United States Medical Resources
NCBI Resources from the U.S. National Library of Medicine
Subject lists
To search for journal articles, conference proceedings, etc., select the most appropriate subject area below.
Browse By Subject
|
Browse By Librarian
- Alphabetical List of Databases
- Architecture and Design
- Art and Art History
- Biosciences and Health
- Career Resources
- Chemistry/Physics/Math
- Citing Your Sources
- Computer Science and Information Technology
- Doctoral Programs
- Education
- Engineering
- ESL (English as a Second Language)
- Faculty Services
- General
- Humanities and Literature
- Management
- Patents
- Psychology
- RefWorks and Citing Your Sources
- Using Assessment in the Classroom
- Using LTU Library
- Using LTU's TechCat+
- Using Other Libraries
Search for Biomedical Inventions/Patents
Google Patents Search-Search Beta collection for the full-text. Google scanned patent documents from the United States Patent and Trademark Office.
Find Journal Articles
- ScienceDirect
Science, Technology, Health, Psychology, Management: full-text from 1995 to present - the GREEN box means full-text is available.
RefWorks tip: use LinkSource to import citations into RefWorks - Springer Science+Business Media Journals Includes 1,600 full-text journals on Agricultural, Biological and Environmental Sciences, Business and Economics, Computer Sciences, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical and Materials Engineering, Social Sciences, Medicine, and the Natural Sciences (Physics/Chemistry/Math).
- PubMed21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
- PubMedCentralPeer-reviewed open-access full-text journals
- SciFinderCURRENTLY ONLY AVAILABLE ON-CAMPUS. We are working on the off-campus connectivity issue and apologize for the inconvenience. Online version of Chemical Abstracts. You must register for an account the first time, see next link.
- SciFinder - Use this to Register to use itBefore you can search SciFinder, you need to set up a personal account the first time.
- MedLinesee also PubMed
- SCOPUSAn excellent citation database indexing over 15,000 scholarly journals on all topics. Includes abstracts and article reference lists. Find out who is citing whom. Use LinkSource to determine if electronic full-text is available.
- Engineering Village (Compendex) Engineering Index, abstracts 1970 to present. This is comprehensive listing of engineering information. Take advantage of the links in each record to search for the full-text, or ask a librarian for assistance.
- Health Reference Center Academic
Articles on topic and issues (1980-present) - Applied Science and Technology Abstracts+ covers all science and technology topics. Use LinkSource to determine full-text availability.
- Biological and Agricultural Index Plus Ecology, biology, forestry, and agriculture (1984-present)
- PLOS (Public Library of Science)Peer-reviewed journal in science and medicine, full-text.
- Scirus (Scientific Research Tool)Journals, courseware, scientists' websites, patents, and more
- Open J-Gate3,000 full-text journals (1,500 peer-reviewed) on all topics
- General Science Abstracts Covers all types of scientific periodicals. Use LinkSource to determine full-text availability.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library

Additional Resources
- NextBio PublicNextBio Public is an online library of genomic data curated from sources such as GEO and dbGaP which allows users to mine billions of precomputed data correlations and thousands of public genomic studies. Users can register for a free account with NextBio (with the use of an email address from a valid government, academic, or non-profit institution) in order to access the following features:
- iHOP (Information Hyperlinked Over Proteins)The database, "created by Robert Hoffman, is a free resource which uses the genes and proteins listed in PubMed as hyperlinks between sentences and abstracts." (Intellogist blog)
- BiosciEdNet - digital sources for biological sciencesThe BEN Collaborative mission is not only to provide seamless access to e-resources but to also serve as a catalyst for strengthening teaching and learning in the biological sciences.
- Health and Wellness Center
Practical health information, includes Alternative Health (1980-present)
Citation Assistance
For more detailed information on citing references, see the Citing Your Sources LibGuide.
- Citation Examples from the Schwartz Library/Long Island UniversityClick APA, MLA, Turabian, etc. to see examples of how different types of resources are cited.
- Citation MachineChoose the style, choose the type of resource you are citing, fill in the required information and the Citation Machine will create your citation. Copy and paste the citation to a word processing document to use in your Works Cited or Reference list.
(free but has ads) - KnightCiteA free citation creator for MLA, APA, Chicago and Turabian and maintained by the Hekman Library at Calvin College. Fill in the boxes to create the citation. Copy & paste it into your document. Includes social media formats.
- RefWorksBibliographic Management Tool. Allows you to store and manage your citations.
- Online Writing Center (OWL) at PurdueThe OWL site is an excellent source of information on the entire writing process. For information specific to APA or MLA, scroll to the Citation section towards the bottom of the page and follow the appropriate links.
New at the Library
Tools of science: Handbook for the apprentice of biomedical research
Call Number: R850 .R87 2011
ISBN: 9789814293167
Publication Date: 2011
Fundamentals of biosciences
Call Number: QH307.2 .V47 2008eb
ISBN: 9788189981075
Publication Date: 2008
Ebrary electronic full-text book. All ebrary books are loaded in the online TechCat catalog.
Medical devices
Call Number: R856 .M43 2010eb
ISBN: 9789241564045
Publication Date: 2010
Ebrary full text electronic book. Techcat has over 80,000 electronic books available 24/7.

Loading...
