
JOVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments: Bioengineering This link opens in a new window A different type of database, JoVE is the first peer-reviewed scientific video journal for biological, medical, chemical, and physical research indexed in Medline and PubMed. The Library currently has a subscription to the Bioengineering section of JoVE.
Material ConneXion This link opens in a new window A comprehensive database of more than 9,000 materials to provide the cutting edge tools needed today to create smarter, more sustainable material solutions.
MedLine This link opens in a new window see also PubMed
PubMed This link opens in a new window Millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Differs from PubMedCentral in that not all articles are full-text.
Science Databases (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Includes medicine, health, astronomy, physical and natural sciences, environment and more, and Omnifile full-text and Applied Science, Environmental Index, and more.. Use Linking to determine full-text availability.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Science, Technology, Health, Psychology, Management: full-text from 1995 to present - the GREEN box means full-text is available.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window Online version of Chemical Abstracts. NOTE: You must register for an account the first time, see link below.
SciFinder: -Register here to use it This link opens in a new window Before you can search SciFinder-n, you must set up a personal account.
Scopus This link opens in a new window An excellent citation database indexing over 15,000 scholarly journals on all topics. Includes abstracts and article reference lists. Find out who is citing whom. Use the "WorldCat" link to determine if electronic full-text is available.
Springer Science+Business Media Journals This link opens in a new window Includes 1,600 full-text journals on Agricultural, Biological and Environmental Sciences, Business and Economics, Computer Sciences, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical and Materials Engineering, Social Sciences, Medicine, and the Natural Sciences (Physics/Chemistry/Math). Note: to limit to LTU holdings, uncheck the box that says "include Preview-only content."

Free Resources

arXiv This link opens in a new window arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 1,701,603 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.

BiosciEdNet - digital sources for biological sciences The BEN Collaborative mission is not only to provide seamless access to e-resources but to also serve as a catalyst for strengthening teaching and learning in the biological sciences.
Genotype-Tissue Expression Project GTEx Resource for scientists to study human gene expression and genetic variation. Provides tissue bank for future research, in particular, genetically inherited diseases.
Inspirehep.net INSPIRE is a trusted community hub that helps researchers to share and find accurate scholarly information in high energy physics.

PLOS (Public Library of Science) This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed journal in science and medicine, full-text. Includes Microbiology, Ecology, Microbiology, Neuroscience among many other disciplines.

PrePrint Biosciences Server- Cold Spring Harbor bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.

PubMed This link opens in a new window Millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Differs from PubMedCentral in that not all articles are full-text.
PubMedCentral This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed open-access full-text journals

Single Nucleotide Polymorphism (SNP- "SNIP") SNP Wiki resources includes video tutorials on various topics in genetics.

New at the Library

Tools of science: Handbook for the apprentice of biomedical research by Russo, Joe
Call Number: R850 .R87 2011
ISBN: 9789814293167
Publication Date: 2011
Medical devices by World Health Organization
Call Number: R856 .M43 2010eb
ISBN: 9789241564045
Publication Date: 2010
Ebrary full text electronic book. Techcat has over 80,000 electronic books available 24/7.

Biosciences: Find Articles

Stay Current! Follow cutting edge scientific research

United States Medical Resources

Search for Biomedical Inventions/Patents

Find Journal Articles

Free Resources

New at the Library