LibGuides: COM 2113 Speech: Home

Fact or Fiction - Evaluate Your Sources

LTU Real News/Fake News Guide Tools for fact checking and evaluating news and websites. Don't be caught in the misinformation trap!
First Draft News: Fake News. It's Complicated Claire Wardle breaks down & explains 7 types of mis & dis information. The matrix graphic is a helpful visual.

Sharpen Your Literacy Skills

Games That Teach
The News Literacy Project The News Literacy Project is a national education nonprofit offering nonpartisan, independent programs that teach students how to know what to believe in the digital age.
News Literacy Project - Misinformation Introduces fake news, types of misinformation, and why people spread it. Includes an activity to test your literacy!
First Draft News Tips Improve your level of expertise to be able to recognize the various forms of misinformation.

LTU Databases

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Science, Technology, Health, Psychology, Management: full-text from 1995 to present - the GREEN box means full-text is available.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window With premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals, this database is an essential tool for business students. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window MasterFILE Complete offers the largest collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags.
Statista This link opens in a new window A statistical, multidisciplinary, and holistic database that aggregates information on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. Provides qualitative and quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a variety of other areas of interest. The database contains over 15,000 studies, industry reports, 2,500 dossiers and infographics.

Check the Facts!

Ad Fontes Media Bias Pyramid Chart
AllSides Medi Bias Chart
First Draft News First Draft – a project of the Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy at Harvard University’s John F. Kennedy School of Government – uses research-based methods to fight mis- and disinformation online. Additionally, it provides practical and ethical guidance in how to find, verify and publish content sourced from the social web.
Pew Research Center - Media Audiences
Pew Reserch Center Trust of News Sources
Snopes: The Origins of Policing in the United States
Wayback Machine This is a digital archive of World Wide Web site/pages founded and owned by the Internet Archive. It is a good place to verify sites that have changed over time or to see if a piece of information/visual material has been previously published.

Books

Search the catalogue with terms persuasive speech or "persuasive speech".

Persuasive Presentations by Robert W. Bly (Adapted by); New Word City Editors (Editor) Robert Bly, presenter extraordinaire, reveals the secrets for winning a room and closing a deal in any forum - seminars, podcasts, webinars, interviews, and meetings. Revealing surefire techniques for organizing and delivering a superior presentation, Bly teaches how to erase fear and nerves and turn a stiff speech into a comfortable conversation with colleagues or clients, leaving them nodding in agreement and ready to take action.Learn:¿ The No.1 secret of successful persuasive speaking¿ The most common audience "hot buttons"¿ How to work engaging content into a presentation¿ The "3 T's" speaking formula¿ The truth about presentation tools - what works and what doesn't¿ The 3 points to hit in the first five minutes of any presentation¿ Involvement and interactivity techniques to revive and captivate any audience¿ The 7 worst speaker habits and how to eliminate them¿ How to tailor content, pace, and delivery to ensure stellar evaluations and ideal results
ISBN: 9781640190894
Publication Date: 2017-08-01
Persuasion in Public Discourse by Jana Pelclová (Editor); Wei-lun Lu (Editor) This book approaches persuasion in public discourse as a rhetorical phenomenon that enables the persuader to appeal to the addressee's intellectual and emotional capacities in a competing public environment. The aim is to investigate persuasive strategies from the overlapping perspectives of cognitive and functional linguistics. Both qualitative and quantitative analyses of authentic data (including English, Czech, Spanish, Slovene, Russian, and Hungarian) are grounded in the frameworks of functional grammar, facework and rapport management, classical rhetoric studies and multimodal discourse analysis and are linked to the constructs of (re)framing, conceptual metaphor and blending, mental space and viewpoint. In addition to traditional genres such as political speeches, news reporting, and advertising, the book also studies texts that examine book reviews, medieval medical recipes, public complaints or anonymous viral videos. Apart from discourse analysts, pragmaticians and cognitive linguists, this book will appeal to cognitive musicologists, semioticians, historical linguists and scholars of related disciplines.
ISBN: 9789027263599
Publication Date: 2018-08-08

Articles

Young people and their engagement.../Goodyear (2019)
The Persuasive...Political Humor/Innocenti
Lying, Speech and Impersonal Harm/Hatzis
The Science of Fake News/Lazer (2018) Peer-reviewed article in AAAS Science

You may need an account to read the following NYT articles. Go to
Signup for WSJ/NYT/Chronicle of Higher Ed

New York Times - Football: "Plagiarism Scandal..." / Belson Mar. 21, 2022 Football, concussions - "Renowned Concussions Doctor Under Scrutiny". Was it carelessness? This illustrates the importance of crediting others, potential bias in interpretation of research studies, and the need to question.
New York Times - Virologist & COVID Research: "He Goes Where the Fire Is" ... /Zimmer COVID researcher - "A Virus Hunter in the Wuhan Market": a great example of the importance of investigation, data analysis, balance and censorship.