LibGuides: COM 1103 College Composition: Home

Stay Current! Follow cutting edge scientific research

Nature This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed, international weekly journal of science
Science / AAAS This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed; "Leading journal of original scientific research, global news and commentary." Coverage includes chemistry, biology, engineering, physics, neuroscience, medicine, and planetary science and astronomy.
Science Robotics, AAAS This link opens in a new window Latest technological advances and for the critical social, ethical and policy issues surrounding robotics. multidisciplinary, covering the traditional disciplines of robotics, as well as emerging trends such as advanced materials and bio-inspired designs; it covers all scales, from very large systems to micro/nano robots; its scope is broad, addressing both theoretical advances and practical applications
IEEE Digital Library This link opens in a new window Journals, Proceedings, & Standards http://ieeexplore.ieee.org/Xplore/home.jsp http://www.ieee.org/ieeexplore

Evaluate Your Sources

Evaluate the following sites using the CRAAP criteria.

DHMO
Pacific Northwest Tree Octopus Save an endangered species.
Real News/Fake News Guide Research Guide with tips for evaluating news.

Criteria for Website Evaluation CRAAP

C - Currency - is the information current or updated? When was it published? Test any links included.
R - Relevance - is the information important for your topic? Who is the audience? Compare it to other information you have found.
A - Authority - who is the author or sponsor? What are their credentials? Are they experts? Is there contact information?
A - Accuracy - What is the source of the information? Is it evidence based? Is there a review process for publication? Is there bias?
P - Purpose - informational, persuasive, educational, sales? Is it fact, opinion, propaganda? Look for bias - political, religious, ideological?

Question the authenticity of any site with multiple spelling or grammar errors.

LTU Database Starting Points

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window With premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals, this database is an essential tool for business students. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Science, Technology, Health, Psychology, Management: full-text from 1995 to present - the GREEN box means full-text is available.
Statista This link opens in a new window A statistical, multidisciplinary, and holistic database that aggregates information on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. Provides qualitative and quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a variety of other areas of interest. The database contains over 15,000 studies, industry reports, 2,500 dossiers and infographics.

Class Resources

Subject Guide

Adrienne Aluzzo

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

The Library is in the basement of the Buell Building. 21000 W. Ten Mile Rd., Southfield, MI 48075.

Subjects: Computer Science and Math, Course Guides, Health Sciences, Humanities and Literature, Natural Sciences, Subject Guides