| Library status: currently open during regularly scheduled hours. |
| Library status: currently open during regularly scheduled hours. |
Audio Postproduction for Film and Video by
New to this edition: * Learn how many Hollywood techniques--previously impractical on video--can help solve problems on smaller productions * Expanded cookbook recipes section * Technically updated throughout Make your soundtracks as good as your pictures with this compendium of professional audio techniques that can be adapted to desktop post. Specializing in sound after the shoot, this book features many practical examples, cookbook recipes, and tutorials. Audio theory, when necessary, is presented in plain English with plenty of visual analogies. FAQs, full explanations, and from-the-trenches tips address the complete range of processes from wiring and hardware to testing the final mix. The one-hour audio CD features platform-independent diagnostics, demonstrations, and tutorial tracks. Novices will learn how to improve their soundtrack--even after the actors have gone home. Experienced producers will learn how to solve technical and creative problems quickly. You'll get recipes and step-by-step instructions on how to: * build an efficient and reliable audio post setup * plan and budget a good soundtrack * get sound into your NLE without losing quality or sync * edit voices and music * record Foley and ADR * find music and use it effectively * find and create your own sound effects * shape sounds with equalization, reverb, noise reduction, and more * produce the final mix * test the final product for various media Please visit the author's website for additional resources: http://www.dplay.com/book/app2e/
Audio Production Worktext: Concepts, Techniques, and Equipment by 
Designing Sound for Animation by
This nuts-and-bolts guide to sound design for animated films explains audio software, free downloads, how sound works, the power of sound when wielded by an animation filmmaker, and provides varieties of examples for how to use sound to enliven your films with professional sound. Sound-savvy animators save precious resources (time and money) by using sound for effects they don't necessarily have time to create. For example, the sound of a crow flying gives viewers a sense of the crow without the crow. Where there's a macabre element or scene in an animated film, this book explains why you should choose a low frequency sound for it-low frequencies are scary, because the ear can't decipher their origin or direction! On the DVD: three 5-minute animations; sample sound clips, jump cuts and video streams; plus motion graphics with which to practice sound-applications explained in this book.
Electronic Dance Music Grooves by
Electronic Dance Music Grooves provides creative insights to help you understand how to build exciting, powerful, and compelling EDM grooves. Whether you're into techno, trance, dubstep, drum 'n' bass, garage, trap, or hip-hop, author Ableton Live Certified Trainer, and noted EDM performer Josh Bess helps you take your skills to the next level with an extremely efficient and intelligent groove-making system. And, as an added bonus providing a valuable basis for you own creations this book describes the history behind the development of multiple electronic music styles. A MIDI map, designed to make it simple to use the included grooves and samples with virtually any modern DAW, accompanies each style. Whether your preferred DAW is Ableton Live, Reason, Pro Tools, Logic, or almost any of the other popular music production and performance software applications, you'll quickly be equipped to incorporate these grooves and samples into your own creative workflow. Samples and sessions, provided to support your creativity and electronic dance music production, are delivered online to provide access to all of the content, whether you're using a desktop, laptop, or mobile device.
Electronic Music and Sound Design - Theory and Practice with Max and Msp - Volume 1 by
(Second Edition updated for MAX 6) Structured for use in university courses, the book is an overview of the theory and practice of Max/MSP, with a glossary of terms and suggested tests that allow students to evaluate their progress. Comprehensive online support, running parallel to the explanations in the book, includes hundreds of sample patches, analyses, interactive sound-building exercises, and reverse engineering exercises. This book will provide a reader with skill and understanding in using Max/MSP for sound design and musical composition.
Exploring Sound Design for Interactive Media by
Seeks to demystify the sound enigma and serves as a foundation for learning about the techniques of sound design production in the interactive arts. This book covers basic acoustics; digital audio theory; and creating, mixing, and implementing sound and music into interactive spaces such as Web sites, games, and virtual worlds.
Power Tools for Synthesizer Programming by
(Power Tools). If you make any type of electronic music dance mixes, hip-hop, jazz fusion, country pop, film soundtracks, or experimental avant-garde Power Tools for Synthesizer Programming is the book for you. All too often, owner's manuals tell you what button to press, but fail to explain what's actually going on in the instrument or what it means musically and technically. This is the only book that gives you the big picture while at the same time providing you with insightful details. Even if you're just grabbing presets to play on the keyboard, you'll get to the music faster thanks to the tips in this book. And when you start editing the presets or designing your own sounds, Power Tools for Synthesizer Programming becomes an essential resource. Chapters on oscillators, filters, envelope generators, LFOs, effects, and digital audio reveal how to get the most out of your instruments. To supplement the text, dozens of new illustrations have been added, and more than 30 streaming online videos, narrated by the author, walk you through the operational details of numerous software instruments. If you've ever wanted to spend quality time with a synthesizer expert, you'll never have a better opportunity!
Producing Great Sound for Film and Video by
Make your film or video project sound as good as it looks with this complete training course by audio guru Jay Rose. You get hundreds of professional, real-world techniques that you can employ from preproduction through the final mix. This is a solution-oriented guide with FAQs, how-tos, tips, and time savers. You'll get a primer on how sound and digital audio work as well as technical setups, guidelines, and real solutions for: * budgeting, scheduling, and preproduction planning * microphones and room acoustics * recording dialog, voice-overs, ADR, and effects * postproduction hardware * levels and digitizing * working with music and sound effects * producing the final mix New to this edition: * information on the latest cameras and field recorders * choices between single- and double-system, and digital workflows * the differences between traditional video soundtracks and dialog-driven storytelling. Please visit the author's website for additional resources: www.dplay.com/book/pgs3e
Sound Design for Moving Image by
Sound Design for Moving Image offers a clear introduction to sound design theory and practice to help you integrate sound ideas into your productions. Contemporary soundtracks are often made up of hundreds of separate tracks, and thousands of individual sounds, including elements of dialogue, music and sound effects. As a result, many budding filmmakers find them a daunting prospect, and are tempted to leave sound to the last stages of post-production. This book, from award-winning Sound Designer Kahra Scott-James, encourages you to incorporate sound into your pre-production planning, to make the most of this powerful narrative tool. Adopting a specific framework in order to help demystify sound design for moving image, the book isn't designed as a sound engineering handbook, but as a guide for moving image content creators wanting to explore sound and collaborate with sound designers. Regardless of medium, the same, or similar concepts can be adopted, adapted, and applied to any project employing sound. Includes detailed and insightful interviews with leading sound designers, including Randy Thom, Director of Sound Design at Skywalker Sound, and Glenn Kiser, Director of the Dolby Institute, as well as practical projects to help you hone your skills using video and sound files available from the companion website - https-//bloomsbury.com/cw/sound-design-for-moving-image - making this is a complete sound course to take you from novice skills to confident practitioner.
The Sound Effects Bible by
The Sound Effects Bible is a complete guide to recording and editing sound effects. The book covers topics such as microphone selection, field recorders, the ABCs of digital audio, understanding Digital Audio Workstations, building your own Foley stage, designing your own editing studio, and more.
Sound FX by
Every session, every gig, every day, recording engineers strive to make the most of their audio signal processing devices. EQ, Compression, Delay, Distortion, Reverb and all those other FX are the well-worn tools of the audio trade. Recording and mixing, live and in the studio, engineers must thoroughly master these devices to stay competitive sonically. Its not enough to just know what each effect is supposed to do. Sound FX explains the basic and advanced signal processing techniques used in professional music production, describing real world techniques used by experienced engineers, and referencing popular music examples released internationally. The reader learns not just how to, but also what if, so they can better achieve what they already hear in the productions they admire and chase what they only hear in their imaginative minds ear. Sound FX will immediately help you make more thorough, more musical use of your sound FX. The accompanying website www.soundfx-companion.comincludes audio exaples of FX featured in the book. Features: A chapter dedicated to each key effect: Distortion Compression & Limiting Expansion & Gating Reverb Equalization Delay Pitch Shift Volume More than 100 line drawings and illustrations. Accompanying website featuring examples of all FX covered in the book. Discography of FX at the end of each relevant chapter. From the Sound FX Intro: The most important music of our time is recorded music. The recording studio is its principle musical instrument. The recording engineers and music producers who create the music we love know how to use signal processing equipment to capture the work of artists, preserving realism or altering things wildly, as appropriate. While the talented, persistent, self-taught engineer can create sound recordings of artistic merit, more productive use of the studio is achieved through study, experience and collaboration. This book defines the technical basis of the most important signal processing effects used in the modern recording studio, highlights the key drivers of sound quality associated with each, shares common production techniques used by recording engineers with significant experience in the field, references many of the touchstone recordings of our time, and equips the reader with the knowledge needed to comfortably use effects devices correctly, and, more importantly, to apply these tools creatively.
You must log into Canvas with your LTU credentials to access these eBooks.
The Audio Programming Book by
An encyclopedic handbook on audio programming for students and professionals, with many cross-platform open source examples and a DVD covering advanced topics. This comprehensive handbook of mathematical and programming techniques for audio signal processing will be an essential reference for all computer musicians, computer scientists, engineers, and anyone interested in audio. Designed to be used by readers with varying levels of programming expertise, it not only provides the foundations for music and audio development but also tackles issues that sometimes remain mysterious even to experienced software designers. Exercises and copious examples (all cross-platform and based on free or open source software) make the book ideal for classroom use. Fifteen chapters and eight appendixes cover such topics as programming basics for C and C++ (with music-oriented examples), audio programming basics and more advanced topics, spectral audio programming; programming Csound opcodes, and algorithmic synthesis and music programming. Appendixes cover topics in compiling, audio and MIDI, computing, and math. An accompanying DVD provides an additional 40 chapters, covering musical and audio programs with micro-controllers, alternate MIDI controllers, video controllers, developing Apple Audio Unit plug-ins from Csound opcodes, and audio programming for the iPhone. The sections and chapters of the book are arranged progressively and topics can be followed from chapter to chapter and from section to section. At the same time, each section can stand alone as a self-contained unit. Readers will find The Audio Programming Book a trustworthy companion on their journey through making music and programming audio on modern computers. sis and music programming. Appendixes cover topics in compiling, audio and MIDI, computing, and math. An accompanying DVD provides an additional 40 chapters, covering musical and audio programs with micro-controllers, alternate MIDI controllers, video controllers, developing Apple Audio Unit plug-ins from Csound opcodes, and audio programming for the iPhone. The sections and chapters of the book are arranged progressively and topics can be followed from chapter to chapter and from section to section. At the same time, each section can stand alone as a self-contained unit. Readers will find The Audio Programming Book a trustworthy companion on their journey through making music and programming audio on modern computers.
The Csound Book by
Created in 1985 by Barry Vercoe, Csound is one of the most widely used software sound synthesis systems. Because it is so powerful, mastering Csound can take a good deal of time and effort. But this long-awaited guide will dramatically straighten the learning curve and enable musicians to take advantage of this rich computer technology available for creating music. Written by the world's leading educators, programmers, sound designers, and composers, this comprehensive guide covers both the basics of Csound and the theoretical and musical concepts necessary to use the program effectively. The thirty-two tutorial chapters cover: additive, subtractive, FM, AM, FOF, granular, wavetable, waveguide, vector, LA, and other hybrid methods; analysis and resynthesis using ADSYN, LP, and the Phase Vocoder; sample processing; mathematical and physical modeling; and digital signal processing, including room simulation and 3D modeling. CDs for this book are no longer produced. To request files, please email digitalproducts-cs@mit.edu. italproducts-cs@mit.edu.
The MIDI Manual by
The MIDI Manual is a complete reference on MIDI, written by a well-respected sound engineer and author. This best-selling guide provides a clear explanation of what MIDI is, how to use electronic instruments and an explanation of sequencers and how to use them. You will learn how to set up an efficient MIDI system and how to get the best out of your music. The MIDI Manual is packed full of useful tips and practical examples on sequencing and mixing techniques. It also covers editors/librarians, working with a score, MIDI in mass media and multimedia and synchronisation. The MIDI spec is set out in detail along with the helpful guidelines on using the implementation chart. Illustrated throughout with helpful photos and screengrabs, this is the most readable and clear book on MIDI available.
New Digital Musical Instruments: Control and Interactions Beyond the Keyboard by 
Refining Sound by
Refining Sound follows the stages of synthesis in chronological progression from the "raw materials" of sound waves through the various stages of the refinement process, ultimately bringing readers to the final "polishing" of their sounds with audio effects. Click here to access companion website.
Standard Handbook of Video and Television Engineering by
The industry standard reference for video engineering, completely updated with more than 50% new material. New chapters on video networking and digital television systems in the USA and Europe. CD-ROM contains over 1000 pages of bonus material, linked by icon to relevant sections of the handbook so readers can expand their research.