LibGuides: Engineering: ECE

Find Books

TechCat+

E-Books

The e-books in these collections are also included in TechCat, the library catalog.

ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window All are included in TechCat. 51,000+ electronic books through the EbscoHost platform.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Every eBooks from EBSCO's Academic, Business, High School, K-8 and Public Library collections that is licensed to LTU. 24,000 books online, all included in TechCat.

Find Articles

Top choices for research on topics in electrical and electronic engineering.

IEEE Digital Library This link opens in a new window Journals, Proceedings, & Standards http://ieeexplore.ieee.org/Xplore/home.jsp http://www.ieee.org/ieeexplore
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Science, Technology, Health, Psychology, Management: full-text from 1995 to present - the GREEN box means full-text is available.
Engineering Village (Compendex) This link opens in a new window Engineering Index, abstracts 1970 to present. This is comprehensive listing of engineering information: over 18.8 million records from 76 countries across 190 engineering disciplines. It is indexed specifically for engineers using the Engineering Index Thesaurus, making search results consistently accurate and relevant to engineering research. (No full-text: make sure to follow the link at the bottom of the abstract to look at all the LTU journal titles to try to find full-text.)
Scopus This link opens in a new window An excellent citation database indexing over 15,000 scholarly journals on all topics. Includes abstracts and article reference lists. Find out who is citing whom. Use the "WorldCat" link to determine if electronic full-text is available.

More Suggested Databases

These are excellent starting points for in-depth research but they are not full-text. Follow the links (LinkSource or Find Full-Text) to see if an electronic version of the article is available.

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window Source for engineering handbooks, instructional videos, downloadable calculators, curriculum maps, search tools, interactive tables & graphs, study guides and global engineering news.

Applied Science & Technology Source

Emerald Engineering This link opens in a new window 19 peer-reviewed journals covering engineering research
Material ConneXion This link opens in a new window A comprehensive database of more than 9,000 materials to provide the cutting edge tools needed today to create smarter, more sustainable material solutions.
SciTech Connect (Full-Text) This link opens in a new window SciTech Connect consolidates the contents of OSTI's Information Bridge and Energy Citations Database, and will gradually replace these products. SciTech Connect employs an innovative semantic search tool enabling users to retrieve more relevant information. Other features include faceting, in-document search, word clouds, and personalization.

Writing Your Paper

IEEE Style Manual This style manual provides editorial guidelines for IEEE Transactions, Journals, and Letters. For spelling reference, IEEE Publications uses Webster’s College Dictionary, 4th Edition. For guidance on grammar and usage not included in this manual, please consult The Chicago Manual of Style, published by the University of Chicago Press.
How to Cite References - IEEE IEEE citation style is used primarily for electronics, engineering, telecommunications, computer science, and information technology reports. This system allows the reader to identify the information source at a glance.

The Chicago Manual of Style For guidance on grammar & usage not included in the IEEE Style Manual.